We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wananavu Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel(Rakiraki)(Great Value!)
$51
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vatia Beach Eco Resort(Tavua)(Great Value!)
$26
$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beehive(Rakiraki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
418
156
40
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
156
40
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront buredive operationmeal plandive siteshour drive from the airportvillage tourocean viewdaily specialsviti levulovo nightprivate plunge poolmeal packageraki rakisnorkeling triplocal villageour honeymoonbligh waters
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 640 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Wanannavu last week, in one of the Beachfront Bures. We were on our honeymoon and the reviews on Trip Advisor had convinced us that Wananavu was the place for us. Not enough can be said about Fiji and it's luch tropical environment. From the moment you leave the airport and head to Wananavu, you know you are in a special place on Earth. The 2.5 hour car ride allows you to see the simple and stress-free way of life in Fiji. People in front of their homes, at bus stops, in the fields, stop what they are doing to wave and smile. Once we got to the resort we were greeted by very friendly and professional staff. Our room was nicely made with fresh flower arrangements. The views of the water and nearby islands are breathtaking. We are not divers but wished we were because majority of the people at the resort were there for that purpose. That's why from morning to 1 pm, we felt like we had the beach to our selves as everyone else was out diving. Kayaking equipment and snorkeling gear was available free of charge. No area in the resort was overly crowded, or crowded at all and that's what we loved!
The meals were great to amazing! Dinner was the best meal of the day.
We had an accident with our camera and went to the front desk for help. They arranged for a disposable camera within hours! My husband forgot his phone charger at home and one of the females at the front desk went home and got her own within hours and lent it to us for the rest of the trip! We will never forget their willingness to go above and beyond in that situation. We couldn't imagine coming back without photos.
If you are looking to experience Fiji and it's culture while being pampered with great food and service, Wananvu is the place for you! There are many resorts to choose from in Fiji, but Wananavu is one of the few that is moderately priced, provides excellent value for your money, loaded with local culture, and beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanda80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed in the north of Fiji for 5 days in a villa close to Wananavu Beach Resort. (It is not a tourist area - only if you want to be off the beaten track is this the area for you). We ate most of the time at the resort & enjoyed their facilities including the attractive pool area - (mainly because we found our villa well positioned but in need of 'freshening up'). We cannot praise staff at the resort too highly - they truly rescued our stay in Fiji & made it memorable! We were given our own special table each night, enjoyed the good food & entertainment & marvelled at the beautiful ocean views surrounding us. The views, food, friendly faces & probably the exotic cocktails made us relax entirely and after 6 weeks travelling around NZ this was just what we needed!
The day we booked a boat ride from the resort to an isloated island was when we experienced our 'little touch of paradise!!' Imagine a white beach ALL to yourself, palm trees, a table & chairs set out on the beach JUST FOR YOU, a selection of lovely food for lunch & drinks packed in cool boxes.White sand to walk on and a clear blue sea to swim in. All that for £15 pp!!! Thank you Wananavu for that day & for the amazingly friendly send off you gave us on our last night - your lovely singing voices & charming smiles will be part of our memories of Fiji always!
We were not even staying at the resort!! How can we praise it more?!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDroitwichSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband did a lot of research to give me the perfect holiday. Most travel agents he approached in Sydney did not know anything about Wananavu. He was a bit nervous, but decided the reviews on tripadvisor should be good enoug.
This place not only surprised us, but exceed expectation. The staff, food, facilities and setting is fantastic. We got a free upgrade to the beach after 2 days with the most perfect views. Most of the water equipment hire is free & due to the small size of the resort - was always available.
If you are into your water sport and diving - this is the perfect place. No phones, no TV, no internet - back to basics. Perfect getaway!

Not a place for people who want the shopping,nightlife & entertainment.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BobMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Bula. My husband and I took advantage of a special on Wotif Fiji and stayed at Wananavu for 4 nights. We had a beautiful Ocean Bure with a hugh king size very comfortable bed which gave us a spectacular view of palm trees and sea. My sister found out about our pending holiday and decided to join us so they had the bure next door. We were picked up at the airport as part of our stay and so our fantastic holiday began.
We arrived to welcome drinks and once settled gathered at the restaurant for dinner. Our meals were included with our accommodation and we ate far too much but enjoyed the variety and tastiness of all our meals. I like the fact that they used food from their own garden as well as seasonal produce.
All the staff were fantastic. They were always friendly, ready to have a chat and it was a joy to be around people who knew how to laugh. There was a lot of laughing. You would pass the laundry and hear laughter. The staff learnt your names straight away, were friendly and attentive. They replenished our water glasses frequently (beautiful tasting water), which helped because I have never drunk so many cocktails in my life. We even spent a day at the restaurant playing scrabble, drinking cocktails and laughing with the staff.
The restaurant looked over the water, had some shade with ceiling fans contributing to a very relaxing place to play scrabble. Canoeing was good one morning, the day spa gave good relaxing massages and facials and there were plenty of activities to choose from. No tvs or radios but an ipod played western music in the restaurant as well as the live Fijian music accompanying lunch and dinner. We love the fact that they sing the farewell song to the group of guests on the last night of their visit so we wrote our own song and sung it to the staff.
Australians all let us rejoice for we all love Fiji. With golden smiles and sea for miles we never want to leave. Its land abounds in coconuts they are falling everywhere, the staff at Wanananvu have a lot of love to share, a cocktail spree for morning tea, Fiji the place to be.
I am looking forward to coming back.
After staying at Wananavu for four nights we travelled to The Sofitel 20 mins from Nadi. The 5 star resort cannot compare to a smaller resort like Wanananvu. The Sofitel staff were friendly, but did not know your name, it was hotel style accommodation and the cost of meals and alcohol was nearly the same as in Australia. I would recommend Wananavu to everyone, I could not speak more highly of any holiday destination than this one. So enjoy your stay, I know you will and I look forward to reconnecting with this place again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dican64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

What a wonderful place to relax. The staff were all very friendly and the resort was kept beautifully clean. The food was okay. Only two meals out of 21 were not good but that was because they were too salty. We were unlucky enough to have bought stolen money at Travelex, Sydney airport which was only discovered when we decided to have an adventure on our own and headed off to do some shopping at a local town. The police were very understanding and after taking a statement and all our money let us go. Within 5 minutes of leaving the police station Ben the resort manager was in town checking that everything was okay and asking if we needed some money or a lift back to the resort. Nothing was too much trouble. We were lucky to stay at the resort when it was quiet and for a lot of the time it felt as though we had the resort to ourselves. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone with young kids but for anyone else it is wonderful. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews