We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bularangi Villa front of villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bularangi Villa front of villa and pool
Bularangi Villa view from the ocean Bularangi Villa kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Bularangi Villa front of villa and pool
Bularangi Villa view from the ocean
Bularangi Villa kitchen and dining area
Bularangi Villa Master bedroom
Bularangi Villa Bedroom 2
Bularangi Villa oceanside bure
Bularangi Villa front of villa
Bularangi Villa Living Room
Bularangi villa  view out across bure
Bularangi villa Bedroom 3
Bularangi villa front
Bularangi villa main living area
Bularangi Villa kitchen area
Bularangi villa ocean bure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rakiraki, Viti Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gebinnz
Thames, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed 6 nights at Bularangi Villa with our 3 boys, hoping for a peaceful, private retreat - which is exactly what we got! The villa is located in an area of Fiji a little off the beaten track but that's what we were after as opposed to the touristy areas of Denerau and The Coral Coast. The villa itself is fully equipped, comfortable and with a view to die for! The pool is great and everything is kept in top nick by caretaker Kamlesh and his sister Manju, who also cooks a mean curry! Kamlesh will happily guide you around the area and simply can't do enough to make your trip perfect. However, if you don't require his services he will just as happily leave you to your own devices. The wifi worked great and there was SKY so I didn't miss the all important Lions games! There is no white sand beach at Bularangi and it can get a bit blustery with the prevailing Easterly wind. However, you can snorkel straight out the front of the property at high tide and there are 2 resorts (Wananavu and Volivoli) nearby where the beach is nice (but small!). Volivoli do a lovu evening on a Thursday night with local dancers which is well worth a visit. This part of Fiji is what the locals call the "real Fiji" and that is what really attracted us in the first place. The town of Rakiraki nearby is bustling with a couple of reasonable supermarkets and an awesome fruit and veg market - a must! The best guage of any property and location is, would we go back? Absolutely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Awesome to hear that Glen - thanks for the review. Really glad you enjoyed your trip and got to see the Lions match too - very important for New Zealanders I know! Hope we get to welcome you back - best wishes to you, Jo and the boys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraan...
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd visit and always exceed expectation”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I recently completed our 3rd two week visit. We absolutely love this vacation! Fiji is a beautiful place but this home seals the deal! Not only is the home to die for but the attention to detail that the owners and caretakers offer is incredible! Ali helps you arrange everything prior to your visit so your time at the Villa is complete. Kamlesh and Manju complete your time once you arrive at the villa. We keep returning not only for the beautiful villa, incredible relaxation but for the great relationships we have developed over visits! If you need a place just to relax, enjoy Fiji and your time, Bularangi is your spot!!

Barbara
USA- TN (well worth the travel time)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Awesome to have you and Don back again Barbara - we love having you guys back at Bularangi!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiebrya...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Stunning Villa!”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The photos of Bularangi Villa don’t do it justice – it is absolutely gorgeous with spectacular uninterrupted views out to the bay. Thank you so much, Ali, for allowing us to stay. Right from the beginning it was easy with detailed information about the villa and all we needed to know about shopping and how to get there. Kamlesh (the caretaker) was so welcoming and the Lovu he and his wife made was incredible. Kamlesh put us in touch with a local fisherman we hired to take us out on his boat for a day of fishing, beaching and snorkelling – a highlight of the trip. What made it even more special was being able to share it with friends who travelled over from America. We went on a dive and snorkel trip at Wananavu and did crab races and visited Volivoli resort for a day. Volivoli was worth the extra trip as they are incredibly welcoming and their pool with a bar is worth trying. We hired a van for the week, which was worth it just for easy of getting around. Rakiraki markets were great, and we did the mudpools on our way to Bularangi – totally worth the detour. Recommend Bularangi to everyone, we had such an amazing time and were very sad to leave. Thanks Ali!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRSears
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Living Like A Rock Star”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

"On our trip to Fiji we wanted to feel like we were in Paradise. But as my 22 y/o put it. I Feel Like a Rock Star!! The residence has a beautiful view that goes on for miles/km right out your backdoor. Couldn't ask for more in that part. The inside house has lots of room to spread out. Same as the bathrooms, lots of space ;-) . Swimming pool gets lots of sun during the day and evening stars while laying out by the pool at night. You will feel like a Rock Star! Bring you fresh ground coffee. Only freeze dried in town."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views while hanging by the pool.
Liked least: Beach area was more coral reef, bring your water shoes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Glad you had such a great stay Jon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta66620...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The pivctures look great but when you get there the house layout is nuts. The kitchen takes pride of place in front of the main Windows.
The lounge is tucked away far from the view. The lounge suite would once have been gorgeous but seems to have what looks like black mould over much of it.
The stairs and the balcony area above the pool are a nightmare if you have toddlers.
The dishwasher doesn't work and if you use the oven with other appliances, in old terminology, you will keep blowing fuses.
The internet stopped working the day after we arrived and on checking this with the manager were told he would have to put more money on it.
Power goes off frequently. This is not the owners fault and they have a generator. But when the power goes off you have to leave the house and walk down a bit of a hill to start the generator. Great in the rain or at night. But wait, the generator has an auto start and could be easily started from the house if the owners had bothered to do this.
Did I mention that if the power goes off so does the water? Picture having a nice shower.....this happened to one of our party.
The day after we arrived I had had a shower and was sitting on the side of the bed getting dressed. The door firmly closed. With no knock it slowly started to open. I called out don't come in. The maid walks straight in even though I tell her to get out. She wanted the broom. She came about 4 metres into the room.
The bed in the main bedroom smelled. We washed all of the linen but this didn't seem to make a difference.
The third bathroom laundry area is used a a thoroughfare by the house staff. Don't be caught out there as they don't knock or call out before entering the house.
There are two fluffy bath mats in the bathroom off the main bedroom. One in front of the toilet. I loathe that and pushed it out of the way whilst we were there. On the morning of our departure the maid put both mats back making me wonder if they got washed between visitors.
After our return the owner accused a member of our party of damaging a mattress and wanted us to pay over $1200 to replace it. This was untrue. The correspondence between them and us is available and I would be pleased to provide it if you would like to see it before booking to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veiw
Liked least: Read my review
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
I am not going to respond to this review - there was clearly an issue with this guest and the review immediately prior to this review is for the people who stayed at the house immediately afterwards and they had a wonderful time. 1 terrible review and all our good reviews clearly speaks for itself that there was an issue with this guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiTrave...
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! Fabulous House in an Amazing Location!”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Bularangi Villa exceeded all expectations.The house is modern & spacious, pool gorgeous and view out of this world. Kamlesh (the caretaker) was fantastic: really helpful and totally reliable. He organised anything we wanted to do. We didn't hire a car but organised transport from Nadi and used local drivers when we occasionally went anywhere and this worked really well. Things we did: snorkelled out the front of the house, swam in the pool, hired a local fisherman to take us out snorkeling on the reef and visit secluded beaches (well worth the trip), visited a local school (fantastic experience) and village, shopped at RakiRaki market for fresh produce....mmmmmm paw paws, pineapples, mangoes and watermelons, went to RakiRaki carnival (an amazing evening out with a local family), went on a snorkeling trip with Wananavu Resort (worthwhile), cocktails at the resort & the list goes on. Thank you Ali for the advice about the meat (we bought from a superb butcher in Nadi) & recommending bringing our own wine. We brought quite a few food stuffs from NZ (like cereals, vegemite and snacks) with us which we were glad we did. In fact, all the information Ali emailed through to us was perfect and made everything very easy. We also brought bags of clothes for the local people which were very well received. Overall we found the Fijian people to be extremely friendly and kind and the experiences we had here we'll never forget. Staying at Bularangi allowed us to experience some of the real Fiji whilst at the same time enjoying some luxury. Don't let the effects of Cyclone Winston put you off, it didn't make any difference to our stay and it was nice to stay where we felt we could give a little back to the local people. We have no hesitation in recommending Bularangi Villa to anyone and we're very sad to be leaving tomorrow after 11 fantastic days here. Thank you so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
What an awesome review Julie and family - thank you so much. You really did experience the true Fiji at Bularangi Villa and it makes me proud to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to do it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven on earth.”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Bularangi is a fantastic place to stay . Wonderful in every way- layout, pool, views, friendly staff, etc, etc. We've had a fantastic holiday & booked to return 2017!! Totally recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thanks so much Kay - and look forward to seeing you all again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing