We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent 9 days around mid-December at Daku Resort. Overall, a treasured experience. Excellent location, just out of town. Felt much welcomed and comfortable with owners, JJ & Delia, and with the staff. Much appreciated the impromptu wedding ceremony & celebration put on for us. Service level: High & personal. The "quality" of the other guests added to our experience. Value: Given our income level, average (higher-cost season); sleep quality & room: Average (because we booked a lower-range room). We came for scuba-diving and didn't make use of any resort course offerings. We did follow suggestions for local tours (botanical garden & water fall) and enjoyed both. Daku will cater to vegetarians but I found the vegetarian options limited: Might have needed to request a broader range of veggie options at the time of booking. All-in-all: Would visit Daku Resort again.

Room Tip: Select rooms off the Daku Resort web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 710 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked Daku randomly from a small internet cafe on Taveuni Island and I am ridiculously grateful that we made that serendipitous booking.

While we only had one night - 24 hours total at Daku, we left feeling like we'd been there a week. Daku is an low key, vintage-style resort on a 100 year old coconut plantation near the seaside town of Savusavu on Fiji's second largest (and most beautiful island) Vanua Levu.

We stayed in an Ocean View Bure - the cheapest accommodation option and it was lovely. Bright and airy with a balcony to read our books on and look out at the ocean. The bathroom was huge and we were conveniently located right near the resort's large, aqua pool. Although swimming at the beach across the road was a highlight. The ocean around Vanua Levu is crystal clear and deliciously warm, perfect for snorkeling.

Daku is a simple, beautiful resort. The staff were incredibly friendly and we felt instantly at home. The ladies in the kitchen even prepared a stuffed chicken and veggies for us to take into the hot springs in town to cook in the scalding water - an activity we were recommended to do. While the springs themselves were a tad anti-climactical in terms of aesthetics, the chicken was yummy and only took 20 mins to cook! We taxied it back to the resort and the girls in the kitchen made a wonderful lunch out of it for us.

The menu at Daku was much like the resort itself. Simple, authentically Fijian with a local feel. Savusavu is quite a distance from the mainland or any large town, which means that much of the produce used in dishes is grown on the property and the seafood gathered from the local market. For us this was amazing as we're all about eating local.

Delia and JJ the British owners of Daku were always around to make sure that their guests had everything they needed. They were a mine of information on what to do around the island and were interesting, worldly and open people who we loved chatting with.

The pièce de résistance however was Daku's hilltop Yoga Shala. As a yoga instructor it was my dream spot to practice and my boyfriend's ideal spot to workout after our eight days of intrepid travel and filmmaking.

Vanua Levu is worth the travel time and Daku is the perfect spot to stay. You won't blow your budget and you'll leave feeling like you've experienced Fiji like it should be. This island's distance from the mainland means that it's not saturated with tourists or cheesy resorts and the beaches are truly spectacular.

We loved our time at Daku so much and our hosts Delia and JJ that we're hosting a wellness retreat there in November 2014. I can't wait to get back there, explore a lot more and do some scuba diving!

Room Tip: The Ocean View Bure was perfect for me and my boyfriend. It had a queen bed and also a single bed wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crobbieyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family all had a wonderful break with our hosts J.J. and Delia at Daku Resort.

The resort is a 20 minute walk from the town of Savusavu (for mildly reluctant 6- and 8- year olds) and is roughly a semicircle of land with the diameter along the seashore, and stretching into the hills behind. The center of the small resort is the dining building and pool, with accommodation arranged in huts facing the sea.

The staff are very friendly and eager to help with any difficulty or request, and are almost all part of one extended family that lives on site, over a stream slightly further away from the sea than the guest accommodation.

We were lucky on our stay to experience a Fijian / Canadian wedding; to meet some wonderful guests from Canada and the US at Christmas day lunch; to go on private snorkeling boat excursions; and to travel deep into the back woods of the island to sit with a real Fijian village trying to start an eco-tourism business.

That said there were issues, but I know the owners are addressing this now. However, my family's holiday experience had a reality to it which you would not get at one of the (stunning) 5 star resorts close by; never mind the identikit resorts on Denarau.

The resort has great development plans for the new year and I hope that they thrive!

Room Tip: If you had a blissful time on a backpacking year out, but now have a family, this resort will deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Felt welcomed by the wonderful hosts and staff. The food was delicious and the scenery was truly magical. It was the perfect setting to share zen and connect compassionately. My stay at Daku was amazing and I would repeat every day of it. It's a nice walk away from town, but I had no problems making the 20min walk along the shore everyday. If you're looking for a laid back and calm paradise steps from the ocean, this is your low-key wild destination.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reenyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I just spent 10 days at Xmas at Daku with my teenage children so we could dive at the cousteau resort. JJ and his wife Delia were wonderful host and their staff very friendly and helpful.
We had a wonderful time and due to dining at a communal table were part of two weddings and a funeral.
The burrs were cleaned every day and were spacious and peaceful. We either ate at the resort or sampled the restaurants in town a $4 taxi ride away.
JJ and Delia and their staff made us feel like part of a larger community and we enjoyed the staff's singing in the evenings as a Xmas bonus. Santa Clause came too ( in shorts) with gifts for all the guests

Room Tip: we had a garden room bure and it was very quiet with water glimpses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent three amazing weeks at Daku Resort in August . Delia and JJ are wonderful hosts and I'd like to take this opportunity to wish them and their brilliant staff a Very Happy New Year for 2014 . They all made my holiday there a very special time for me and I can't thank them enough .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Savusavu is definitely for those who want to experience Fiji and step back in time, shop with locals. Daku resort is close to town, so shopping,eating at local restaurants such as the "surf & turf", "Copra shed" are great. Have a drink at the Plantation Club where the view is amazing and the beers and wine are very cheap. You can organise snorkelling or just relax sitting around the resort. Your host and hostess are super friendly and the meals at the resort are fresh and prepared with love. The accommodation is basic but overall clean they have air conditioning. It is basic and therefore be prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Savasi Island Resort
Savasi Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: $100 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. Offering all the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing