We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Reviewed May 16, 2014

First thing that must be said...Warren the owner is a great guy who can't do enough for his guests. I was blown away by all the activities, kite Surfing, Kayaks, Standup boards, Scuba diving and snorkelling even water skiing was available if we wanted it. The rooms, lets face it, are very basic even the more expensive beach front bungalows. Hot water simply didn't exist but then I have been rather spoilt and now look for a little more comfort. This place is made for young people who want an adventure as all the activities include an Instructor which helps you learn and appreciate the environment. If you are going to stay here pay a little extra and get the best rooms available. As I said I like it comfortable but found none of the other guests complaining about the lack of facilities. Diving was very good as Bligh Passage is only a short boat trip away. Equipment was up to standard and staff knew what they were doing.

Room Tip: Go high up the hill for better views but more budget accommodation. Best spot is on the beach in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had last stayed here when we first visited RakiRaki over 8 years ago when we also met Warren ( though he now always prefers guests to call him "Wazza" or "Wazman" because of his night shows (lol) )who has really developed the sites impressive accommodation and activities with more plans underway.

We stayed in the self contained ocean view, 2 bedroom villa which was very comfortable with all your cooking needs, not to mention a, balcony to die for. You could be forgiven for just lounging there on the hammock for two or just the single and inhaling the tropical paradise. There are also beachfront villas and backpacker accommodation if that more suits your budget.

Regarding food we actually ate with the guests and found the food yummy and reasonable value with its buffet style presentation. The cakes a highlight of any meal.

Warren besides running the resort is an accomplished instructor for wind surfer, kite surfing and now setting up for SUP and boot camps This as well as scuba diving, snorkelling, ( the outer reefs are incredible for both) swimming and sports/ game fishing on the way. You can see his growing flotilla of boats back at Ellington wharf. I collect fishing lures while it seems Warren keeps collects more boats.

I was especially impressed with Warrens care for guests "needs" along with all his staff. He was incredibly gracious with a Russian " princess" while we were there. I didn't have to deal with her and was ready to offer her money to leave.

If you are into the action activities and places to chill that fit any budget then go visit safari island lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent a weekend at Safari Lodge in late Feb and it was exactly what we were after! Living in Suva we wanted a cruisy and fun weekend away at a real beach, and that was what we got. A bunch of us were first time divers and Gus and Joey were great instructors in showing us the ropes and then taking us out for a dive right out in what felt like the middle of nowhere where we could snorkel, do a proper dive (which was awesome!), have a little snack and generally take in the amazing views - above and below water.
Food was great and staff very accomodating though you can also bring and cook your own.
Swimming, snorkling and using the kayaks off the beach was also good fun.
Additionally, we had some issues with the bus back to Suva not stopping for us as it was full or something....fortunately our host Gus was incredibly accomodating and found us some space under cover back near the wharf along with some snacks to keep us going as we waited for the next bus several hours later and made then waited with us to ensure that it actually stopped this time and we got on safe and sound before heading back to the island to get some well-earned rest - above and beyond the call of duty there!
Would recommend Safari Lodge and very likely to go back at some stage over the coming months!

Room Tip: The dorm we stayed in was up a big hill - which was fine just be prepared and only make one trip eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenH20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent a week here with some friends to do some kitesurfing. As far as the kiting goes I think this is a good place if your a beginner. If the wind is in there are plenty of chances to do some long downwinders. My group were experienced kiters and I dont think the conditions are that great. The flat water spot is minimal and the downwinders are in open ocean chop. There are no waves here which we new already but was hoping for better flat water conditions. As far as the resort goes, it was ok though we didn't have water in our bungalow for about 4 days so we had to use another hut to shower/teeth/toilet in. It was just a matter of the pump not working to pump water up to the top tank, but the delays were put down to 'Fiji Time"......quite annoying. No sympathy or apologies from management.

The food fills you up but I think is overpriced. $20 for internet is a rip off. Should be free like the rest of the universe or at least hide it in your day rate? I had a good time there purely from the group of guests but I wouldn't go back as there are much better places in Fiji to kite. As I mentioned at the start, if your starting out kiting its probably a good spot to progress.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Safari lodge was a great experience. The folks there were helpful, the diving was stunning and the food was delicious. Not to mention the stunning location on Nananu-i-Ra island

We went as a large group with rebreathers and normal open circuit scuba and all our needs were seen to. We were given a special area for us to work with our equipment that was shipped there with prior arrangement.

The diving instructors were very friendly and knowledgeable about the dive sites and the owner Warren was also very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend going here if you are a keen diver, wind-surfer or kite-surfer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuntherAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a week at the lodge enjoying diving instruction with April and Craig, who are fun to be around and excellent teachers! Windsurfers pretty much have to stay on Rakiraki or they will be missing out. Included was paddleboard rental, which made for a serene afternoon. We purchased an add-on waterskiing trip.
The food was indian frequently and super authentic and delicious. The meal plan is way easier than doing the bring your own food thing, because there isn't a big selection of foods to buy there (basically all nonperishables from what I remember).

Watch out for mosquito city (why can't the frogs eat them faster?). Also, disabled/elderly visitors must ask for a bure on the first level as ours had a good view but was up a crazy-steep hill.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We loved Safari Lodge so much that we are returning with our friends and family after our wedding for a private getaway. We live in Fiji and also work on a resort so we are always looking for relaxing and beautiful places to escape. Eventhough we didn't have time, or energy to kitesurf we really enjoyed the trails with the stunning views, along with the stunning beaches. Our beachfront bure was spacious and very clean with a beautiful balcony where I enjoyed doing yoga in the morning or simply chilling out with a good book.
I really look forward to doing some of their water activites next time I go. They have so many options to keep you busy all day. It is off the beaten path but so worth it. Warren and Steph will make you feel right at home and the food was delicious.
Can't wait to go back!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Coralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.1 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
6.2 mi away
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
#4 of 4 in Rakiraki
2 reviews
59.5 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
616 reviews
12 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 4 in Rakiraki
2 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dreamview Villas
Dreamview Villas
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Island Lodge

Address: Nananu-i-Ra Island, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range: $30 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's Kitesurf, Windsurf, Dive & Fishing Ultimate ResortWelcome to island paradise!Safari Lodge lies on a pristine beach on the remote Nananu-i-ra island in the South Pacific Ocean. These tropical waters provide perfect conditions for our watersports focused resort. We are a quiet friendly boutique resort with a maximum of 40 guests and a variey of accommodation options.Facing the consistent trade winds, Nananu-I-Ra Island is a wind-sports paradise! April to January provide steady 15-30 Knot winds, perfect for Windsurfing and Kitesurfing! All year round we also offer PADI Scuba Diving - Come and Dive the amazing Bligh Waters and Vatu-I-Ra Passage - breathtaking National Geographic quality dive sites! Sailing, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Fishing adventures and Stand Up Paddling (SUP) are also available every day!Our accommodation varies and includes Beachfront Bures, Ocean View Villas, Private Rooms and bunk style dorm rooms for groups only meters from the beach. We offer solar hot water showers, 24hr power & Wi-Fi 3G speed Internet access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Safari Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Island Hotel Rakiraki
Safari Island Lodge Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing