We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Fijian ambience”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Fijian ambience”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Recently stayed at Daku with a friend who was attending one of the week-long courses they offer. I wasn't quite sure about the place at first but quickly realized what a gem it is. Gets ticks for all the right reasons - very relaxed and friendly, great location and reasonable price. The bure, while not luxurious, was clean and very comfortable and set in lovely tropical gardens overlooking Savusavu Bay. Each has its own patio to chill and enjoy the view from. The Fijian people are renowned for their friendliness and Keni, his family and staff live up to the reputation, giving the place a wonderful laid-back, cruisie atmosphere. They could not have been more helpful and organized various outing such as visiting a Fijian village and the local pearl farm, diving and snorkeling. Recommend doing it all. The town of Savusavu is a short $3F taxi ride from the resort and lots of fun to explore.
I was charmed by the place. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CairnsSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    163
    23
    16
    2
See reviews for
109
165
134
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Through my research, I could not find an inexpensive hotel in Savusavu. So when I came across Daku, I was excited. Our traveling group consisted of 5 of us, so we rented the 4 bedroom pool house at an incredible $700 and something USD for 7 nights! We had just come from spending 5 nights at The Octopus Resort on Waya Island, so we were very spoiled. Daku was the complete opposite of Octopus. At Octopus, there were many young , international travelers. At Daku, it was an older crowd mainly from Australia. It was way quieter there as well with a Christian vibe to it. We tried to be respectful when we partied by staying in our house and closing all the windows. Fortunately, there weren't any bures near us. The house was very large and clean but only had ceiling fans. It was very helpful having 2 bathrooms with 5 of us staying there. The mattresses were paper thin, however, and our backs suffered as a consequence. The grounds are well kept and the food was good though. We had a great time during "India Night". We appreciated that Kenae insisted on counting us as "family", but we really never felt like we fit in. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy. You could walk into town, but it is very hot and humid, so we took $3 FJD taxi rides everywhere. The rain forrest/copra factory trip was really nice. We tried to ride bicycles one day, but the bikes were in very bad condition as well as the roads. Kayaking was fun. Supposedly, there was good snorkelling out front, but when I tried it, the water was too cloudy because there was construction being done on the road. We could've got Kenae to arrange a snorkelling trip for us, but we just ran out of time and didn't get to it. We skipped the village visit because we did that already on Waya. I enjoyed the bats living in the trees all around, but I didn't like the gigantic wasps everywhere and the mosquitos. Basically, we all were wishing that we stayed 7 nights at Octopus and only 5 nights at Daku. It's not that Daku was a bad place, I just think that our personalities didn't match. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — The value, location, the food
  • Disliked — The mattresses, the wasps, primitive bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bombshelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Nice pool, good food (the also make lovo once a week). Bungalows OK but horrible (too soft) beds. Close to the town (3 F$ taxi). Extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Wow! The view form the Villa is supreme.
The staff are fantastic, a great Bula Family atmosphere.
Daku run a series of week long all inclusive courses. Have sourced great teachers, and mix the learning with plenty of outings so you not only attend but you get a real grass roots look at the island.
The town of Savusavu is 20 mins walk or taxis are $3 fijian.
Highly Recommended.

  • Liked — The View
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank singlestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I arrived with no expectations and left far too quickly, moved by the interesting people I'd met and the paradise I'd found. Daku gets under your skin in a way that leaves you yearning for more. More sunlit beaches, more palms swaying in the breeze, more jostling market days crowded with grinning locals. The Daku approach is laidback and thoughtful, privacy is respected and pressure is verboten. The bure are simple yet comfortable, the food is good, and the bar's always open when you need it. It rained most days I was there but the tranquillity, the overwhelming warmth of the staff and the magic that's Fiji made it a standout visit for this world-weary traveller.

  • Liked — Authentic, and thoughtfully put together
  • Disliked — The native bugs!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed at Daku as part of botanical art week long course. This place is not your 5 star luxury but if you want the real deal and authentic Fijian experience, then this is a great place to stay. On arrival we were greeted by Keni the manager, a local Fijian who lives there with his family, with a traditional kava ceremony and were immediately made to feel welcome and part of the "family".
The bures are basic but comfortable and I especially liked the private outoor shower looking up into the rainforest canopy. The resort is set in a beautiful tropical garden with lots of tropical flowers which proved to be good subject material for our painting course. The buffet style food was excellent and plenty of it - lots of fresh local produce, fish etc.
JJ, our host and owner of the resort was a charming man and fabulous raconteur who ate with us every night and kept us totally entertained. All the staff were super friendly and willing to help us with anything we needed.
I would love to go again for the friendliness,warmth, hospitality,and relaxation.

  • Liked — low key, friendly
  • Disliked — sheets a bit old
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarbFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Had a lovely relaxing time at Daku. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Use of Kayaks & snorkling gear was great. The sea, and a diving platform off the beach makes for great swimming.

JJ is a wonderful host who provides excellent conversation around the dinner table. Meals are excellent, and filling.

All in all a great place to stay. We'll be back.

Mike, Sally and girls.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank smecChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
3.8 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Property: Daku Resort
Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing