We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond my Expectations”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Korovesi

Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
View across the indoor and outdoor dining areas The main level of Korovesi taken from the bay side of the infinity pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
View across the indoor and outdoor dining areas
The main level of Korovesi taken from the bay side of the infinity pool
Korovesi from the East
Korovesi from the water, main level and then 2*2 sets of bures on lower level
A view from one of the bures on the lower level
A view of the pool and outdoor dining area
A view across the indoor and outdoor dining area
A view of the main bedroom
A view of the main en-suite
A view of indoor dining area/kitchen
The lounge
Wahoo.com
Shy Guy beach (15mins by boat)
Shy guy beach, 15mins by boat.
The Korovesi vege patch at the rear of the garden (ride the flying fox across it!)
The Korovesi skiff (available for rent) at Shy Guy beach (15mins by boat)
The korovesi 'footy' and volleyball field
The Korovesi trampoline
The Korovesi swing (if the 'flying fox' did not scare you enough)
Bula!
cheers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaM111...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond my Expectations”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When eight women decide to take a "big" vacation and land on a location halfway across the world, let's just say expectations are HIGH and as varied as the women themselves. I feel very confident in saying that all eight of us were blown away by the beauty of the property and that every effort was made to make sure each of us had an amazing experience. The food was delicious and they were more than willing to accommodate the one that doesn't eat fish, the one that is primarily vegetarian, and the one who doesn't like spicy... at every meal. The presentation of the food was also delightful - I took almost as many pictures of the food as the scenery. The rooms were very clean, simply appointed and very comfortable. The staff was beyond gracious and arranged for everything from wine runs (nice wine store in town!) to chocolate cravings to ceremonial dinners steeped in local tradition to snorkeling expeditions. Absolutely a unforgettable experience and one that will be hard to top. I highly and unequivocally recommend this property and this location.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff - they are amazing and so accomodating!
Liked least: If Fiji was closer to the US! I would go every year.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Aus...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW, Awesome, Amazing, we have found Utopia.”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, our 2 teenage sons and 6 amazing friends have just had the most incredible holiday experience imaginable. I selected Korovesi Villa as the place to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. I was hoping everyone would relax, enjoy themselves and have a great time.

WOW, one could not relax anymore, enjoy themselves or have a better time if they tried.

Mahesh was at the airport to greet us. We stopped at Sally's wine bar to purchase some local beers and wines to go with our Australian Bundaberg Rum and other spirits before continuing on to Korovesi Villa. What we were greeted with on arrival was surreal.

Monica and all the staff were there to greet us. Wonderful music was playing, decorations were everywhere and to top it off, a real coconut drink, still in the coconut. We were given a tour of the property while our bags were taken to our rooms.

Very quickly, it became obvious that this was going to be a very special week and one that we will all remember well into the future.

The property is fantastic. The accommodation is incredible. The food is amazing. The views are inspiring and Mahesh, Monique and their staff (extended family I think) are incredibly amazing and inspirational. It is very noticeable that they all love what they do.

We were made to feel a part of Korovesi Villa. We were treated better than any Royal Family. We actually attempted several times to clear the table after a meal and even tried to wash the dishes, but we were always politely told to stop and relax.

The girls and 1 son had massages, thankyou Valerie. Monica decorated hands and feet in Hanna art, thankyou. Jack took us fishing, snorkelling and sightseeing, thankyou. Tia fussed over us and ensured our rooms were spotless, thankyou, and Sun worked around the yard and presided over the lovo, thankyou. Jack and Sun also looked after the Kava ceremony, thankyou. Also, thankyou to the people who were undergoing training.

We used the boat every day, fishing, snorkelling, a visit to Shy Guy Island included swimming and exploring the coral and marine life. We also visited a small village and their waterfall. The weather for our holiday was fantastic. We used the boat as our main transport and only used a car or bus to go in and out of Savusavu.

My wife will never forget her birthday and how she was made to feel like a Queen. The decorations that were created from palm fronds, flowers and various pieces of cloth were truly beautiful. The atmosphere that was created was special. But what made the night was that I convinced Mahesh and all the staff to join in and be a part of the celebration.

We were treated to a Lovo feast, Kava ceremony and music. Monica even baked a birthday cake that was to die for.

The glow of happiness and excitement that I saw in my wife's face when we arrived and during her birthday celebrations is something I will cherish forever. The fun we had on the zip line (flying fox) is another great memory.

I could talk Korovesi Villa up forever but one needs a special finishing touch. That special touch is Mahesh, Monica their 2 children, the staff and who can forget the dog called Sugar.

Gavin was also excellent to deal with when I was organising the trip.

All I can say now is, book a holiday at Korovesi Villa, you won't be disappointed. There is a reason that people only post positive comments. You need to experience it for yourself.

To everyone at Korovesi Villa, thankyou for welcoming us into your lives and home, and for the very special memories that Gail, I our sons and friends have experienced and taken with us.

We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. To pick one thing would be the staff
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhiguera
Napa, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise! Looking for a family vacation, a girls only trip, or a multi-generational holiday, look no further!”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My friends and I had such an amazing time at Korovesi Villa...Mahesh, Monica and the entire staff made our stay unforgettable in so many ways. Their generosity, flexibility and willingness to see to our every whim will be hard to match on future vacations. The villa is incredibly beautiful, with an attention to every detail. The owner and their architect are to be commended on a true masterpiece!

Being in Savusavu for Fiji Independence day was fantastic! The lovo dinner and kava ceremony were highlighted by a dance party with almost everyone taking a turn.

We were excited to visit the local village and waterfall. Although it was raining and a bit chilly, all eight of us took a swim! Mahesh was waiting with towels for everyone and Monica pointed out all the plants along the path.

My friends were very generous in bringing clothes and school supplies for the village, so much so that we decided to spread the wealth by separating the school supplies into bags for Mahesh and Monica's children's classrooms. We also had a bag for the future kindergarten class. Everyone loved delivering the gifts personally to the teachers and kids. The Headmaster greeted us and invited us to his office where we had the opportunity to ask questions and learn more about education in Fiji. Once again, another incredibly memorable moment for each of us.

We visited a hindu temple, snorkeled at Split Rock and another spot near Cousteau, both of which were amazing! Jack, our fantastic boat captain, was always ready to take us out and helped us in and out of the boat. We kayaked almost everyday and had a terrific time seeing the fishermen and exploring the coastline near the town of Savusavu. Being able to request a massage after a day on the water was heaven. Valerie is a magnificent masseuse!

Although each of my friends loves to cook, it was such a delight to leave the kitchen to Monica and her staff! Breakfast, lunch, and dinner…wow!!! On our last night we had an entirely vegetarian meal and I told Monica she should prepare this on the second night of a guest’s stay, as it was easily our favorite meal!! We quickly went through the wine we brought from home and were pleasantly surprised to find Sally’s extensive selection of wines. After our first visit I renamed Sally’s, it is now affectionately known as, “Sally’s Wine Bar”!

Words cannot express our appreciation and gratitude for the kindness shown to us by Mahesh, Monica and the entire staff!

If you are looking for a family vacation, a girls only trip, or a multi-generational holiday, look no further. You have arrived at paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the home, the friendly staff, and the food!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombi
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our own little private resort in paradise”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Although our bodies have been home for over a week, we have definitely left a little of our hearts and souls behind at Korovesi Villa. Our family of 5 loved every minute of our time at this spectacular private resort style villa and that says a lot, as there were quite a few rainy days, but not a bored moment.

On arrival, we were greeted by our friendly hosts, Monica and Mahesh and their lovely team, who made our luggage disappear just as quick as they made our welcome drinks appear. We were struck by how beautiful the view, location and design of the villa was and couldn’t wait to jump into the crystal clear pool, overlooking the bay.

During our stay, we were spoilt with delicious cocktails and what turned out to be one of the highlights of our entire Fiji trip, Monica and Mahesh’s cooking. We have been taking our family holidays mainly in Central America and Mexico, renting houses and this was the first time we had such gourmet food in a holiday home. The curries and roti we were served are on par with top restaurants around the world and far better than anything we tasted at the resort we stayed at in Denerau. Monica is also an experienced pastry chef, so dessert was always fantastic. We were served plenty of local fish, salads, vegetables and baked treats, but two of the stand out dishes at Korovesi, which we requested to have again for our final lunch and dinner, was the homemade pizzas (better than any pizzeria we´ve ever eaten at!) and Monica and Mahesh’ team effort of lamb shanks and pork cooked in the pizza oven. Another highlight was the traditional Lovu, which was interesting to see being prepared and delicious to eat. We could stay there for a month and not get tired of the food!

The rooms were spacious and stylish and after a day on the boat with Jack, who is a responsible and capable skipper, snorkelling and fishing, there was nothing better than a hot shower under the big rainforest shower head, before heading up for a cocktail and dinner.

The children loved the flying fox, trampoline and the huge sport field where they could run free while we relaxed at favourite spot, the outdoor, covered dining area, which has beautiful views over the bay. Our family´s favourite excursion was to Shy Guy beach, where Captain Jack set up an ingenious shade made from driftwood and a tarpaulin and cooked a sausage sizzle for lunch. The water at Shy Guy was shallow, so even the little ones could wade around safely and the more adventurous waded out to deeper water for a swim.

Korovesi is a beautiful, luxurious, well-designed house, with wonderful staff. We learned so much about Fiji and it´s people and customs from little chats with team members and loved special touches such as offerings (sweets) Monica brought from the temple for us to try, the beautiful table settings, even using a gorgeous red sari one night, their helpful and friendly attitudes won our hearts.

The only downside would be the travel distance, as it is an hour flight in a light aircraft flight from Nadi and then a short drive to the house, but we found it well worth the extra effort.

We are already planning our next trip to Korevsi and can´t wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The weather was not too kind to us the last few days, but we still enjoyed ourselves.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayTi...
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Living the Dream in Savusavu”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Bula to everyone reading this review.

If you are looking to stay here do yourself a favour and book in now! Korovesi is, to use my favourite word, awesome.

From the time we landed at Savusavu airport (via the scenic 19 seater airplane from Nadi) we were greeted by the outstanding Mahesh and treated to a holiday of a lifetime. The welcoming music, flowers and coconut drinks on arrival at the luxury tropical estate only hinted and the truly memorable time we were to experience.

The location is breathtaking and the photos need to be lived to be believed. We all loved our stunning accommodation which was hard to leave.

The food was delicious and totally exceeded expectations. I am recalling Monica’s incredible hospitality as I write this review.

Savusavu is amazing! A true gem of Fiji. We took the opportunity to experience the region (make sure you hire a boat whilst there) and we loved snorkelling, fishing, expeditions to a stunning waterfall and Shy Guy Island and seeing dolphins and colourful fish.

Make sure you also treat yourself to a relaxing and serene massage in your own private bure. Bliss.

Most importantly we loved the truly legendary team at Korovesi. They were our Fiji family and made us feel welcome all the time.

Vinaka vakalevu.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandella...
Barcaldine, Australia
1 review
“Korovesi - Postcard Perfect!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we set foot on the beautifully landscaped 8 acres of paradise, we were overwhelmed by the Fijian hospitality, and the immense beauty Korovesi and surrounds had to offer.

Mahesh, Monica, and the staff of Korovesi ensured our stay was one of complete relaxation, from the picture perfect panoramic views of the bay, the incredible comfort and position of the accommodation, to the gourmet culinary delights influenced by local customs, and traditions.

The fishing, overseen by 'Captain Jack' as we affectionately named him was outstanding, with Spanish Mackeral, Blue and Yellowfin Tuna and the odd Sail fish all for the taking. The snorkelling and canoeing to experience the marine life and coral reefs on offer is in line with the best in the world.

The day trips to Shy Guy Beach, and the waterfalls will forever be remembered as highlights in our wonderful holiday.

The privacy Korevesi offers for a large group, without the 'pretentiousness' of a resort style holiday allowed our children to run wild without offending anyone.

As the day ended, and we sat on the expensive deck, beside our private infinity pool, overlooking the majestic bay and the mountainous backdrop, we reflected on the day just passed, excited that we could do it again tomorrow.

Be aware, it is not beachfront accommodation. Korovesi sits high on a hill, and as a result there are a lot of steps! We loved them, as it justified our overindulgence in the finer things in life, and the breathtaking views more than accommodate for it.

We cannot wait to return to this magical place, that is Korovesi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation, Staff Friendliness, Fishing, Snorkelling, Panoramic Views
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamGrebe
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow. Not a white sand beachfront place but absolutely amazing views, house, pool, staff (more like host) and food”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is your perfect private resort. Yes, be aware it's not your roll out of bed and hit the idyllic white sand beach kind of place. But it is in a lovely corner of Fiji and a great retreat location.
But by far the standout feature are mahesh and Monica who are the on site managers. Their family and staff give such personal attentive service from before dawn (fishing trips and coffee) to after dusk (cocktail mixing etc) you feel utterly spoiled. The food is the most amazing Indian Fijian you'll probably find in Fiji and tops the top hotels in Fiji.
Totally recommended. The boat hire is a must though.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing