We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Location for our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Perfect Location for our Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Let me start off saying I was a bit skeptical of having our Honeymoon at this resort. On paper the idea of flying halfway across the world to sit in a car for a couple hours to go end up at a resort on the extreme north end of the island was a bit daunting. Then we arrived....
My new wife and I sat glued to the vans windows with our jaws dropped as our driver drove us through some of the most beautiful landscapes we'd ever seen. It was a great way to see the real Fiji, passing farmers harvesting sugar cane, kids going to school, and the other mundane daily life activities of the Fijian people.

Once we arrived at the resort we were greeted by the extremely helpful and friendly staff who showed us to our bure (Think hotel room/condo/hut). We were right on the beach and the view from our porch was beyond breath taking. All of our initial worries melted away at that point, if the drive, greeting, and bure were any indication of the rest of the stay...we were good.

Throughout the 10 days we spent at the resort we sampled various activities including a village tour, remote island tour, kayaking, fish feeding, snorkeling and even a quick lesson on preparing a coconut (which up until that point I was using my best guess combined with footage from the film "Cast Away"). The meals were amazing, the night life was the perfect balance of meeting new friends, relaxation and occasional dancing.

All in all this was the ideal honeymoon we were looking for, but it may not be for everyone. If you're the type of person who can't let go of wifi, TV, and your phone...then I suggest going somewhere else, but if you're looking to relax in every sense of the word...I strongly urge you to check out Wananavu. I know we will again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zo553lca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    139
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
107
305
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our fourth stay at this place. We find this very relaxing place - quite and very easy to stay. Weather is great - very consistent and has everything we need for a relaxing week in the sun. Food is great and wonderful spot to eat looking out to the sea.
The staff are the real gems of this place. They know your name from day one and genuinely take pleasure in serving you well. Even though there is no beach as such, everything else make up for this.The Diving is fantastic - Ra Divers who service the resort are a wonderful people and provide a great new dive boat and professional service.
The drive there takes about 2.5 hours from Nadi airport which can be a little tough going but I figure this makes it a little out of the way and special and stops everybody going there! The taxi that takes you there and back is very confortable

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Ben and Rachel the managers are wananavu - this is our 2nd time to wananavu beach resort - and the difference they have made .. last time was before they started.. The resort is paradise and not your bustling windy and wet coastal resort of denarau and the coral coast.
the diving , snorkelling is out of this world. the staff are the happiest i have seen i fiji ( our 7 th time to fiji )
The food is gourmet for fiji and changes daily.. but we still have our staples kokoda and fresh fish and chips.. definately do the romantic bure dinner and the romantic beach picnic ( extra but well worth it ) .we went for lunch at the neighbouring resort ( voli voli ) don't bother food unedible... Rachel helped us out not just with the accommodation at her resort but also spent alot of email time on helping us choose another resort we chose Octopus - vinaka ( however, we should've stayed longer at wananavu )..
we will be back next time with our children.. they don't have a kids club, but the staff and the nannies ( F$4 per hour ) excites us... the pool is in a beautiful stone waterful setting with a shallow area for kids.. ( we did not see any children while we were here ) but we like the idea that there will never be hundreds of children..
the personalised attention from ben and rachel and there fantastic staff makes this resort a gem in the south pacific.... nothing is too much trouble ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family4travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

2hrs out of Nadi but well worth the effort, the staff were very freindly & food was excellent
most rooms have an ocean or beach view. this is a get away from it all resort, no TV or phone/ internet in the rooms. small beach but not white sand (was cut back from mangrove swamps) if you want a white and beach take a picnic over to the neighboring island or if adventurous take a kayak. the diving is pretty spectacular & take the opportunity to go out to the Bligh channel

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diveinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent four night at Wananavu in July after a disappointing stay at the Intercontinental hotel in Natadola.

Let's be clear - this is a wonderful hotel and great value for money.

The setting is great. The (northern) sunshine coast of Fiji is not easy to get to (a 2 1/2 hr drive from the airport), but it is worth the effort. It is called the sunshine coast for a reason and it does get better weather than the (southern) coral coast. Sunshine is always a great addition to a holiday.

The view from the restaurant is beautiful - as people have pointed out, much better that the photos on the website. You won't be disappointed. Sitting on the deck at sunset enjoying cheap cocktails and a Fijian band is a wonderful way to finish the day.

We stayed in an ocean view room, and it was lovely with genuine ocean views. Yes there are trees in the way (they aren't uninterupted views), but it was much better than ocean glimpes we have experienced elsewhere. Even though we spent almost no time in our room because there was so much to do, we thought it was worth paying for. The beachfront rooms are identical but right on the beach (while ocean view are about 30 metres further back). We thought both were good value. The villas look sensational and are a lot bigger, but are also a fair bit more expensive.

The staff are fantastic and very friendly. The snorkelling is good from the beach and brilliant if you do a boat trip. The activities are incredibly reasonably priced. They took two of us for a 20 minute boat trip to a glorious world class coral reef, watched us snorkel for an hour then took us back again for $20 FJD each (about $12 Australian), including all snorkeling gear. Hand line fishing was great as well.

This is Fiji, so there are a couple of warnings. There isn't really a sandy beach. But there are deckchairs and hammocks on the waters' edge with a beautiful view. The intercontinatal Natadola claimed it was on one of the world's best beaches, but there are 10 better beaches within 20 minutes drive of where I live on Sydney's northern beaches. You don't go to Fiji for the sandy beach (apart from Vomo island, which is almost ten times the price).

The food in Fiji is also nothing fantastic, especially if you choose red meat. It's not as good as a typical Sydney cafe. However it is perfectly acceptable (especially the fish) and very reasonably priced given the stunning setting.

We have stayed at lots of beachfront resorts in the South Pacific (Vomo, Qamea, Fa Fa, Vava'u, Tavanipupu, Mokusigas, Intercontinental Fiji, Warwick, and Australian Islands (Hayman, Dunk, Heron, Brampton, & Long Islands) and we liked them all (except the Intercontinental, despite it having the best rooms of the lot), but this is the one we are most likely to go back to. Highly recommended for a romantic, truly Fijian holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is a great hotel on the north point of Viti Levu. Just be aware that there is nothing else around for several miles so you will be dependent on the hotel for all your food. Each room has a refrigerator so you could bring food with you for lunch and snacks. There is also not really a beach here so most people swim in the pool. It seems like a good place for a family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This place was truly a hidden gem!

Being born in Fiji but migrating to Australia at a young age I was aware that there were some not so great places in Fiji.

Taking my boyfriend back I truly wanted him to see the real Fiji before moving onto family and friends in the main towns that sometimes dont represent Fiji!

After the funniest but truly Fijian style transfer to Wananavu it welcomed us with open arms (and a free bottle of wine and fresh fruit platter), the staff are just amazing and they are the people who make your stay. They remember your name after the first time and then greet you with it every time after!

We booked into a beach front Bure with all meals included. Our room was spacious and the right size for the two of us, the bathroom was large with double vanity!

We had our own little porch with a table and chair where we could sit and we were right across the beach! The rooms were clean and tidy and cleaned everyday with our beds made!

Every meal (bfast, lunch and dinner) served was great, the atmosphere, the amazing band boys and staff made each sitting so much fun. Cocktails at happy hour are a must!

We did a snorkelling trip as this came highly recommended and it was just amazing, i would encourage everyone strongly to do it, was just gorgeous!

The poolside bar service was great and the pool was never busy and NO KIDS, although this was not a no kids resort - there didnt seem to be many if any children at the resort as it was a more a couples and friends type of place!

The beach is not the greatest and MY ONLY negative - though its not really a negative, as the resort is on the Bligh Waters its not a white sandy beach as I imagined, it is corally but it can be enjoyed with some snorkels!
I would reccomend getting the boat to take you to a close by island for the day so you can enjoy a beautiful beach there and they pick you back up at what ever time you like! and all for $10 pp FJD - and they can pack you a picnic lunch also.

Please dont let the beach deter you - this place is heaven on earth, the sunsets from dinner at night, the staff, the beautifully kept grounds, fresh flowers and fruits just make this place sensational.

This resorts comes with my highest recommendation for couples or groups of friends!
Vinaka Vakalevu Wananavu - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
69.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,878 reviews
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing