We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for diving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great place for diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

This place is all about diving. If you have only a few (2-3) days in Fiji and your priority is diving, this is one of those places you might prefer. Normal Fijian prices for diving (about 185 FJD for 2 tanks, gear&boat included) and (honestly) stunning dive sites. Public transport reaches Rakiraki in 4 hours from Nadi and 6 from Suva. When you arrive to Rakiraki you need to hire a taxi for $15 one way, no shuttle provided by Volivoli. Dorms are ok (4 bunks plus the wardrobes), which are basic and clean, food is ok (average-good quality and good price(15-25 FJD/meal)). This is NOT a Fiji experience, it is owned by an Australian/New Zealand well known family and the 3 days I was there, the guests were about 35 americans, one Kiwi and myself. This is not a place to do some walks around, it is all about hanging out in the pool, eating or having some drinks when not diving, because there is really NOTHING else going on and NOWHERE else to get from there unless driving or sailing. Staff were not as friendly as in the other places I visited during my 40 days travel around Fiji, but just doing their work (which is fair enough, but not the friendly Fiji you find in other locations)

Room Tip: If travelling alone, with friends, or as a couple (on a tight budget), dorms are ok to stay here ($3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    116
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
83
158
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 1 week at VoliVoli 2 weeks before christmas after purchasing a very well priced accommodation and dive package. The package included airport transfers, all meals, 5 days diving, and 7 nights accommodation in one of the new hotel Vale units. The resort is small and located approx 2 1/2 hours drive from Nadi airport and about 20 mins drive from the nearest town. Suggest stocking up on snacks and drinks on the way there as there are no shops nearby to get these sort of things. The resort is quite new and gradually being added to each year. The new hotel Vale units consist of a block of 10 units built into the side of the hill. The unit was excellent, being quite large with plenty of space to put luggage and move around, containing 2 comfortable double beds, a large ensuite with twin basins, a nice balcony with table and chairs to enjoy the views over the ocean. The room was also very quiet. There are 3 levels of accommodation ranging from the fully self contained villa units with a full size kitchen and a washing machine, to the hotel Vale units and then the dormitories. The resort is on a hill set in beautiful gardens, with all the acommodation uphill from the reception and dining area. Food and drinks are very well priced compared to many upmarket Fijian hotels. The menu is basic pub bistro style meals and snacks catering for predominantly Australian /NZ tastes. A few more local dishes on the menu would have been appreciated so that you at least felt you were in a different country. The pool is a good size for swimming but there is little shade and can get quite hot. There is however a nice quiet and shady beach area at the watersports centre to get away from the sun. The resort was very quiet, though this may be partly due to us being there in a quiet week before the school holidays kicked in. There is no TV in the rooms and no entertainment. There is a TV in the main casual dining area. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The NZ owners/managers are frequently on site, mixing with guests and always ready for a chat. WiFi is available at FJ$6 per hour through Global Gossip. If you have your own laptop etc then you have to use the time allocation in one hit which is a bit of a pain. If you use the resort's computers then then you can use internet time over various intervals. We dived with Ra Divers who are located on site. Diving was excellent - some of the best we had done in a long while. Dive staff, boat and facilities were pretty good. Some days there was only 2 - 3 of us diving but we went to some great dive sites further out (they would normally only go to the more distant sites with a larger number of divers). This extra bit of service is much appreciated. If you are looking for somewhere out of the way and fairly quiet without all the big resort razzamatazz (especially if you are a diver) then this would be worth a look. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The self catering villas are great especially if you are staying a while and want access to your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Allthough this resort got some nice reviews, it was a bit of a disappointment. To surgical - to much like NZ (the owners are) and with absolutely no caracter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndola, Zambia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend and I have just enjoyed an amazing holiday at Volivoli for 9 days. We both work in very stressful jobs, so to relax amidst the beauty of the resort was sheer bliss. I was the diver but due to having the flu was unable to dive! Sad, but not heartbreaking, as I had such a wonderful relaxing time anyway. Food was great and the accommodation was excellent. What truly made this special though were the staff - so warm, friendly and helpful. Will definately be back - next time to dive!

Room Tip: The new motel like rooms have two queen size beds and offer a great view. This suited us a two singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevcory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Volivoli Resort is simply beautiful! The resort staff was wonderful, everyone was happy, friendly and made our experience better than ever imagined. The vales were clean, all had stunning views, the diving spectacular and Nick and Steve made it the most memorable dive trip ever! Thankyou guys!!!!

Room Tip: 973 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

For our 8th dive trip to Fiji, we chose Volivoli Beach Resort. We traveled in April 2011 and stayed for 12 days.

The diving was great in the Vatu-I-Ra passage. Currents were often strong; for milder currents, consider timing your visit when it isn't a new or full moon. Dive sites closer to the resort had few fish due to over-fishing by the locals and worse viz due to rain runoff. The resort offers unlimited shore diving but the water was murky from runoff so the viz was not good near shore when we were there. The dive staff were very knowledgeable and accommodating. We saw Pola (sp?) teaching new divers nearly every day and he seemed to be a great instructor. All the Ra divers were very friendly and we enjoyed them.

The Vales were very nice - and had fabulous views. They were self contained but unless you have a car, it is difficult to get supplies to cook in your vale - you would need to hire a taxi to take you to Rakiraki. The grounds had beautiful landscaping. The pool was large and rarely used while we were there. All in all, the facilities were great.

The downside of Volivoli is that the meals in the restaurant became very repetitive and tiring. There weren't many traditional Fijian foods - lots of hamburgers and other fried foods dominated the menu. There was also a stir fry and a beef and beet salad that had (what else?) French fries in it. This made sense as the resort started off being a backpackers place and they weren't used to people staying very long. Also the owners had a background of running bars in New Zealand. Still, we felt badly for guests who only came to Volivoli in Fiji as they missed having Fijian Lovo feasts, Meke dances and other cultural experiences of Fiji. And we missed the traditional Fijian food like Kokoda, fresh grilled fresh fish, etc.

Breakfast was a challenge when we were there. The staff arrived via bus at about 7:30 a.m. but we were supposed to be down at the dive shop by 8 to go diving. It was a daily struggle to get served, eat, get your gear, and get to the shop. As a result, the boat often didn't leave until 8:30. Then we had to swing by Wananavu to pick up divers; since they now have their own dive provider, that should no loger be a problem. (I should mention that shore diving at Wananavu looked even worse than at Volivoli.)

When we were there they were setting up a watersports rental program which looked like fun. We didn't see anyone other than the watersports employees using their equipment but that program would expand the appeal of the resort beyond divers.

So - would we go back? Maybe someday. The diving was very good and the accommodations were too. But we probably wouldn't stay more than a few days unless the menu was expanded. We did consider going back next April but the prices they quoted were so much higher than what we paid last April that we could go to Sipidan for less. And the diving isn't in Sipidan's league.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Bula Cindy,

Thank you very much for your feedback, As we are a new Dive Resort we really need the type of feedback you just gave. I would like to let you know that even before you posted this reveiw we have made a few adjustments to Volivoli Beach resort. I have listed them below for you.

Food

, We have doubled the size of our kitchen enabeling us to do much more. We now have the following added;
- Daily soup that changes from fish chowder, fresh chicken, pumkin, Dahl etc
- We have a traditional Indian curry on the menu daily now with, Roti, Dahl, Tamarind chutney,
- we run daily specials including, Ika Vaka Lolo (traditional baked fish with coconut miti), various roasts beef,chicken etc (not traditional),
- we have added a 250gm prime sirloin steak.
- pasta is the next on the list to have on the menu daily.

Breakfast

We now open our restaurant for Bfast at 630am so that people have more time in the morning to eat and get to the boats on time.

Meke and activities

- VVB has its own Meke group from our own Mataqali (Clan) that is fantastic.
- We have started up more land based activities with full and half day tours to inland villages that includes a sevusevu ( Traditional welcome), school visit, waterfall visits
- we are working on getting a river kayaking trip started aswell.

Splash water sports are up and running now so there are Jetski's, towed inflatables, and para ponting.

Planned for 2012
New reception and Boutique,
New Spa
Nitrox coming in May.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope that you do come back and dive with us again soon.

Kind regards

Nick darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent 10 nights at Voli Voli on a family diving holiday. Ra Divers are legends, very professional and caring. My son and I are relatively new divers and they made us feel very safe, always at least two dive masters in the water with us. Dives sites are truly amazing. THANK YOU GUYS!! We would love to return. The staff and owners at Voli Voli are fantastic, nothing is a problem, Jennifer has everything under control. The rooms are spacious with great facilities, i.e. washing machine! Nice swimming pool and dinning room. Food is reasonably priced and generous servings and tasty. One suggestion would be to add a couple of daily specials. The grounds are beautiful and very clean and tidy. Soni takes tours up into the mountains which are highly recommended, unfortunately we didn't do this but hope to next time. This place is special and so are the people running it. Thanks for a memorable trip, we hope to return one day. Amanda Bruce and Callum.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcwhanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Bula Guys,
Thank you so much for your reveiw of VVB and Ra Divers, It was our pleasure to host you. I am very happy that enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forweard to seeing you again soon.

You will be happy to know that we have added to our menu by way of specials offered every second day. We have been putting dishes like Ika Vaka Lolo (Traditional fijian fish dish in cocnut miti..) Roasts, etc. we also have a 250 gram serloin steak on the menu full time now aswell as a chefs choice soup daily also. Pasta is the next addition to the menu coming in the next couple of weeks.

P.S our new 10.5m fishing boat will be delivered in December..

Once again thanks and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
72.8 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
61.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Rakiraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.7 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
62.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
78.5 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji

Property: Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
Address: Volivoli Road, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volivoli Beach Resort is a dedicated SSI and PADI dive Resort on Viti Levu, Fiji. It is owned and operated by the Darling family, 16 year veterans of the area. Dive facilities are world class and on site. All accommodations have ocean views. Nearby Bligh Waters are renowned for an amazing display of fish, pelagic creatures and soft corals. Guests enjoy snorkelling, kayaking, beach volleyball, fishing, village culture and sunset cruises. The Darling philosophy is simple - “We spend time talking to our guests, whether on a dive trip or over a cold beer,” says Nick, “This helps us fine tune the Volivoli experience.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volivoli Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing