We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be if the sun is shining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to be if the sun is shining”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

For the price, $79.00 AUD per night, it's not a bad place, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The few day we spent there the weather was windy and overcast,you couldnt even sit around the pool, so unless it's a great sunny weather, not really the place to be. The staff in the restaurant and bar were excellent, all Fijians, all with friendly smiles and only too happy to help with any request. The food is very good and great value for money, have the Seafood Platter, at $44.00 FJ, it's great value and very tasty. The Fijian boys who sing at night in the restaurant are just brilliant, especially when they sing local songs, they just add that extra special something to dinner. The staff at reception are a whole different ball game, they are not very friendly and dont seem willing to be of assistance. In the information they give you on arrival, they offer shopping trips to Lautoka and Nadi at 10 & 11 am daily, they don't happen, when you go and ask you are told not enough people want to go, so we can arrange a hire car for you, or we can give you a lift to the highway (about 3km away) and you can find your own way there. If you do need a car and driver, ask for Babu from Babu's Cars, he is a character and will not rip you off, round trip to Nadi is about $70.00 FJ, he gets there when promised and if he can't get there makes alternate arrangements for you.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the bungalows, they are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    159
    116
    58
    76
See reviews for
136
216
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Anchorage Beach resort is situated on a steep hill so for all those, like my wife and I, who stay in rooms near the top of the hill it can be quite a drain walking up from the pool and bar area. Our room door did not lock and we had no safe to put our valuables in so we had to walk further up the hill to reception to use thier safe everytime we needed something. If you were one of the 'licky' ones to get a room by the pool, you also had the fortune of being woken up everytime the cane train went past which is sometimes as early as 6am (we could hear it from our room at the top of the hill). The air-con had only one setting, cold and hi powered, which actualy isn't so bad during the day however at night it is noisy so sleep was a little hard to come by. The TV didn't work, but I guess in Fiji it's good to get away from that and finally, there was only one light in the room, it was one of those energy saving bulbs that made it impossible to read under before you snooze. All that being said however, it is close to Lautoka and they did provide free transport one way and they are close to the Marina which has an awesome atmosphere and menu. The pool was paticularly cold so no one really made use of the swim up pool bar and I never saw it attended anyway. It was important for me to remember that I did not pay much at all to be there so I was getting value for my money. I'd feel sorry for any travellers who paid a lot to stay here so all in all if you come with an open mind then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon Tree Passage
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Room was very nice and restaurant was quite good
The service was very different from the other hotels we stayed at in Fiji
Not sure what was going on but some of the staff seemed like they would rather be somewhere else. The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the cane train directly underneath our window passing through 3 times a night. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left after 2. We would rather lose the money than spend another sleepless night. Also Beachcomber tour water smelt around the island. Coral tour was ordinary. If your Australian wait till you get home there is no comparision to the Barrier reef. We heading off there again in 5 weeks.

Room Tip: Ask are there any rooms away from the cane train line 100metres at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisyphsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a nice location. But the transport is soo hard. The hotel info sheet saying every 10am and 11am they'll take us to Lautoka and Nadi for free. But alas, on the day said they're not going unless 2 famlies are going. Alternatively they'll charge us $5 to drop us to queens road (The main road which is 2 min drive away or 30min walk) and we can catch our own taxi/bus. Luckily after half an hour waiting for their transport to arrive there's another family joining us, so we can be dropped to Nadi for free.
But the next day we have to vent our own transport to go to Lautoka as no body is going with us. We found a taxi while walking to Queens rd. It cost us $10 to go there, but on the way back the same driver ask for $15. Bus fee to Lautoka would only cost about $1/person. To Nadi $2/person.
There is a bus stop at the front of hotel gate (8min walk), but timetable is hard to get. The hotel doesn't provide us with this info. After asking locals, they said it arrives every hour in the morning. but there is a 2 hour gap after that. not sure when..
The 3rd day, the driver is kind enough to accompany me to wait for a bus on Queens road, and ensured that I was safe.

Indigineous Fijians are really great people. They're rather shy in taking tips. But they do need it. These people are only paid F$3-10 an hour or so. working 6 dys a week. So DO tip them as they are really genuinely friendly and caring. If they refuse, just take their hands and slip the money in, while you'r saying 'thank you'..repeatedly and smile..

Another surprise is that the internet price was not shown or disclosed.. but when I checked out I was billed for $29 for 85 min !!. It was SOO SLOW.. worse than dial up.
The one in the city is $2/hour and faster.. if u do bring a laptop, apparently wifi is free.

The wall and noise insulation is paper thin. we can hear the neighbour come home 1am and crying non stop (sounds like he's drunk). But the reception is kind enough to ask him to keep it down.

The best part is the nice people working in the restaurant. Joseph really won my son's heart. He still missed him. This hotel is really lucky to have such nice staffs. They are the biggest assets of this hotel. Without them, we don't experience the real fiji.

Lots of times we just leave the room unlocked (apparently cleaner doesn't have the key of this room, not sure why). But no valuables left in our room is missing.
Reception has their own safety deposit for u to put your passports in.. highly recommended, instead of using your room box.

Location is nice.. nice view. some hammocks. free kayaks. cute sugar cane train passing along slowly. good attraction for kids. cocktail price is not bad if u wait for happy hour 5pm $11. our room no.11 is the last room at 'beachfront/beachside' bungalow. our balcony is quite isolated, unlike other beachfront bungalow. Thus our spa is invisible to others, again unlike others.

We do recommend beach part room, instead of mountain view. Apparently as i heard not as nice. and too far away from pool and restaurant. Massage $50. and She's great!
again .. do Tip her..

Bring 'Stingose' as me and my son got stunk by a bee on the grass.
Breakfast is good continental , if ur not much of a meat eater in the morning.

If u could get a great package, I do recommend this hotel. As it gives good value. But u can't really go to Nadi everyday.
But again Nadi is not that interesting compare to Lautoka and Sigatoka.

I Do recommend the hotel manager to give as much info to get around . eg. bus timetable (local and private), free library about the marine life, Fiji cultures etc.. To make people learn about fiji and FEEL like they're in fiji. As we are quite isolated.
Thanks for the prompt service. We DO had a good holiday afterall..

Room Tip: No.1 to 4 to get beach access. Or no.11 for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Anchorage. Instant first impression was "oh dear, this might be a bit too isolated". Finding it hard to relax by the pool or beach all day long, we were looking for some other things to do. In no time, the friendly staff told us about other places to visit within walking distance or a short taxi ride. We walked to The Marina, The Village, First Landing Resort and found an awesum taxi driver who took us to the Sleeping Giant and Denaru Port another day. All in all we had the most awesome time.
Particular mention has to go to the beautiful friendly staff, especially Mariah, Lesse, Marci, Loki and Joe. We would definitely recommend this resort to others. Of special note, there was no drunken manager at the bar on any day or night (there might be new management) - Only downside, our spa didn't work and the room wasn't cleaned thoroughly throughout our stay; the bed was made, fresh towels and toiletries were supplied every day.

Room Tip: We advised in advance that our flight was arriving at 6am - our room was ready on arrival and we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Booked 2 rooms, good size good sea views but no beach, nice pool but thats all. Booked a day trip and when we returned both of our room safes had been robbed,you need a key and they are at the office! Surprise surprise! as soon as we went to the office our room phones were cut off, we had to go thrugh them, two days till the police came. The owners were on site but they more or less said we were making it all up. No help from police, they sided with the hotel and stood over us so we could not leave without paying our food and beverage account, we were treated like leppers for the next 3 days untill our week was up. Even the usually ever friendly smiley fijian staff just didn't want to know us, its like they all knew who it was after all you had to have a key and they were locked up when we left and locked when we arrived back, silly for putting CASH IN THE ROOM SAFE EH! Still love Fiji tho.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank reade1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Was very disappointed with the beachfront the resort had a poor beach, average service, the staff weren't very helpful and to top it off it had a below average breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolansonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
243 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,168 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#1 of 1 in Sonaisali Island
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing