We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hike, beautiful place”
Review of Plaza Blanca

Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful white sandstone cliffs give breathtaking views.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great hike, beautiful place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I thought this was one of our fav hikes during our recent visit to New Mexico. I love that there was no real "trail" (at least that we could fina anyway) and we could wonder up and around this beautiful area. We only encountered one other couple during our 2 hour visit. It was so quiet and beautiful. The hike can be strenuous or like, depending on where you choose to walk. would love to go back to take photos during sunrise/set time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NotUrTypicalChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    24
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“See Plaza Blanca”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just beautiful beautiful place, very spiritual feeling. You park at the Mosque and walk down and you can hike around. They filmed parts of Cowboys and Aliens here and the Lone Ranger. Apparently Shirley MacLaine hikes thru here with her dogs, her ranch is close by. Can't say enough about the beauty of this place....but not well marked to find it. Thanks to the folks who own the place where we were staying, we were able to find it easily enough. Not far from Abiquiu Inn.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great Hiking - Great Sights”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Plaza is on the property owned by Dar Es Islam mosque... and is off the beaten path. There are lots of great rock formations in the area... with a plethora of colors, but known of them chalk white. The formations themselves are a reminder of the hoodoos in Bryce.

The admission is free and is separate from the mosque. The hiking is easy and you can see the best formations with less than a mile of hiking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A must stop in Abiquiu”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First, please note you do not need a guide or reservations to visit Plaza Blanca, as other reviews might lead one to believe. Second, you will be very glad you visited!!! This is not the easiest place to find but if you have any trouble just ask at the Abiquiu post office - you're less than 10 minutes away at that point. The dirt road leading up tp Plaza Blanca is passable to two wheel drive cars - at least when it is dry. Near the top of a hill is a small parking area from which a trail descends down a short path to the bottom of the wash. On the afternoon we visited we saw only four other people. As a photographer I usually like to visit awesome scenery like this late in the day for low, rich light. Because of our schedule we were there mid day with bright harsh sun- but Plaza Blanca was fantastic even in the harsh light. There are some cottonwood trees in the bottom of the wash that would be very beautiful when their leaves change. It is only because of the generosity of Dar al Islam that this site which is located on private property is open to the public.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank oksooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

You have to see it to believe it... I understand now why it inspired one of the great artists of our time. This place certainly inspired us..We walked around on the most gorgeous, NM blue sky day and just marvelled at the amazing white formations.. I will never forget this first time to see Plaza Blanca and will go back for more of it's magic next time in NM!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Blanca also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing