We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best resort in fiji” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best resort in fiji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

we have stayed at many 5 star resorts and many island resorts on fiji over the years but this resort beats them all hands down. traditional setting big beautiful rooms. the best food in fiji without doubt. marverlous is the only way to discribe th food service and location. Amanda the manager was the most profesional helpful manager i have met in all my years of world wide travelling. she is a huge asset to this resort and not only always available when you needed her but made sure she continually checked on all guests and ensured that our stay was not just great but fantastic. Darren the chef and his food demos were a big draw card for my son and he still talks about it . We just loved loved loved the food best in the whole pacfic and we have been everywhere. best resort to acess the other islands for day trips so easy not like leaving denaru which takes ages to get to any where. the resort orqanised everything and amanda was there to see us off , they organised drivers for us to take us latoka and nadi and tthe drivers drove us around and waited for us so easy and you know how much you are up for before you get in This resort is a hidden treasure but should be at the top of everyones stay and,visit and eat list . 10/10 would go back here tomorrow, we will only be staying here from now on great for romance kids and any one looking for a top resort and atmosphere with fantastic food.

Room Tip: all the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no1aussienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    287
    88
    26
    21
See reviews for
227
343
43
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
714 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

my wife and i stayed in a bure for 6 nights over new year, its a great location but the drive up to it is no so good because of the oil terminal , but you cannot see it from the resort. teh staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, its impossible to mention just one of them becuse they were all lovely. we did not think very much to the food. in thos 6 days there were 2 barbecues, the food was bland and disappointing.. we had one very tasty evening a la carte meal during our stay. i would love to revisit but teh meals would put me off

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed and got married here in September last year, we were really impressed by the genuine friendliness of the staff and management and enjoyed our time here. First off I'll get the negatives out of the way, starting with the beach. The beach isn't great and because it's tidal you cannot really swim in it, at low tide (which is most of the day) it resembles mud flats scattered with sharp bits of dead coral.
Next is the location which is quite isolated from everything else, apart from the marina next door you can't really walk out the door for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. This did not bother us as we enjoyed our time just relaxing at the resort but others may percieve this as a negative.
The resort is a little tired, what my wife and I found endearing & quaint, others used to 5 star accommodation may find slightly dishevelled. Little things like no shower curtain on the shower, mismatched chairs at the restaurant etc. You must remember that this is budget accommodation and if you want embroidery on your linen then you should book into one of the 5 star chains at Denerau - Personally I'd prefer this anyday.

Now for the positives, of which there are many. The staff have got to be this resorts best feature, these people are are friendly and genuine and make you feel special. Travelling throughout Fiji we've been to many resorts where you can just tell the staff aren't happy no matter how many forced smiles & "bula's" they may throw your way, this is not the case here, you can tell the staff are happy and proud of their work. I remember coming back to my room on one occasion to the sound of an beautiful voice singing which turned out to be house-keeping singing to herself as she made up our rooms. Also the band boys who we sat with a few times, (buy their cd!) who would continue to sing and play into the night after people had left the restaurant, with serving and bar staff coming over on their breaks to sit and sing with us, not because they had to, just because they simply felt like singing. Chatting and joking with the staff and hearing their stories was definately one of the highlights of our trip to Fiji.

The management is second to none with the manager Amanda running a tight ship and making her guests feel as though nothing is too much trouble. Unlike some other resorts (check my other review) she is very visable and approachable chatting with the guests, and although I didn't have any problems, I got the impression that if I did go to her with one, it would be sorted out immediately. This is a place where the customer actually DOES come first. She also walked with my wife for the bridal march to foot island and filmed the whole walk and ceremony on our iPad, Thanks again!

The entertainment was also top notch, with the band boys playing providing relaxing music in the outdoor sand floor restaurant every night and a show put on for friday & saturday night with fire dancers & hula girls. Also some other activities were organised for other nights such as crab racing, and kava ceremonies, which is a great way to socialise and meet fellow guests.

Food was great, with guests and locals alike dining at the restaurant. We also found the buffet breakfast to be more generous than the other places we stayed at, with many different types of fresh fruit, cereals, toast & spreads, juices & tea/coffee provided. I'd also reccommend trying the restaurant at the marina next door, which also provided some of the yummiest food we ate while in Fiji. Great band on sunday afternoons too!

The hotel grounds are well kept with lots of gardens scattered throughout the resort, an outdoor sand floor restaurant and a large inviting pool. Service was sometimes slow but we're not the types to dwell on little things like this - if there is noone attending the pool bar, walk 10 metres to the regular bar - its not hard.

We even did a daytrip to Treasure Island Resort and with the screaming kids, bad service, rude staff and exorbant prices we couldn't wait to get back to our little resort and relax.

The only sour note happened when we arrived back in Australia and were told that the marriage certificate we recieved on the day of the ceremony was only a temporary one and that we needed a printed one from the marriage registery office in Fiji in order for my wife to change the name on her licence etc. No cetificate was posted to us from the Fiji registery office and despite many emails back and forth to the resorts wedding co-ordinator Shalini and manager Amanda we are still no closer to getting this resolved and may have to 'get married' again at the registery office in sydney just so we have the right legal documents. As you can imagine this kind of defeats the purpose of us eloping to Fiji to get married in the first place..

All in all we had a great time staying at First Landing and will stay again next time we're in Fiji. Thanks to Amanda, Ismelie, Joe, Setta, Kimmi, Mere, Darren, Shalini and all the rest of the staff!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconut-Boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight while transitting from Matamanaoa to the airport at Nadi. Why our agent chose this place when there was an hotel opposite the entrance to the airport I'll never know!
After a drive through what I can only describe as an oil terminal and industrial estate we arrived at dusk and so it was hard to get an impression of the layout. After a "welcome" drink with our minder waiting for us, we were taken to our beachfront bure. The minder dropped the cases and without a word of explanation left us to it. "Where's the key"? asked my wife and after a little hunt, we found it already placed in a slot on the wall which powered up the air con.
The Bure had an enclosed porch with seating and after a quick hunt in the dark we found a light switch, but the light did not come on, so unless we fancied sitting in the dark, there was no use to be had of the space.
There was another odd feature about our bure. Between the bedroom and bathroom, there was a window which could be seen in the bathroom, revealing the back of the bedhead in the bedroom. There were also two windows in another bedroom wall with venetian style blinds over them, but the windows had been blacked out. These, we worked out, had to connect to the room next door! These kinds of quirky features suggest the owners do not want to invest in improving the room quality, but are happy to more "make do and mend". Big mistake to my mind.
The resort is undergoing some renovation elsewhere at present and the new restaurant in particular looks as if it will be a massive improvement on the current arrangement, which is where we go next.
We asked at the bar and were directed to the restaurant, which to our eyes appeared to be more like an old fashioned English Scout Hut. It seemed a very temporary building with wooden floors and walls, and folding screens at the windows. Those were soon closed to keep out a tropical deluge which made the whole place feel a little more "enclosed!"
And yet, miracles can happen even in such a doubtful environment. We ordered food and drinks and were blown away by the standard of service, and the quality of the food.
Our doubts though returned as we stumbled our way back to the bure. Not due to any excess intake of alcohol you understand, but by the serious lack of decent lighting along our way. It appeared that we were alone in one of three or four beachfront bures, and this made it darker than it might have been.
After settling down to what we hoped might be a peaceful night's sleep, we heard the sound of a bird singing. So close, it must have been in the room or outside, trapped on the enclosed terrace. We weren't able to find it, even though we looked! And then, to add to our sleeplessness, the branches of trees scraped along the roof all night, blown by a strong seasonal wind. While we had just experienced a week of being spoilt at Matamanoa, I don' think our review has made 1st Landing sound worse than it was. Take care with this one. Howvere, I think it's trying to up its game and if the staff are anything to go by, they'll do it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 274couldabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our fith trip to Fiji this place probably beats the 5 Star resorts we have stayed in....not for its frills and flashness but because the staff were super friendy, the meals fantastic and it was small enough to be peaceful but busy enough not to be boring...we had a beach bure and I can recommend Number 319 at the end - right by the water...so pretty and so relaxing!
We caught the local bus a couple of times to Lautoka and into Nadi - cheap! If the bus times dont suit from outside the resort someone would pick you up and take you to the main road ($5) where the buses run frequently.
The Marina next door was handy for the General Store as the Shop at the resort was expensive (sunscreen $55!). There is also another local shop not far up the road for soft drinks etc.
The beach was fine - I think I read a bad review before we left so was prepared for there not to be much of one -but there was nice white sand and the water was beautiul to swim in. In fact the whole place was above my expectations especially considering the Cyclone that did so much damage there just a few weeks before!
Would definatley return...in fact I wish we'd never had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had an amazing stay at a beach bure 2nd Jan for a 4 night stay.Staff are such lovely people..Food beautiful..Accomodation was perfect cant wait to go back. The views are stunning..Water sports or trips too do or relax by the pool or beach..Thank you for a perfect relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are a family of five (3 boys under 9) we have been to Fiji on various occasions. We decided to book this place as part of a tropical stayover enroute back from skiing in the USA. We knew it wasn't a five star experience but were working to a budget this holiday ....and this place just works! As soon as you arrive you realise you are in for a real Fijian experience. It is a bit like being on one of the outer islands (except you drive past a huge fuel depot to get there...don't fret though it does get better). The restaurant outside has sand floors, there are bures, vegetation is nice..you get the idea, simple with a friendly and authentic vibe. This combo makes you relax instantly. The staff were fabulous and other than one disappointment at check-in where we were shown to a pretty darn average room (#216) which was out the back of the resort (with no outlook to anything) everything was great. We questioned the room and were moved without any issue to an apartment (with washer/dryer a/c and kitchen) and that was terrific for us as a family. The customer does seem to come first here. Now onto the food. The food is great! Inexpensive and truly as good as anywhere. What a bonus! They have a new executive Chef Darren. We went on a cruise that not associated with the hotel and we were told local businessmen like the place for the atmosphere and food. Apparently the chef is the talk of the local town! On the downside a couple of basic improvements like new lounges in the lobby and more pillows on the bed would easily make this place feel a bit more luxurious. Also seems odd the pool service for drinks and food is so hit and miss. Generally I would say just don't expect five star but if you want amazing staff (slow but genuine, always helpful and truly amazing with kids), great food, decent accommodation a really good Fijian atmosphere and all at a reasonable price then stay here. It is a world away from the five stars hotels at Denaru but that is the whole point. From one family that is generally committed to the five star hotel chains wherever we go,,, we say give it a go! It prompted a lot of conversation from us to 'look outside of the box' as to what is on offer other than the chain hotels. We have been to hotels on Denaru and to the Jean Michel Cousteau Resort and Plantation Island previously. All enjoyable but we have never really been tempted back to any of them. However we would happily stopover to First Landing again next year due to its good value and the Fijian vibe. I think that says it all! On a final note make sure you walk around for a sunset drink at the restaurant at the marina (not the cafe). Bula Vinaka!

Room Tip: Choose any bure in the 300 series or a new apartment. Pool villas look worth it also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
5.2 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
36.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Property: First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing