We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know why!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I don't know why!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you break this place down to its separate parts you would say it can't work but we found this place a haven of peace. The views over the sea are excellent but don't look too closely inland.
The plumbing just works and the wet room looks ancient but it doesn't seem to matter. The bed was huge and immensely comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good although the continental breakfast is very limited. The staff are very friendly but after three days I, being a cantankerous 70 year old Englishman, responded to the ever present Fijian welcome with a warm good morning/afternoon/evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you book one of the yacht tours around the Islands - superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    303
    93
    29
    21
See reviews for
238
359
48
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just come back from a holiday in Nadi,Fiji and while we were there we just asked our great driver Savia to take us to a relaxed beer garden style of place for us just to chill out. Well what can we say he took us on an adventure out to the First Landing Beach Resort and Villas, we were very impressed by the layout, the ambience, the staff and especially the location,location,location.Our group was that impressed that we ended up staying for a magnificent evening meal that bordered on being nouvelle cuisine with realistic prices and wonderful food.

Would have no hesitation in recommending here even though it is a little bit off the beaten track but worth the effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

4 of us, (2 couples) spent 3 nights in a 2br garden Villa at First Landing & we all loved every minute.

The Villas are every bit as lovely as the Website pictures show, we were all blown away.

I was expecting our private pool to be more of a plunge pool size, but it was a decent back-yard size pool. The private garden was delightful. We all spent many hours by the pool, beer in hand, enjoying the various birds, & spotting new flowers & plants every time we looked.

The staff are all lovely, the food is great.

We caught the local bus to Lautoka, what great fun!

We organised our transfers to & from the resort with them, & found the service to be excellent.

It was a lovely end to our holiday & all 4 of us agree we could happily go back to First Landing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Let me tell you, this is my first and BEST solo holiday I have ever had. The Management and Staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation I had was perfect for me, not being too steady on my feet, the Villa I had was more than adequate. The food, Darren - you are a genius and I want to adopt you! Amanda, your tips about Fiji itself were a great help, getting to and from on the local buses, what a hoot! You will need reef shoes for the beach, true the sand is crushed shell and hard on your feet but not a problem.
I took a trip out on the boat Oolala for snorkelling and wonderful bbq lunch, also went to Church on Sunday to listen to the Choir (wonderful).

I enjoyed my stay at First Landing, I was not interested in staying at Denaru; I wanted a smaller Resort and this was perfect for me. The spa treatments were wonderful too, so ladies/men please pay them a visit, you will be delighted.

All Staff are wonderful, caring people and nothing was ever a problem. I plan to return around July/August and can’t wait to see you all again;

Much love and affection to all, especially Mua – Pau-pau1949 #207

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pau_pau1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have recently returned from our third holiday at First Landing. We again stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with private pool. The villas are fantastic for families and small groups alike - we were in one with extended family in another.

There has been plenty going on at the resort since we were there last at Easter. The property is looking great and it is nice to see the continued investment and to hear of the planned future work.

The resort was almost full to capacity during most of our stay and to be honest the restaurant struggled at times to keep up with the number of guests. The wait for meals was occasionally too long and unfortunately at times, the quality was not quite there. In saying that, we had some excellent and creative meals during our stay and particularly enjoyed celebrating my wife’s birthday in one of the dining bure’s that had been decorated for the occasion, while enjoying a fantastic meal with great company and being sereneded to by the staff.

Day trips for our first time to Fiji extended family to Lautoka, Nadi and Denarau where easily organised through the resort. Having their own jetty as well, makes boat trips a breeze. Our trip to Savala Island on Oolala Cruises was a great day out, excellent value and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

We were fortunate to be staying on Fiji Day again and really enjoyed the celebrations the resort organised for the guests and staff alike. The emotional and inclusive welcome, drama / plays, raising of the Fijian flag with singing of the national anthem, the amazing dance show, an excellent band, endless kava and beautiful lovo meal – it was certainly a highlight of our trip.

We have booked for the same time again next year and are very much looking forward to returning 'home' and seeing family and friends again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at First Landing and we will stay again. It is a fantastic and modest resort with fabulous food. The bures are comfortable and clean - we stayed in a beach front one the first time and a garden one the second. Both are lovely. The staff are helpful and friendly. The little boutique in the resort sells some very nice things to take home as gifts and the bar is a real centrepiece and a great gathering point.

Very peaceful. A nice swimming pool - very clean with lounges around it and beautifully kept grounds.

The resort is right next to Vuda Marina where you can get transport to the Islands.

Lovely stay, thankyou.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden are quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved going back to First Landing after our last visit 3 years ago. Its a wonderful resort with great staff. Felt very relaxed - great food and wines and nice to indulge in cocktails on a mini break!
We had a beach front bure - lovely to hear the water.
Also great to be away from cities & towns ... we were really glad to not be staying at Denaru (? sp ) - its very sanitized and homogenous - you could be in any city in the world & not getting a real feel for Fiji & its wonderful people.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
43.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,621 reviews
10.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#1 of 1 in Sonaisali Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lautoka
522 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Property: First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing