We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”
Review of Hotel Ballahou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kourou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ballahou
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kourou
Saint-Laurent-du-Maroni, French Guiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place for the rate. You will receive a warm hospitality along your stay.
The bathroom must be renovated. The lighting should be improved
This is a SAFETY place for your car if you acess inside the private park

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINKO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was fortunate to stay at Hotel Ballahou for two nights during my stay in French Guiana. Seldom have I met such friendly, helpful staff, as others have mentioned. The rooms, while a bit spartan, were comfortable enough and had all the necessities for a very pleasant stay. At check-in, Martina was extremely charming, welcoming and accommodating; I immediately felt at home. At check-out, Rosemary was a true delight as well. Martina's husband even took me, at no extra cost, to the boat dock for my excursion to Les Iles du Salut. Considering the humanity of this place and considering it's the most reasonably priced accommodation in a very expensive place, it really is a no-brainer to book a room here if you need a place in Kourou. Très bien fait, Hotel Ballahou!

(If you speak Spanish, the owners are very happy to speak with you and help you in this language!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badbart_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The renovated rooms with fridge, sink and hotplates are very good value considering the prices in French Guiana generally. The owners and staff were friendly and really helpful. (The owner even dropped me off at the Space Centre for my tour.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia / Guyana
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Chances are you're in Kourou either to visit le CSG (the space centre) or the infamous Iles de Salut. Accommodation seems hard to get in Kourou and the major hotels seem to know this and accordingly charge like a wounded bull.

Not every hotel can boast back windows that overlook a french foreign legion barracks. In keeping with this spartan theme, the front of the hotel looks rough & tough. So rough that my first impression from the weeds and gravel in the car park were that it was closed. However les proprieteurs were very efficient at emailing me and were readily available on the phone and spoke better English than my l'Francais so i knew it was open. Plus a big sign out the front said exclaimed l'Hotel est ouvert! (The hotel is open).

It turned out that the spartan image is the result of the currently ongoing renovations with about 2/3 of the rooms inside completed at the time viewing (Sep 12). Renovations seem to be being carried out in house and appear to be rather stop start. Nonetheless the renovated rooms (with magenta painted doors) are in tip top shape and are fantastic value for money. The unrenovated room are the 'suites' at the end of the building complete with kitchen. Although not renovated yet they're clean and comfortable and the kitchen / dining area was great. With the local supermarche <1 km away down the road the suites allow you to cook for yourself and save a lot on meals.

Room prices are less than €75 per night which is still overpriced for what you get (it is Guyane after all) but the hotel is much better value than staying at either of the grossly overpriced Mercure's or Les Gross Bec in Kourou. Local travelling business travellers and tradespeople seem to know this and the hotel was full every night I stayed there with my family.

In summary, Yes the building could use a cost of paint but the renovations are still in progress and the rooms were great regardless. I'd definitely stay there again next time I'm in Kourou.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shmemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kourou hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#3 of 5 in Kourou
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Kourou Ariatel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantis Kourou
Hotel Atlantis Kourou
#1 of 5 in Kourou
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ballahou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballahou

Property: Hotel Ballahou
Address: 1 & 3 rue Amet Martial, Kourou 97310, French Guiana
Location: French Guiana > Arrondissement of Cayenne > Kourou
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kourou
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing