We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place bar none”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rakiraki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacDonalds Nananu Beach Cottages
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Title sums it up - best place bar none - fantastic hostess (Maxine), helpful staff, quiet, relaxing, rejuvenating, great value and be back next year - for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ropatedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for MacDonalds Nananu Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed here after a couple of days at Safari Lodge. What a difference! The bungalows are great, clean and close to the beach. The restaurant has limited choice, but good food. Every bungalow has a small kitchen, so you can save money preparing your own breakfast. Bring supplies from the mainland. We loved it here and would always come back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

MacDonalds is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are simple but have everything you need, food is fine. Do bring snacks and drinks, the rooms have kitchens and fridges. The people (locals and staff) are friendly and helpful. For a beachfront 2 brdm standalone bure it's hard to beat $130pn.

Oh and the beach is fabulous as well.

Take with you
- a torch
- mossie replant
- food and alchol
- sunscreen
- snorkelling kit if you don't want to hire

I went diving with Papoo Divers - Papoo is excellent with novice and experienced divers. I am an experienced diver and I didn't feel I was been "overly managed", he acted as a tour guide rather than a caretaker. My partner is a complete novice and he took her through a discover course and she was completely at ease.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiroWeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

This is a great little place to stay.The resort is very clean,well maintained,quiet,friendly.Really good snorkelling just out the front.a longer swim out to the white bouy will reveal a long reef teaming with fish.The meals are good at the cafe,but bring snacks like chips,biscuits,coffee,tea,milk etc,sa the shop is not cheap & you are on an island.$35 return boat trip in a speedboat from Ellington Wharf.I saw the infamous Warren from Safari lodge[say no more].Rakiraki Hotel is a good spot for an overnight stay.Morning pickup at wharf is at 8am,aftyernoon at 5pm.No TV,generator is turned off at 10pm,back on at 7am.Plenty of books to read in the cafe.A nice place to veg out & destress,bit quiet on your own.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mark3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Tallyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank robinwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.6 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
1.0 mi away
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
54.1 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
246 reviews
74.1 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
70.1 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDonalds Nananu Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonalds Nananu Beach Cottages

Address: Main Street | Nananu-i-ra Island, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rakiraki
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
MacDonalds Nananu Beach Cottages Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing