We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good, but check details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but check details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Generally a good facility in a great location for water sports enthusiasts with good top end accommodation but atrocious at the lower end! Warren and Steph were good helpful hosts.
We were attracted initially by a 'Scoopon' deal of 4 days at $A239 for up to 4 people in a Beach Front 'Bure' with ensuite. However for some our group of 19 active seniors it was a terrible disappointment when we discovered the details of the new 'deal'. We were advised that the Scoopon deal had timed out and WE DID overlook noting the changed cost basis - 'per person' [twice the cost]
Our four single women were in 2 bunk beds in an access corridor to the toilets with virtually no ventilation whilst the single male had a bed in the upper landing of the stairs above the main kitchen - no privacy at all!
The worst accommodation was a 'couple room' with only a double bed and about 800 mm space on two sides - no place to hang clothes or place luggage - their ensuite was downstairs which was used by the staff and guests from the central dining room - for $A478 [$A119 /day].
The 'meal deal' at $A55 per person / day was high but the food was good. Coffee, tea, water etc were available at most times.
The good range of water sport equipment was free to us - boats trips to the excellent outer reefs etc were $F45 [~$A30].
It's a 2 1/2 hr drive and short boat ride to the Island.
The accommodation issues aside, we did enjoy our time at Safari.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Bures and next level of accommodation with shared facilities were good - others good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    31
    9
    10
    23
See reviews for
17
41
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raglan, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thank you Warren and Steph for a great holiday. We were a family of four, children 2 and 4 years old, and we had a fantastic time at Safari Lodge. The kite instruction was great, it was wonderful to get up on the board on day three. Great facilities for beginner kite surfers. Our children had a wonderful time, thanks to Warren and Steph who made us feel part of their extended family, and thanks also to the Fijian staff who helped look after the children, at no extra cost to us. The beachfront bures were great, and the meals wonderful. We thoroughly recommend this place as a family holiday destination, and also for beginner kite surfers who want to spend some concentrated time getting better at kiting. From conversations with other guests, the scuba diving was fantastic, and certainly the instructors and dive master impressed us with their friendliness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed for 10 days
The place is very beautiful and the reason that I didn't move to another place was that I loved it.
A fantastic place to relax and to do outdoor activities.
I decided to do the rescue course (4days).
Thanks to the help and dedication of Michelle I was able to do the things she accepted to do and more.......
After finishing the course I did some fun diving at some amazing dive sites.
Thanks to Michelle, Clint and Jesper I felt very safe.
These people love what the do!!!!!
The food was excellent and so was the dedication of Warren and Staff/Steph to give you an unforgatable time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rstroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location with a relaxed atmosphere.
The diving was very well run with some fantastic locations and people to hang out with.
Cold beer and great food, what more can you ask for.
Thanks Warren, Steph and the Team !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We would like to thank Warren, Steph and Everyone at Safari Lodge for turning on the wind and making The 2012 ZU FIJI so amazing!! 25knots+ everyday, 30 degrees, beautiful reefs to explore, epic down winders and cold beers at the end of the day … living the dream. “DON’T HOLD BACK” We saw Megan, a complete beginner transform into an independent, stylish and determined Kiter. Donald reach new heights (captured on film, check out his boat jumps) and CP tick off all the goals on his list (he even did the yoga). Also a big thank you to Clint, Michelle and Jasper for teaching us to Scuba Dive and taking us to some breathe taking spots underwater! Look forward to seeing you all next year and hope this excites everyone else to get on board and join us!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLynch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel California is omnipresent when travelling.
The hallmark of a place that has the formula right is that "you can check out any time you like but you can never leave."
We have all had those travel experiences when we went for a day or two and then the weeks went by....Where you drop into the zone of not rushing, not thinking of the past or future but just being.
This is such a place.
A few things contribute to this:
1. The diversity of activities on offer (including the hammock challenge..)
2. The communal dining experiences where you make new friends, reflect on the day..maybe the amazing kiting in turquoise water or the eeriness of the night dive..or the first time you got up wakeboarding
3. The spectacular scenery, untainted by the sound of traffic
4. The friendly warmth of the staff who make you feel part of the place. The talented instructors who facilitate your progression and are happy to share a meal and a beer with you afterwards.
5. Kiting all day every day in such a spectacular place: Finally "getting it" and shaking off the frustrations of the beginner!

This is not a 5 star resort where everything runs like clockwork.
This is a place for taking time out to dream. To remember who you are. To challenge how you are living your life. To search your soul and replot your path.
So if you are an uptight person and want to remain so..this place is not for you.
If you seek to reconnect with your humanity and immerse yourself in a watery paradise...I cannot recommend it enough.
Like most things you get what you put in.
Unlike hotel california, if you call for the captain to "please give me my wine" he is likely to oblige.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SirenaFestiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

2 weeks ago I spent 6 days at safari lodge. I was happy to escape from work and a wet and cold Sydney Winter and find somewhere where there was a common bond with the other Guests ' The wind.' and a passion at improving/ learning a sport.
Warren was a friendly and accomodating host the dorm accomodation was fine and the food was healthy and tasted great and the other guests despite being mainly kiteboarders were friendly and their was a good atmosphere and generally their was a buzz around the site. !! Reading some of the other Posts t think the Safari lodge is not for everyone. I went by myself and i certainly wouldnt hesitate doing that again so for me Safari lodge ticked most of the Box's.
I rented the equipment and found that there was a good range and saved me the hassell of the extra luggage.The trainers Peter and Warren know their stuff are excellent teachers...
......on a down side The bus ride is long and it did take a few days to work out the reef and get settled but will definately return. thanks again safari lodge 9/10 -I might also try kiting next time

Room Tip: The front Bures or a dorm up the hill is slightly quieter at night if you like to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2510RichardL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.7 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
6.2 mi away
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
#4 of 4 in Rakiraki
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
75.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
79.6 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
2.5 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Rakiraki
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Island Lodge

Property: Safari Island Lodge
Address: Nananu-i-Ra Island, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's Kitesurf, Windsurf, Dive & Fishing Ultimate ResortWelcome to island paradise!Safari Lodge lies on a pristine beach on the remote Nananu-i-ra island in the South Pacific Ocean. These tropical waters provide perfect conditions for our watersports focused resort. We are a quiet friendly boutique resort with a maximum of 40 guests and a variey of accommodation options.Facing the consistent trade winds, Nananu-I-Ra Island is a wind-sports paradise! April to January provide steady 15-30 Knot winds, perfect for Windsurfing and Kitesurfing! All year round we also offer PADI Scuba Diving - Come and Dive the amazing Bligh Waters and Vatu-I-Ra Passage - breathtaking National Geographic quality dive sites! Sailing, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Fishing adventures and Stand Up Paddling (SUP) are also available every day!Our accommodation varies and includes Beachfront Bures, Ocean View Villas, Private Rooms and bunk style dorm rooms for groups only meters from the beach. We offer solar hot water showers, 24hr power & Wi-Fi 3G speed Internet access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Safari Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Island Hotel Rakiraki
Safari Island Lodge Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing