We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr Lewis Payne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mr Lewis Payne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place. Only let down the beach is poor. The staff are super friendly the food is amazing and they do everything to make your stay the best possible. Would I go back. In a heartbeat. The room was amazing. I loved my stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Greetings Mr Lewis Payne
Thank you for posting a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again if you return to this special part of the world.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    157
    111
    57
    73
See reviews for
132
210
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We got a Scoopon deal and stayed for eight nights in one of the upper level Ocean View Spa rooms. The view from our balcony was fantastic, looking out over the trees to the ocean and I loved having a pre-dinner drink out there and just taking in the view. We also overlooked the pool but the rooms are well insulated and noise wasn't a problem. The staff at the restaurant and pool area were great, very friendly and helpful, particularly Clive. The meals were not at the standard we are used to however, and we made a point to go down to First Landing Resort twice to enjoy some fantastic meals down there. One night the Anchorage staff organised a crab race and auctioned off 20 crabs to guests for the race. The prize money was split between the first three placements and it got all the guests talking to each other. The resort has a very friendly atmosphere which I think encourages guests to talk and interact with each other.
The main part of our room was nice and clean and the king size bed was very comfy. The bathroom was not clean with mould around the shower base and bathroom basins. The aircon was great, though the filters were filthy so we gave them a good rinse out in the spa bath (which is the only time we used the spa).
The resort pool was nice and clean and the deck chairs next to the pool, overlooking the ocean are great. The free WiFi in the restaurant reaches these chairs so it was nice to dabble on the internet while lying in the shade. They don't provide beach towels though so you would be best to bring your own. The trip to Beachcombers was fun and the snorkelling out there was pretty good. Lunch on the island was good too but if you didn't go snorkelling there wasn't much to do but sit in the shade and wait for the return trip. We did hire a car for a couple of days which allowed us to go out and explore a bit more as the hotel is along way from the road. Taxis are cheap though with $5 getting a couple down to First Landing for dinner. We rang a local car company and they delivered and picked up from the resort. The shuttle the hotel runs to Nadi and Lautoka were great too.
So it is a mixed review I give this resort. I think it does really well in being comfortable, friendly and providing great service. It does need management to ensure the rooms are more thoroughly cleaned and if they could improve the meals it could be great.

Room Tip: The ocean view spa rooms are great but there is a steep set of stairs to get to the upper level. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyKatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

With 30 other wedding crashers we arrived for our daughters elopment....extra staff where on board...for a week we where all very well looked after...yes the resort is a little run down & could be addressed with some investment by the owners...
The wedding its self was wonderful.......definety not for the "princess" bride...but as a super inexpensive "destination wedding" with lots of fun the anchorage has alot to offer..simple menu choice, venue hire (tastefully decorated as ws the wedding buru) hairdressers & makeup in your room...a band that didnt let up all night.. & staff that joined in with celebrations, laughing and singing made it a wonderful occassion..
Special mention to 'Carole' who relaxed the bride & groom ( & many others) with her great
massages during our stay...Buma,Mere& all the staff at the restarant & bar. Nothing was a prolbem to them. Wished they all worn name tags so i could mention them all. The cleaning staff where lovely polite people..(these ladies work so hard.management should consider upgrading the equipment they use to improve the standards around the resort...
Thank you to everyone at anchorage resort...your service..advise....taxi driving.reception was all wonderful .for anyone without theirs noses to higb in tbe sky...its a great place
Thank you
Baz n Toni Rolles

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaznTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Only stayed one night at the Anchorage Beach resort. We were upgraded from a mountain few room to our own private villa, which was lovely. Staff were friendly, and very helpful with picking up suitcases. It was raining heavily the entire time we were there, so one staff member offered to drive me from reception to the restaurant, which I appreciated as I would have gotten saturated otherwise. The internet was free and worked really well!

I found the main things that let the resort down a bit were the food and the beach (or complete lack thereof). Overall it was a perfect stay for one night before returning to Australia but I probably would not spend significantly longer at the hotel.

Room Tip: Could not fault the villa with own spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritatravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We (myself and two children - ages 7 and 11) arrived at Anchorage after three nights on Bounty Island.

Our room was nice and spacious. We sat and rested and had a bit of a snack in our room. A small piece of food was left on a bedside cabinet and was swarming with ants soon after. The air conditioning in our room did not work. I contacted reception to advise them of the problem and they promised someone would come and have a look. Half an hour later I had to call again. We were given another room which, thankfully, had functioning air conditioning.

The rooms are nice and clean although a check under the bed (for things kids leave behind) when we left indicated that perhaps they weren't moved too often for a clean!

There is a large pool although don't take any notice of the signs indicating depth. At one end of the pool the sign said 1.2m so I jumped in (I am 1.75m) and went straight to the bottom with water over my head. The signs are incorrect and there is only one part of the pool that is of a depth that makes it suitable for smaller children (there is a small paddling pool though). Please note however that the pool quickly becomes deep and in some parts must be around 2.5m deep.

The restaurant is nice enough but the food seems a bit overpriced. The kids' menu provides some good options. The kids' meals were large and would have been sufficient for me however the menu quite clearly states that the kids' menu is for up to 12 years only. It wasn't until our last day there that we discovered that the restaurant at Vuda Point Marina is far better priced and has a much better menu.

While we were there, Fiji was struck by heavy rain and there was flooding in some parts. Unfortunately, Anchorage does not have enough to do and we ended up watching some rubbish television and swimming in the pool while the rain tumbled down. We were scheduled to go on a trip to Beachcomber Island however this had to be postponed one day and then cancelled the next.

Breakfast was a simple affair - cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee. It was possible to order from a breakfast menu but the continental breakfast was certainly enough for us.

We ordered a room service meal one night. The person taking the order seemed annoyed that I would do such a thing and hung up before even acknowledging that she had heard my order correctly.

Wifi is only available in the restaurant.

Overall I can't complain about Anchorage but after two weeks of extremely friendly Fijian welcomes, the staff at Anchorage came across as though they were just doing a job.

Anchorage was good value - it was part of a flight and accommodation package - but I am not sure that I would recommend it over other hotels. It's location is somewhat of an issue and, even the kids felt the difference in atmosphere.

We didn't dislike it but, unfortunately, that's probably the best thing I can say about it.

Room Tip: Our room was a long walk (down a steep hill) from the restaurant which was quite hazardous, given th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Anchorage as a stop over for one night. Firstly they couldn't unlock the door, the key broke and we had to go to another room. Everything is very old and needs renovating badly. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Emily,
Thank you for posting your first ever review on Trip Advisor. Whilst it may have been a small inconvenience at the time, please rest assured that we do have full time maintenance staff that attend to problems as they arise.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were looking for a place to celebrate our wives 50th birthday and my brother-in-law mentioned Fiji as he had been thee eight years ago. After a two hour delay at Melb Airport we finally arrived at the Anchorage on Sat 4 Jan at 7:40 am. My initial disappointment with the reservation manager who thought it was best to talk on her mobile that answer out question, and the fact that she was reluctant to offer us adjoining rooms, were dispelled when we went for a walk around the resort to fill in time before check-in. Before anyone starts whingeing – This is not the Hilton or the Sheraton – but it is a reasonably priced resort if you want to relax and be away from the crowds. The resort surrounds are well kept and the pool is cleaned at 7.00 each morning because I said BULA to the guy cleaning it each day. Breakfast is basic, but there could have been offer to upgrade to a cooked breakfast? Room cleaning was basic but don’t ask for extra towels because you won’t get them. I tried to make an call through reception to a mobile number and was told they couldn’t do it – I felt that the management at the hotel was poor and always full of excuses why the couldn’t do things.
Enough of the negatives – on the positives we want to congratulate the staff in the restaurant, particularly the morning staff, and especially Mare and Clive for making our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much for them and they even organised a cake and a birthday serenade for the girls on the special night (8th). Thank you again Guys that was brilliant. The Bure was fantastic and relaxing , the staff friendly and inviting. The guys from Splash water sports were also friendly and helpful. Beachcomber Island was great, although our visit was covered in our package, and trips to Nadi and Latouka were an eye opener, via the free shuttle service from the resort – although you need to make your own way back. Just a tip, we hired a car from 2fast rentals which was cheap and drove down to the coral coast, very reasonable and a lot cheaper than alternatives. Fiji isn’t bad to drive in as long as you’re a cautious and you can have some great experiences. Overall we enjoyed our time in Fiji – but then again it’s what you make of it.
VINAKA

Room Tip: Ocean view room (second storey)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Peter,
Thanks for your review and we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have many staff here who continue to be commended by guests and they are our greatest asset.
We hope you return to the Anchorage in the future.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.1 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
35.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing