We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rakiraki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The rooms are run down and a little smelly. The whole place could do with a little revamp. But the service and location and value make up for these short falls.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMD2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night during May as part of a business trip. The hotel itself is quite comfortable. It has a nice reception area and restaurant too. The rooms are out the back and around a small swimming pool. They also have a pool table by the swimming pool. The hotel is set 5-10 minute drive outside of Rakiraki town and there is no shops or amenities within walking distance.
The room itself was quite large with a double and a single bed. The bed clothes were clean and the bed was comfortable. The cupboard to hang up clothes is actually in the bathroom but that didn’t matter and there was plenty of room to store clothes (but only one hanger!!). There was a good selection of tea bags to make tea in the room. The bathroom is ok – the shower has good water pressure and was nice and hot but the appearance of the bathroom overall is that it needs modernisation and some basic maintenance. The small toiletries selection in the bathroom was good. We had dinner at the hotel as there weren’t really any other options. I have eaten here before and I would say the food and service is average and expensive compared to other similar places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spend several weeks of the year at the Rakiraki Hotel and have always enjoyed our time at the hotel. This year they have new management who I'm sure will maintain the positive familiarity of the hotel while enhancing the professionalism of staff and what the hotel offers.

Improvements are happening and we look forward to our visit in July.

Room Tip: Ask for down stairs as they don't have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stopped in at the Rakiraki Hotel for lunch on a trip around Veti Levu
From the time we walked in the door, the service couldn't be faulted.All the staff were so friendly and helpful. We found it hard to say goodbye when we left. We hope to return later this year

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldntit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

wow - what a change to the previous "resort" we stayed at! Lovely staff - friendly and happy to talk to you, clean fresh sheets on the bed and lovely clean floors. no mess swept into the corners! Air conditioning in the room, hot water shower that didnt smell of Bore water - it is lovely!
close to town and comfortable - we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoneanderson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and were looked after beautifully.
Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The pool was clean and thee was a tennis court and bowling green nearby. Most of all we enjoyed our drinks in the lounge - a comfortable area where it was easy to meet and talk with other visitors. Our main meals were delicious and the omelettes for breakfast were the best.

Room Tip: Upstairs you get a good breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyone4coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Q
Level Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I am about to return to Fiji for the 5th time soon........and there will be no relaxed time until I go back to Rakiraki and catch up with "old friends". The very next morning upon landing in Nadi, my partner and I will hire a car and head due north to Lautoka and then on the Kings Rd to Rakiraki.........about a 3 -4 hr drive. We have stayed at the Rakiraki Hotel twice before when we have traversed Viti Levu and can only say "you get what you pay for" and so never expected resort style accommodation in the north. And may I say it is CLEAN and TIDY.
But like all OVER Fiji, the people are always friendly and welcoming and we always want to go back. No, the rooms aren't 5 star and the pool is small and the menu not extensive.........but that is not why you go "off the beaten track" to where true tourist resorts are scarce. THIS is the real Fiji, and the towns and villages, sights and people that you meet getting there!!
OK the Indian manager is a little bit reserved.......... he is Indian Fijian. But all his staff are Fijian ........and they are just beautiful people. They all happily advise where the best boating is........and Ellington Wharf is the place to go to adventure out on a local little fishing boat to explore the surrounding islands...........what an adventure that is!!! And so CHEAP ......... compared to the Coral Coast or the very touristy Denarau (which could be the port of Cairns now).
We have been welcomed in to the local school next door to the hotel, we have played island rugby football with the local young men after work till dark and then been invited into their village next door which was an honour. We have found young children who we have befriended and taken lollies and treats to, met their families and held their newest babies.
It has been an honour to stay in Rakiraki Hotel and be able to mix with the locals so easily. So much so that on this visit to Fiji, we want to take some gifts to our new found friends by taking some Aussie books and treats to the school next door and to the familes that we have befriended.
The relaxation by the pool on Denarau can wait until we have made the trek back to Rakiraki on our return to Fiji next month.
And to the last reviewer of this delightful place, well done.....I agree with your endorsements wholeheartedly so just "Remember where you are and enjoy the moment".
PS......a warning to those now planning to go up there..........the easiest way to get to Rakiraki is up thru Lautoka on the western side of Viti Levu.........a much better road than the Kings Rd north of Suva. Believe me...........we have driven on them all.......in the wet and the dry!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Young J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.6 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
49.5 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
35.0 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Safari Island Lodge
Safari Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rakiraki
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
68.8 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Rakiraki
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Property: Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box 31, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Rakiraki
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing