We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give the place a big miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Reviewed April 17, 2008

I would never go there again. We didn't like the way we were missled in the description of the place. We had to pay before we got to Nananu-i-ra and were shown a beautiful bungalow, only to get a mossie ridden tiny hot room for a huge price. Needless to say we never stayed there and Warren the owner lied to us saying he would refund our money, which never happened. It is not the first time this has happened!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
7  Thank philnsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Safari Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

I have just come back from Safari Island Lodge on Nananu-I-Ra Island after staying for 4 days there. After reading the adverse comments about Safari Island Lodge, I still decided to go there because I have already been to 5 backpackers on Nananu-I-Ra Island and Safari Island Lodge was the only other one that looked reasonable and affordable and offered everything.

I would highly recommend Safari Island Lodge to anyone looking for budget accommodation and wanting to do their own stuff on an island paradise without interference from staff and other guests. And then, there are heaps of activities available [many free] with around 5 or 6 Resorts within 5 minutes walking distance to Safari Island Lodge. So you can stay at a budget backpackers and visit the upmarket neighbouring resorts when ever you feel like.

Upon reaching Ellington Wharf from Suva, we were warmly greeted by Lina at Reception and a glass of cold refreshing juice for me, my wife and my 5 year old daughter. Lina also offered us further discounts for each night upon checking in and showed great hospitality and courtesy. Laurence the Manager, who was there as well, immediately called the island and made arrangements for a single bed to be placed in our room for our daughter at no extra costs. Professional and efficient service was the first impression that we had of Safari Island Lodge.

Tota, the boatman arrived within 5 minutes of our arrival and insisted that he carry all our heavy bags to the boat. We had many bags of food stuff to be carried as we were going to do our own cooking for our 4 days stay. Upon reaching the Lodge, Siteri showed us our Ocean view Villa, and I just couldn’t believe that such a newly built villa with modern kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms have been offered to us at such a discounted rate. The kitchen had the entire cutlery that we needed and there was hot and cold water available and a beautiful lounge over looking the ocean.

Surrounded by so many pawpaw trees and coconut trees, we had one pawpaw each for breakfast during our stay there and drank coconuts when ever we wished. I did my fishing according to the tide and my wife and daughter swam or snorkelled or just lay on the hammock that are right on the beach. We went for walks to other resorts and took the kayaks out to the reef.

Hospitality of the Safari Staff: Siteri went to the extent of baking a Birthday Cake for one of the guests staying there and we celebrated his Birthday on Sunday night. Laurence even bought some lamb chops and chicken for me from the main land and sent it over by boat to our Lodge when we ran out of things to cook for our meals. All the staff there were so friendly that our daughter spent more time playing and being entertained by the Safari Staff than by us.

So please go there and find it out for yourselves …

Sam Goundar <sam.goundar@ag.gov.fj>

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank SamGoundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Just arrived from a two week vacation on Nananu I Ra, what a beautiful place, shame about our host Warren ripping us and another couple off, speaking of which, some part time locals told us he's currently running a bar without a license and he dodges tax by being paid overseas, perhaps someone could alert local authorities to this? I've read horror stories on the net about this place and notice how quick he is, signing up temporary accounts (Davmen and Kitejunkie in this thread alone) to defend his bad reputation. Stay away people.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Cystalkleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

not going to bore you with detail, this place is a sham pure and simple. a glorified youth hostel, its an absolute disgrace and management have the cheek to tell you "paradise awaits".
worst experience of all my travels.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank delb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We booked Safari Lodge by phone from Suva. When we arrived at the warf Warren made us pay for the accomodation in advance. We booked a private double. On the island we discovered, that the place is a big building site. Only one bungalow at the beach has a private bathroom. First they put us in a room in the main house. Erverybody could walk trough the room. There wasn't even a key. After complaining they put us in a room on top of the hill. Unfortunately they didn't have curtains, so everybody had a look inside when crossing the veranda. The food was good, but more expensive than at MacDonalds Place in the village. Unfortunately you couldn't enjoy your food, because of all the mosquitos, especially in the garden. After 3 fays we moved to MacDonalds, where we got a private bungalow right at the beach for less. I wouldn't stay at Safari Lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank msdstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Firstly let me say the hosts were fantasic and obliging and the staff equally as nice.
Accomodation was comfortable, clean and safe (I stayed in the Dorm). Warm showers and a nice lounge - like being at home on a lazy Sunday. Ther is some construction work going on as the owner is constantly improving his property - but the intrusion was minimal if noticable at all - had the workers open a few wild coconuts for me and had some nice fresh milk!!
Food was better than restaurant quality, very tasty and plenty of it , have to go on a diet now..LOL.
Facilities - geared towards Windsurfing/Kiteboarding, were great with plenty of othe non-wind activities Reef snorkling, swiming, wake boarding walks or shopping on mainland.
Also a geat Chill zone - really got to unwind from work, swing in a hammock, read a book and listen to music all in the shade with warm breezes.
Not a party island (thank god) but still plenty of laughs, fun and good company to be had through the evening.
There is a Kiosk type shop and drinks etc. are very reasonable considering it is an island!
I would recommend this facility to all from backpackers to families, but not party animals (go spoil some other peice of paradise).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DavMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

The place is a dump, I caught a staff member going through our things, there was a dead rat in the shower when I arrived and after paying for my accomodation in advance the arrogant owner Warren Francis refused to refund my money he didn't even show any empathy for the bad experiences caused to us by his bad management and attitude. I would not recommend staying here unless you want your whole holiday ruined. Not happy at all.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
7  Thank Mitchell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.1 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
6.2 mi away
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
66.6 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.8 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
502 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Island Lodge

Address: Nananu-i-Ra Island, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range: $30 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's Kitesurf, Windsurf, Dive & Fishing Ultimate ResortWelcome to island paradise!Safari Lodge lies on a pristine beach on the remote Nananu-i-ra island in the South Pacific Ocean. These tropical waters provide perfect conditions for our watersports focused resort. We are a quiet friendly boutique resort with a maximum of 40 guests and a variey of accommodation options.Facing the consistent trade winds, Nananu-I-Ra Island is a wind-sports paradise! April to January provide steady 15-30 Knot winds, perfect for Windsurfing and Kitesurfing! All year round we also offer PADI Scuba Diving - Come and Dive the amazing Bligh Waters and Vatu-I-Ra Passage - breathtaking National Geographic quality dive sites! Sailing, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Fishing adventures and Stand Up Paddling (SUP) are also available every day!Our accommodation varies and includes Beachfront Bures, Ocean View Villas, Private Rooms and bunk style dorm rooms for groups only meters from the beach. We offer solar hot water showers, 24hr power & Wi-Fi 3G speed Internet access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Safari Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Island Hotel Rakiraki
Safari Island Lodge Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing