We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Only stayed one night at the Anchorage Beach resort. We were upgraded from a mountain few room to our own private villa, which was lovely. Staff were friendly, and very helpful with picking up suitcases. It was raining heavily the entire time we were there, so one staff member offered to drive me from reception to the restaurant, which I appreciated as I would have gotten saturated otherwise. The internet was free and worked really well!

I found the main things that let the resort down a bit were the food and the beach (or complete lack thereof). Overall it was a perfect stay for one night before returning to Australia but I probably would not spend significantly longer at the hotel.

Room Tip: Could not fault the villa with own spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritatravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    157
    111
    56
    71
See reviews for
132
207
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We (myself and two children - ages 7 and 11) arrived at Anchorage after three nights on Bounty Island.

Our room was nice and spacious. We sat and rested and had a bit of a snack in our room. A small piece of food was left on a bedside cabinet and was swarming with ants soon after. The air conditioning in our room did not work. I contacted reception to advise them of the problem and they promised someone would come and have a look. Half an hour later I had to call again. We were given another room which, thankfully, had functioning air conditioning.

The rooms are nice and clean although a check under the bed (for things kids leave behind) when we left indicated that perhaps they weren't moved too often for a clean!

There is a large pool although don't take any notice of the signs indicating depth. At one end of the pool the sign said 1.2m so I jumped in (I am 1.75m) and went straight to the bottom with water over my head. The signs are incorrect and there is only one part of the pool that is of a depth that makes it suitable for smaller children (there is a small paddling pool though). Please note however that the pool quickly becomes deep and in some parts must be around 2.5m deep.

The restaurant is nice enough but the food seems a bit overpriced. The kids' menu provides some good options. The kids' meals were large and would have been sufficient for me however the menu quite clearly states that the kids' menu is for up to 12 years only. It wasn't until our last day there that we discovered that the restaurant at Vuda Point Marina is far better priced and has a much better menu.

While we were there, Fiji was struck by heavy rain and there was flooding in some parts. Unfortunately, Anchorage does not have enough to do and we ended up watching some rubbish television and swimming in the pool while the rain tumbled down. We were scheduled to go on a trip to Beachcomber Island however this had to be postponed one day and then cancelled the next.

Breakfast was a simple affair - cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee. It was possible to order from a breakfast menu but the continental breakfast was certainly enough for us.

We ordered a room service meal one night. The person taking the order seemed annoyed that I would do such a thing and hung up before even acknowledging that she had heard my order correctly.

Wifi is only available in the restaurant.

Overall I can't complain about Anchorage but after two weeks of extremely friendly Fijian welcomes, the staff at Anchorage came across as though they were just doing a job.

Anchorage was good value - it was part of a flight and accommodation package - but I am not sure that I would recommend it over other hotels. It's location is somewhat of an issue and, even the kids felt the difference in atmosphere.

We didn't dislike it but, unfortunately, that's probably the best thing I can say about it.

Room Tip: Our room was a long walk (down a steep hill) from the restaurant which was quite hazardous, given th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Anchorage as a stop over for one night. Firstly they couldn't unlock the door, the key broke and we had to go to another room. Everything is very old and needs renovating badly. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Emily,
Thank you for posting your first ever review on Trip Advisor. Whilst it may have been a small inconvenience at the time, please rest assured that we do have full time maintenance staff that attend to problems as they arise.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were looking for a place to celebrate our wives 50th birthday and my brother-in-law mentioned Fiji as he had been thee eight years ago. After a two hour delay at Melb Airport we finally arrived at the Anchorage on Sat 4 Jan at 7:40 am. My initial disappointment with the reservation manager who thought it was best to talk on her mobile that answer out question, and the fact that she was reluctant to offer us adjoining rooms, were dispelled when we went for a walk around the resort to fill in time before check-in. Before anyone starts whingeing – This is not the Hilton or the Sheraton – but it is a reasonably priced resort if you want to relax and be away from the crowds. The resort surrounds are well kept and the pool is cleaned at 7.00 each morning because I said BULA to the guy cleaning it each day. Breakfast is basic, but there could have been offer to upgrade to a cooked breakfast? Room cleaning was basic but don’t ask for extra towels because you won’t get them. I tried to make an call through reception to a mobile number and was told they couldn’t do it – I felt that the management at the hotel was poor and always full of excuses why the couldn’t do things.
Enough of the negatives – on the positives we want to congratulate the staff in the restaurant, particularly the morning staff, and especially Mare and Clive for making our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much for them and they even organised a cake and a birthday serenade for the girls on the special night (8th). Thank you again Guys that was brilliant. The Bure was fantastic and relaxing , the staff friendly and inviting. The guys from Splash water sports were also friendly and helpful. Beachcomber Island was great, although our visit was covered in our package, and trips to Nadi and Latouka were an eye opener, via the free shuttle service from the resort – although you need to make your own way back. Just a tip, we hired a car from 2fast rentals which was cheap and drove down to the coral coast, very reasonable and a lot cheaper than alternatives. Fiji isn’t bad to drive in as long as you’re a cautious and you can have some great experiences. Overall we enjoyed our time in Fiji – but then again it’s what you make of it.
VINAKA

Room Tip: Ocean view room (second storey)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Peter,
Thanks for your review and we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have many staff here who continue to be commended by guests and they are our greatest asset.
We hope you return to the Anchorage in the future.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Husband died 21 -11-20011 A year later I needed to get away, so I ended up going to Anchorage Resort Fiji , what a top place it. Turn out to be, now here I am again 2013 running into 2014. & it's my Third Time I have been here at the Anchorage Beach Resort and I'll be coming back again at the end of this year. This is where I come to relax, and heal my body mind and soul.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.they can't do enough for you. Smiles all round. Conveniently located, great . Free transport to the shops , Nadi and Lautoka. Easy access to Beachcomber Island and Denaurau just a boat ride. Reasonably priced and a great bar, that I find at times difficult to leave . Entertainment every night. Eg Polynesian shows , fire dancers, band and serenaders and kava ceremony. Boutique for shopping , volleyball, massage bure and a great BIG swimming pool.
What more could you ask for? I Love it.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best but all the rooms have a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittycatpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Pam,
It was great having you staying with us again and we are very happy to hear that the Anchorage is your chosen place to relax. Everyone here looks forward to seeing you again at the end of this year.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked a 13 day trip to Anchorage during Christmas and New Year. My younger son got a terrible infection on both ears , runs high fever and we were seeking immediate medical assistance. After 1 hr of waiting and repetitive calls to the reception, they sent us a taxi to take us to the closest medical facility in the local village. There is no doctor available at this clinic and we're told to go to Latoka hospital. The hotel taxi ( The actual hotel transportation, not a separate hire) abandons us in the village to find our way to the hospital. They ask us to wait for another taxi( another 1/2 hour in the middle of the road waiting). My son is barely sitting on his feet so we ask locals to help us get to the hospital. At the hospital we were told that there is private medical care available so we hop on yet another taxi and make it to a clinic to see a doctor. On the way back we talk to the "owners representative" Aaron -----. We ask him how it is possible to abondon his guests when dealing with a medical emergency. Not only that he is not apologizing for this but he is very rude and accuses us that we were not clear what type of medical emergency it was! When we mentioned that is his responsibility to provide its guests with proper information and access to medical services in cases of emergency he was quite apathetic and rude. Considering that the hotels mission is to provide best customer service , I advise my fellow travellers to think twice before booking with this hotel. Aside from this incident, we found the facility expensive for the type of services provided. The food at the resort is below standards, therefore most of the guests go to the nearby Marina and First Landing restaurant. The location is very remote and you need to pay for a lot of taxi fares to get around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 26th December and till that moment we all were having a blast. Awesome customer service. Villas are well maintained with new 32' Flat Screen TV. The pool I think is cleaned every morning. A wide variety of delicious food available for full 3 course meals. Has a billiard table as well. Daily transfers to beachcomber island and port denarau. Free use of kayaks. NOT an ideal place for backpackers. Has a boutique with various types of souvenirs. A perfect place for relaxation.

Some of things that I didnt find well were
1. The room which I was in, Room 205, had no reception inside the room so I couldn't use my cellular device inside the room. I had to go outside to the balcony to receive signals. This was kinda disappointing for me personally as I need my phone working at all times. But with great service this guys have to offer, you dont need to use your cell phone so not a big issue.

2. Local beer I think was too overpriced. Might as well drink some Heineken with the same price but if your the money man than FIJI BITTER and FIJI GOLD is a must try when you're in Fiji. This is not a big issue as well.


Tip.
Evening activities are quite fun. Ask the staff when is the JOJO show. Also for any issues it's best to see the hotel manager Sam. Very nice guy.

I would give it a 5/5 but number 1 came in the way of that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zeefiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Zeefiji,
Thanks for your great review.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.1 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
35.7 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
31.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing