We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Most relaxing holiday yet...bring your SPF 50+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday yet...bring your SPF 50+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were looking for a holiday where we could relax and read all day and not lift a finger. The entire Wananavu experience met this requirement easily. Some people on here have commented on the road...all I can say is that they mustn't have travelled often/they expect Fiji to be a developed country. Fiji is a tiny little deserted Island which, in my opinion, is the reason that it is so attractive. You are forced to sit back and take in the beauty that is this amazing island and by the time you get to the rocky/dirt road to the resort, it honestly made me so excited to think that I was in the most isolated and remote place in the world (which of course it isnt) and that it was indeed going to be the ultimate relaxing experience.
RESORT: The resort is situated on quite a steep hill, which meant that most/all rooms have a view and sense of isolation. The restaurant has beautiful views no matter where you sit. It was sunny through the day, and stormed at night, which was awesome because the lightening lit up the bay and the weather added to the tropical island experience. You can order drinks from the pool and the cocktails are AMAZING! Long island ice tea is well worth it (not for the light hearted). The Fijian Premium is delicious.
ROOM: We had a Beachfront Bure, when we visited there were only 3 other couples in the entire resort - due to the quiet period before Easter holiday madness. So we honestly felt like we were all by ourselves and it was SO QUIET! We had the entire beach to ourselves, including the hammocks. The room was perfect, it had the Fijian feel, wooden shutters (and fly screens), the massive shower with glass wall and the entire bathroom was wonderful, they really bought the outdoors inside. The King Bed was comfortable, there was a well stock mini-bar (good prices) and also plunger coffee. Very clean. Could lie in bed and look at the ocean and sleep to the sound of the waves. You can pay for Wi-Fi (same company that is at the airport) and there are ceiling fans and A/C. No other technology, which is great!
FOOD: We got a package, its was cheap for what you get. We arent enormous eaters, so we ate/had WAY too much, you could just order off the menu to your appetite and it would be fine. Friendly service, 'Ma' was lovely!
ACTIVITIES: The water straight infront of the beachfront bures can be a little dangerous as there are stingrays, but we only found this out on day 3 and we swam there without issue. The best place to go is over the other side of the marina, grab your free hire snorkel gear and right at the bottom of the ladder is a coral reef with heaps of colourful fish (disclaimer: we arent divers or regular snorkelers so it was good for our standard). You can also grab a kayak and go to the different islands or tie up at one of the other reefs and jump overboard. We didnt do any of the paid activites but those who we spoke to loved them. We did the couples arrival massage which was pretty good. WEAR SPF 50++, snorkelling for 2hrs meant we were fried even with suncreen!!
OVERALL: We really enjoyed ourselves, we had wanted to stay on one of the islands but due to the complex/expensive nature of transfers we stayed here instead. It was the next best thing, "island feel with mainland convenience".

Room Tip: Beachfront bures quiet and isolated Use sunscreen Cocktails/Happy Hour are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    113
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
87
259
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went up here mainly to dive, but we were very impressed with the resort. The resort is a three hour drive from Nadi (not the two hours and 15 mins stated on the website.) but worth the trip One thing to note was that no water was provided on the journey. We felt this was poor service given the length of the journey.Maybe this could be provide in future?

We stayed in an Ocean view Villa which was basic but clean. It had two ceiling fans, air con and VERY good insect screening over all windows and louvres. A small mini bar/fridge and kettle with tea and coffee supplies. Great water pressure in the shower too! Water is fine to drink as they have their own filtration /treatment system on site, This saved us a fortune in bottled water costs as was much more convenient.

We were on a meal plan which included breakfast (buffet style with eggs cooked to order) , two course lunch and three course dinner. Food was generally very good with a daily 'special' menu for both lunch and dinner. Bread was baked fresh every day and was delicious.They also do a lovo evening and a bbq night, which makes a nice change. Drinks are a reasonable price too, which is not always the case in resort bars,

The resort is set into the side of a hill, but nothing too steep. The grounds and pool are are beautifully maintained, but peolpe 'reserving' loungers by the pool with towels needs to be stopped. We went there one day and every lounger had some item on it, but no one was at the pool....

There are loungers down on the beach area by the dive shop and more out on the point by the steps to the house reef, so the rest of the resort didn't feel crowded.

The staff were all excellent. Introduce themsleves to you at the start of your holiday and greet you by name every day. Happy and smiling and great fun. Loved the live music every lunch time and evening too. There is a spa on site too. but we didn't use it so can't comment.

We did 13 amazing dives with Chris and Vicky, who run the onsite dive shop 'Dive Wananavu'. Our gear was whisked away from our room when we arrived and was loaded onto the boat every day. At the end of each trip, it was taken off the boat and rinsed ready for the next day. The hire gear is in excellent condition too.

The have Nitox available and we did our Nitrox cert while we were there. They run a very tight ship and have a fabulous team working with them. Josh and Jimmy took us on some of the most beautiful dives we have ever done and Mere spoiled us after every dive, with water and snacks and dry towels. They were also happy to go out to the Vatu I Ra passage with just the two of us on board. Three dives a day was no issue either. These guys really do look after their divers. Chris and Vicky are both amazing photographers and Chris spent some time with my hubby giving him some tips and tricks to get the best out of his new camera.

Gold star service. Cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited last weekend with friends from Sydney. Absolutely fantastic!! I can't believe it took so many visits to finally have an island picnic. Awesome beach with just our group on it. Great for the kids as the water inside the reef is shallow and they can relax and enjoy.

Food fantastic...

Service awesome....

Once again to the the fantastic people of Wananavu....Vinaka Vakelevu.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

In a tropic paradise the most important things to myself and my partner are beautiful surrounds and great cocktails. The resort was fantastic and comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful. Snorkeling was great, and we loved the coconut presentation. Deserving of the high rating.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skbdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 and returned, so my husband could again enjoy the diving. The setting, although a haul from the airport, is lovely. Ocean view bures have divine views. Food is very good, and there is a lot of it on the meal plan. The grounds are well-maintained; the staff members, as we remembered, are very friendly. As is in the case on many islands of the world, the pace is relaxed. As some one else remarked, it is superior to Denaru island, which from a Los Angeles perspective, seems like Palm Springs next to an ocean.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFKID44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our visit (and review) this year was the first under their new management (Allan) which had us curious and a little anxious over what may have changed.

What hasn't changed - it location is still idyllic, albeit a little longer drive than most locations in Viti Levu but the road has improved significantly, it's staff outstanding (don’t think we have experienced any better anywhere in Fiji), rooms great, meals / menu fine, activities varied on site and various local tours available. The weather was also great, especially after last years Easter cyclone.

What has changed – Allan keeps a lower profile then his predecessors, but appears no less involved, informed and concerned. There has also been an upgrading of various resources and parts of its facilities which has only enhanced the resort and its service, but it has also seen an understandable increase in some costs. Only those returning might notice and they are optional activities anyway and in most cases the cost is displayed. Though not with the trolling/fishing which we didn't confirm, our costly oversight, which was fortunately offset with us catching enough fish to keep the kitchen busy (great work Elvin), several guests and numerous locals we know grateful for our success and the boat crew very impressed with themselves. (The skirted lures definitely the better choice)

This is also the first time we noticed an increasing number of families, rather than just couples. It certainly seemed to work for them if the sound of children's laughter, running feet and expectant conversations at meal times in the restaurant or around the pool was any indicator.

We also made great new friends, especially Scarlett and Mike from the USA, a reflection on the quality of people you are likely to meet if you don't just want to keep to yourselves. Glad we didn't!

Already looking forward to heading back in July.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The grounds of this resort are incredible and the staff truly do make you feel warm and welcome. I thank them all for making our stay so comfortable and memorable - made even more memorable as my boyfriend proposed to me at sunset one night, on a private point on the water :) It will always be somewhere that I will remember with a huge smile!

We stayed here for 7 nights in an ocean view bure. The bure was beautiful - very clean with a modern bathroom.
Enjoyed the facilities of the resort - Ebalone was a lovely staff member who made us feel very welcome and Buna in the gift shop was lovely to chat to day after day. And Ma in the restaurant - what an incredible laugh and smile you have!

If you're the sort of person (like me) who struggles to slow down and take it easy - you may find the pace of this resort difficult. However there were interesting activities offered each day, and sitting by the pool was lovely. We had a private dinner on our balcony that was set up beautifully and was really special.

The resort was very quiet, with only about 10 people staying there when we were there. Apparently this is unusual, but we did like the fact we knew all the other guests by name! Everyone was very friendly.

The one downfall I feel this resort has is the food. I felt sitting in the one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was tiresome, even with the beautiful view! As someone who loves to cook and loves their food, I was disappointed with the quality of the food provided. It's a shame that there aren't any other options nearby to walk to and give you some variety, however the chef does make an effort to vary the menu each day.

We also tired of one of the bands who appeared to only know a few songs and kept playing these on repeat during lunch and dinner for our first few days there! The second band we had however were incredible.

We were fortunate enough to experience a Lovo during our stay - it was incredible and the entertainment was excellent. I'd recommend it!

Make sure you travel to the village and buy plenty of bottled water - 1.5L will cost around FJD$2.50 there, and is $7.50 at the resort!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 25 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,586 reviews
73.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
63.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
79.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing