We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

We got married at Wananavu a week ago and it was absolutely perfect! We wanted a private and romantic wedding and this was definitely the right place.
First of all, there are no words to describe the kindness and hospitality shown by the staff...they are incredible and I miss them already!
The place is stunning and there are lots of activities you can enjoy while staying at Wananavu (they change the activities every day so you'll have plenty of options)
If you want to see nice beaches, you can kakay (free) to the nearby islands and do some wonderful snorkelling! (my favourite activity)
You can also visit one of the villages and enjoy a fantastic natural slide (see pics)
The bures are very beautiful and clean. They have good air conditioners along with netted windows which stopped any mosquitos and bugs coming inside ...
They let us stay in one of the "beach front" bures on our wedding day and they are amazing!!! If you can afford to stay in one of those, just go for it!!! (they are a lot more expensive than garden or ocean front bures but so worth it!)
I could go on and on, but the best advice I can give is don't hesitate to book this hotel !!! You won't regret it.
A+++++++

  • Liked — Friendly staff - Beautiful place - great snorkelling & diving
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Solicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    134
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
97
293
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

We went to Wananavu for our honeymoon with our 18 month old son. We got the package which included meals. The food was lovely and great value. Babysitting was $4 au per hour so we had a couple of afternoons to ourselves, which was great. Even when we hadn't got a babysitter, the dining staff would entertain him and take him up to the barman for a cherry or two so that we could eat in peace, fantastic!!! They couldn't do enough for us and they love kids. It was a lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and we met lots of nice people. The spa is heavenly, on a hilltop with beautiful fresh air coming through the big windows while you have your treatments. We only wish we had booked on wotif and saved over $1000, rather than going through a travel agent.

  • Liked — Personalised service and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shell258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

Lovely friendly staff - very easy to deal with.

Food was enjoyable. They had lunch, snack, dinner, kids and dessert menus to choose from as well dedicated nights with Lovo meals. Room rate included breakfast charge.

Happy hour 5.30 - 6.30 with half price cocktails.

Themed nights: Wednesday Lovo and Fijian dancers - Sunday BBQ

Lovely rooms with fans and air conditioning. No phones, radios, clock or TV's in the rooms.

Very relaxing place to stay. They love kids. Staff a very accommodating "ask and in most cases you will receive"

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Menu was consistant over 19 day stay
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Frangapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

After staying at a luxury resort that wasn't up to snuff, we had low expectations for our cheaper booking at Wananavu. Instead, we were delighted with our room and resort.

The beachfront bure has a perfect view of the water and islands. Hammocks and loungers are steps from our little patio. I was a bit surprised to discover our bure was actually a duplex, but that wasn't
a problem. The joining wall is the bathroom and we never heard or saw
them during our 7 day stay. They have very well placed foliage so you
do not see the neighbors on their patio. The bathroom is actually prettier than the pictures; we liked it better than the outdoor shower at a different resort.

They need a clothesline in the bathroom to hang up your wet things. When we asked for one, they said "oh we don't have that." We ended up spreading out all our stuff across our patio, which looked junky. Also, the bures should have larger beds. I think it was somewhere between an American full (double) and a queen size.

The food was pretty good, although one meal we and our dining companions had very undercooked hamburgers and a salad that came out as a stir fry.

The cultural activities were very good: waterfall/village tour, talks, meke, lovo pit. The snorkeling was pretty good, as was the castaway beach trip.

On the other hand, the beach is not inviting: muddy and cloudy. And we didn't swim in it at all. Essentially, you have to pay to go to another beach to get to swim. The pool is OK, but not as beautiful as
the pics.

The lobby and restaurant at the top of the hill are lovely. We really
enjoyed the happy hour prices and sunset views from the open deck.

  • Liked — Beautiful sunsets and facilities
  • Disliked — Lame beach in comparison to nearby whitesand beaches
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with its own kitchen. It was clean and tidy. It had its own verandah with view to the ocean. The beach is not the white sand type but water is very nice. We went kayaking which is availabe free of charge and you can see different corals and fish in the water. Overall it is a very relaxing place with hammocks everywhere to relax in and plenty of privacy.

  • Liked — Relaxed setting
  • Disliked — Beach not as sandy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed in one of the Bures on the beach and the accommodations were very nice. The staff was very friendly and did a special dessert and song for our friends who were celebrating their anniversary. All that said, the reason you go to Wananavu is for the diving, and it is amazing. The outer reef areas had the most quantity and variety of life I have seen anywhere. The water was warm and clear, and the dive boat crew were top notch.

  • Liked — Access to great diving
  • Disliked — A long ways from anything else on the island
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from a one-week stay at Wananavu. We are 40-something scuba divers on an ongoing search for the perfect balance between plush accommodations and world class diving. (You typically must sacrifice one for the other.) Young Island Resort on the Caribbean island of St. Vincent previously held the top spot on our list. It now ranks second behind Wananavu. This was our first trip to the South Pacific. We chose Fiji because of its reputation for great diving, and because of the relatively easy access from the States (10-hour non-stop flight on Air Pacific from LAX to the Nadi airport). We chose Wanavu because of the price (package price lower than comparable properties), its location on the main island (no need for an additional inter-island flight), and its access to diving on the "outer passage" in the Bligh Waters. The resort was wonderful. Keep in mind, this is not the Cancun Hilton. If you want the Cancun Hilton, go to the Cancun Hilton. This is a real island resort, with true island character; not a place that was merely built to look like a real island resort. Our beachfront bure was not extravagant. However, it was more than comfortable. I typically would not pay extra for a beachfront unit (it was included as part of our package). In this case, however, I believe the spectacular ocean views and serene setting justify the extra cost. The resort is built on the side of a relatively steep hill, with the beach at the bottom and the front desk/bar/dining room at the top. Expect to do some walking during your visit. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful, with a wide variety of flowering tropical plants and palm trees. The beach is not extensive compared to some "beach" resorts. However, there are plenty of lounge chairs and hammocks, both in and out of the sun. You will have no trouble getting your "tropical paradise" fix during your visit. Our package included all meals. Drinks were extra, though quite affordable (about $1.50 a soda and $3.00 a beer). The food was very good, if not spectacular. I would give it a solid 7+ on a scale of 1 to 10. The staff was wonderful. We noticed a little bit of the "island time" phenomenon, but not as much as at other destinations. I highly recommend taking a village tour. Also be sure to drink lots of kava. The diving made the trip. We dove five days with Kai Viti Divers, the operator based at Wananavu. We dove one day with Ra Divers, the operator at a nearby backpacker resort. We enjoyed both operators. However, we preferred Kai Viti. The staff was extremely attentive and really knew their stuff. They have larger, better equipped boats. This made the 60+-minutes-each-way trip to the outer passage quite bearable. They also seemed to cater to a more experienced group of divers. (On the other hand, Ra Divers seemed to cater to a much more rowdy crowd. If you prefer to spend your surface intervals dancing and sunbathing with 20-something Aussie backpackers, go with Ra.) The diving was spectacular. There was enough small stuff to overwhelm a couple of dedicated critter divers like my wife and me (e.g., 5 to 10 different varieties of nudibranches each dive). There was also plenty of interesting big stuff. The soft coral was beautiful. I only had two things on my "wish to see" list for the trip: lionfish and ornate ghost pipefish. We saw they both by the third day. I can't say enough good things about Kai Viti and the diving. In conclusion, we had a great trip. If you are thinking about Fiji, do it! If you are considering Wananavu, you will love it!

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and views. Friendly staff.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Flip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
73.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
76.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
69.8 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing