We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 and returned, so my husband could again enjoy the diving. The setting, although a haul from the airport, is lovely. Ocean view bures have divine views. Food is very good, and there is a lot of it on the meal plan. The grounds are well-maintained; the staff members, as we remembered, are very friendly. As is in the case on many islands of the world, the pace is relaxed. As some one else remarked, it is superior to Denaru island, which from a Los Angeles perspective, seems like Palm Springs next to an ocean.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFKID44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    144
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
311
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our visit (and review) this year was the first under their new management (Allan) which had us curious and a little anxious over what may have changed.

What hasn't changed - it location is still idyllic, albeit a little longer drive than most locations in Viti Levu but the road has improved significantly, it's staff outstanding (don’t think we have experienced any better anywhere in Fiji), rooms great, meals / menu fine, activities varied on site and various local tours available. The weather was also great, especially after last years Easter cyclone.

What has changed – Allan keeps a lower profile then his predecessors, but appears no less involved, informed and concerned. There has also been an upgrading of various resources and parts of its facilities which has only enhanced the resort and its service, but it has also seen an understandable increase in some costs. Only those returning might notice and they are optional activities anyway and in most cases the cost is displayed. Though not with the trolling/fishing which we didn't confirm, our costly oversight, which was fortunately offset with us catching enough fish to keep the kitchen busy (great work Elvin), several guests and numerous locals we know grateful for our success and the boat crew very impressed with themselves. (The skirted lures definitely the better choice)

This is also the first time we noticed an increasing number of families, rather than just couples. It certainly seemed to work for them if the sound of children's laughter, running feet and expectant conversations at meal times in the restaurant or around the pool was any indicator.

We also made great new friends, especially Scarlett and Mike from the USA, a reflection on the quality of people you are likely to meet if you don't just want to keep to yourselves. Glad we didn't!

Already looking forward to heading back in July.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The grounds of this resort are incredible and the staff truly do make you feel warm and welcome. I thank them all for making our stay so comfortable and memorable - made even more memorable as my boyfriend proposed to me at sunset one night, on a private point on the water :) It will always be somewhere that I will remember with a huge smile!

We stayed here for 7 nights in an ocean view bure. The bure was beautiful - very clean with a modern bathroom.
Enjoyed the facilities of the resort - Ebalone was a lovely staff member who made us feel very welcome and Buna in the gift shop was lovely to chat to day after day. And Ma in the restaurant - what an incredible laugh and smile you have!

If you're the sort of person (like me) who struggles to slow down and take it easy - you may find the pace of this resort difficult. However there were interesting activities offered each day, and sitting by the pool was lovely. We had a private dinner on our balcony that was set up beautifully and was really special.

The resort was very quiet, with only about 10 people staying there when we were there. Apparently this is unusual, but we did like the fact we knew all the other guests by name! Everyone was very friendly.

The one downfall I feel this resort has is the food. I felt sitting in the one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was tiresome, even with the beautiful view! As someone who loves to cook and loves their food, I was disappointed with the quality of the food provided. It's a shame that there aren't any other options nearby to walk to and give you some variety, however the chef does make an effort to vary the menu each day.

We also tired of one of the bands who appeared to only know a few songs and kept playing these on repeat during lunch and dinner for our first few days there! The second band we had however were incredible.

We were fortunate enough to experience a Lovo during our stay - it was incredible and the entertainment was excellent. I'd recommend it!

Make sure you travel to the village and buy plenty of bottled water - 1.5L will cost around FJD$2.50 there, and is $7.50 at the resort!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Fiji.We stayed at a Villa next to Wananvu Resort but spent a lot of time over there having cocktails,massages and dining.
My husband celebrated his 60th birthday at the resort.Elvin the AMAZING CHEF served us 3 most devine seafood platters.The whole night was wonderful as the staff and guest joined in the celebration.All the staff came out at the end of the night to sing Happy Life.
A very special Thank You to Ma,Elvin,Tina and Taniella.You made our holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkshoes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We drove from Suva, which was a pleasant experience on that new road, and took a bit more than 2h.

We had a very good impresion of the place on arrival. The restaurant is high up so you get fantastic views of the islands in front. The resort itself is quite big so going up and down from your bure can be a bit tiring.

We got a two bedroom bure, beach front, inside it was clean and it had a fridge and kitchent. The bathrooms needed some refurbishment. The bure had a very good front porch to the beach. Between the beach an the sea there is some grass area perfect for our toddler.

With full tide the tiny beach is very pleasant, if it is low, not only you can not enjoy it but you get a sewage smell that puts you off getting near it.

Room Tip: If you can get the two bed beach front bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

With its own plunge pool, and privacy on top of the hill, the honeymoon suite was amazing! The staff at Wananavu made our stay better, if that was possible. The staff (esp. the manager Keleni) went out of the way to help us out, when we ran into some scheduling issues and could not make it there on the planned day. Be ready to walk up and down the hill - we loved it. Unfortunately our trip was cut down to one day, so we couldn't do any diving or other water activities. The beach was nice to hang out at night. Food is so-so, but palatable.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite #23 is very private; Suite#50 is probably private as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We travelled to Wananavu with no idea of what to expect and visiting a new area we hadn't vexperienced before. Thank goodness we did!! A long bumpy ride by van, but oh so worth it.
We loved every minute of our stay at Wananavu. The amazing views... wow, what a place to sit and eat meals each day. The staff are so friendly greeting us by name, and having a chat and laugh often.
The moment you sat at a table, we would receive a ice cold glass of water, then staff would offer drinks menu, then food menu. One after the other, each greeting us as friends. We have always experienced "Fiji time", which is fine, but not here. Awesome service!! The food was wonderful... I broke my diet big time! Fantastic cocktails, and had quite a few kavas with the band boys at night.
Buna in the boutique, thank you for being so helpful. Each day we found ourselves calling in just to have a chat. Nice range of clothing and gifts, and necessities.
Every day we went out snorkelling, and also went on the private picnic trip, which is a must do. Fabulous reefs, best we've seen in Fiji. Bosori you are awesome, so much fun and taking us to the best places each day. A special thank you to Ebalone, the kindest, most helpful person there. He checked each day.. do you have your water, sunscreen, etc before heading out to be sure we had everything. Was a bit of a daily ritual, with a laugh. His knowledge of the area and his talks on herbal medicine and coconuts were great.
There is a great pool, so refreshing with a little waterfall, with plenty of sunbeds and a terrific shade hut to laze in. Drink service down by the pool was great too.
The village visit was amazing, loved the kava ceremony and the beautiful singing of the villagers. We walked through the local village market, buying some fruit and having a chat with the villagers, what a humbling experience.
Everything about Wananavu was fantastic. We will definitely be returning, and have already recommended it to many of our friends. Thank you... for an amazing holiday and a wonderful introduction to such a beautiful part of Fiji.

Room Tip: Ocean view close to everything and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jassycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,622 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
69.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing