We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING! FANTASTIC FAMILY HOLIDAY LOCATION”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Korovesi

Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
View across the indoor and outdoor dining areas The main level of Korovesi taken from the bay side of the infinity pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Search Korovesi 2017 to see our latest video
View across the indoor and outdoor dining areas
The main level of Korovesi taken from the bay side of the infinity pool
Korovesi from the East
Korovesi from the water, main level and then 2*2 sets of bures on lower level
A view from one of the bures on the lower level
A view of the pool and outdoor dining area
A view across the indoor and outdoor dining area
A view of the main bedroom
A view of the main en-suite
A view of indoor dining area/kitchen
The lounge
Wahoo.com
Shy Guy beach (15mins by boat)
Shy guy beach, 15mins by boat.
The Korovesi vege patch at the rear of the garden (ride the flying fox across it!)
The Korovesi skiff (available for rent) at Shy Guy beach (15mins by boat)
The korovesi 'footy' and volleyball field
The Korovesi trampoline
The Korovesi swing (if the 'flying fox' did not scare you enough)
Bula!
cheers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
31kiwi
London
2 reviews
“AMAZING! FANTASTIC FAMILY HOLIDAY LOCATION”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday after a brilliant 9 days at Korovesi. We were a family of 14 (2 Grandparents, 6 parents, and 6 boys (5 yrs – 3months). Mahesh, Monica and their team looked after us so well. The meals were delicious, with the produce sourced from the garden or locally. The meals for the kids were devoured in seconds after busy days boating and playing in the pool. We had a Gluten Free requirement which was also catered for without a problem. Our kids ate early and we ate a bit later, what we so appreciated was that our boys were looked after whilst we ate dinner together as a family – a rare experience for us with so many little ones.

Definitely hire the boat. We caught a massive Giant Trevally, such fun and back by 8am for a beautiful cooked breakfast. The snorkelling and a trip to Shy Guy a hit. Amazing special spots – truly made you feel like you were in the islands.

There is plenty to do – for both the young and old. The house is very well designed and easily coped with a large family group.
It is such a beautiful spot to holiday. We would all love to go back.

Booking direct with Gavin the owner made arranging the holiday all very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The noisy roosters and dogs at 5am
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interleaf...
Mesa AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is gorgeous, villa beautiful and service and food amazing”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Savusavu takes a bit of getting to from Arizona, but it is certainly worth it if you are staying at Gavin's Villa Korovesi. The first thing that strikes you is how wonderful the staff are. Mahesh and his team looked after our every need without being obtrusive. They went beyond the call of duty in so many ways to make our stay as much fun as possible. The food by Monica was very varied, top quality and always delicious. The views from the villa are heavenly. We were a bit unlucky with the weather as the wind was strong, preventing us from venturing outside the bay. However we all had a superb time and did not want to leave. Fishing, hiking, cycling, shopping or just relaxing in a hammock or in the pool; we all agreed it was the best vacation we had ever had. Highly recommended, especially for groups of 6 to 12 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The service from the manager and his extended family & friends
Liked least: Unusually windy so some water activities had to be curtailed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarr0d70
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So happy to have visited this wonderful place”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 had a fantastic time at Korovesi and not just because we got to catch up with friends we hadn't seen in quite a while. Our eldest daughter cried when we left and both daughters wanted to stay (rather than go home). What an amazing place in such a beautiful country!

Our trip was made particularly special by the cooking of Mahesh, Monica and their team. We loved everything they cooked and their attitude, and all the staff in fact, could not have been better. They were so helpful and made us feel welcome in many ways. We had a group cooking class with Monica and we all did a trip together to the Blue Lagoon one day with everyone getting along famously. I also enjoyed my fishing expeditions guided expertly by Captain Jack (Sparrow), whose expertise in steering the boat through rough conditions whilst landing our catches was truly impressive.

The facilities were first-class. Very luxurious, totally relaxing but also lots to do for the kids. The views were incredible and our visits to the nearby town market, shops and villages were great fun.

Our only negative experience was the trouble we had getting there and home using Fiji Airways. In retrospect our flights could have been planned better to avoid trouble, and sometimes travel delays are just something you can't avoid. Nonetheless, it is a remote destination and thought should be put into your travel arrangements to maximise your chances of arriving on time.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and the friendly staff
Liked least: Difficulties getting there by plane (Fiji Airways)
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeso3...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gavin's Korovesi Villa, the top spot in Fiji for an extended family wanting the works.”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family group of 9 adults, (7 young and 2 not so young) who holidays together for a week every year or two. This year we chose Gavin's Korovesi Villa in Savusavu because we wanted to try Fiji, spend a lot of time swimming and fishing, and we wanted full board. This 5 bedroom villa overlooking the bay, complete with manager, chef and a boat with driver offered all of this. Organising this could be expected to require military precision.
Booking was made simpler as we dealt directly with Gavin, the Australian owner, and payment was in AUD into an Australian bank, reducing fees. This process was smooth and although we have not met, I feel Gavin has now become a friend. We found that a fully catered villa was cheaper and offered much better privacy and autonomy than taking out 5 rooms in a resort. Jean Michel Custeau resort was nearby, we visited, were impressed, but were very pleased with our choice.
We were met at the airport by Mahesh, the manager extraordinaire who ensured that the whole 9 days we spent under his care were exactly as we wished. Nothing was too difficult, everything happened as we hoped and there were absolutely no surprises.
The meals were all prepared by his wife Monica and their team. Every meal was fantastic, over abundant, varied, fresh and delicious. This was even more impressive because one of our family is severely gluten intolerant and another has a severe nut and sesame allergy. These were catered for well and although the main cuisine was Indian, the team had done their homework well and we guests hardly noticed the variations made necessary by our quirks.
The facilities were spotless and well kept. As the parents, we got the master suite upstairs complete with huge bath and outdoor shower. The kids (ages 22 to 29) had four great rooms downstairs. Two couples had queen bed, and the others had bunks. It would be better if the bunks could be put together for couples, as we were four couples and a single. The pool and living areas were a delight. Games, including table tennis were provided. Bikes (including a tandem) and kayaks were also there for our use.
We took up the option of including the boat with driver. This was certainly another highlight. I strongly recommend this option. We went fishing most mornings from 6 to 8, back for breakfast. Gavin provides three heavy-duty rods for trolling and smaller rods for bottom fishing. No need to bring your own. We caught 4 tuna and a 1.5 metre shark on the first morning; 2 tuna, another shark (2 metres) and a skipjack on the second, and a 1.5 metre Wahoo on the third. We had stacks of fresh fish throughout our stay.
These were prepared as Kokoda (pronounced Kokoda), grills, roast in a pizza oven, roast in a weber, and in a lovo pit. We also had roast lamb (?goat), chicken, pizzas, a Chinese night and a seemingly constant supply of food.
We brought in a significant number of bottles of duty free spirits, so that there was a bottomless cocktail jug. Local spirits are expensive ($AUD100), wine is $25-45. Local beer is good and similar to Australian prices. We drank Fiji Gold bought at the local "grog shop".
Apart from fishing, excursions by boat included two trips snorkelling off a small sand island (good gear was provided), where we swam with friendly reef sharks, a trip to a waterfall in which we swam, and a day trip with the Custeau team to Namena Island where we snorkelled and scuba dived. The kids visited the Yacht club for a drink one afternoon, but enjoyed the local tavern over the road better.
Although it rained for a few days, we had plenty to do, and rescheduled the scuba trip from the worst day. Although we tend to go to different places each year, this is one place we would like to return to. Vinaka vakalevu to Mahesh and Monica and the team. A truly memorable and hassle free holiday. You can be proud of your work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total care without hassles
Liked least: Bunk beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasFi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place for friends, families and foodies”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently spent 10 days in Korovesi Villa with three families of 4 (kids aged 3 to 7). Reunion of old friends who had pretty much not met since before we all had kids. We could not have imagined a better setting.
More than just a holiday rental it is like having your own mini resort since it is entirely catered for to the minute detail. And having travelled quite a bit in Fiji we are yet to see a place that matches it in terms of luxury and comfort.
Korovesi villa is a truly stunning luxury villa which you can imagine on the front page of one of those fancy travel magazines like travel and leisure. The setting, from the outdoor covered dining area, the infinity pool, the huge living room opening entirely to stunning views, etc, is perfectly designed and a gem.
For kids, there is a huge (safe) trampoline, a giant tire swing, a flying fox/ zipline, table tennis, and more space and land than they would know what to do with.
But what makes the real difference is the staff/caretakers of the villa. Mahesh and Monica are incredible and so is the rest of the staff. Within minutes of being up in the morning and while you are still pinching yourself at the amazing views, you will have your tea, coffee, juice ready just the way you like it and without remembering ever telling them. Each meal is absolutely amazing and made from fresh ingredients either from the garden or all locally grown and raised. Having lived in Fiji for nearly a year we have been overall extremely disappointed by the food. No matter which hotel or resort or restaurant you go to in Fiji the food is at best mediocre, apart in one or two places. So what a surprise it was to have not only by far the best food we had in Fiji but some of the best food we had in the world, matching easily great restaurants in New York or Sydney. Monica used to be the pastry chef at Namale resort (one of the most luxurious resorts in Fiji) and is a genius in the kitchen. So much so that we asked her on the last day to organize a cooking lesson for us so we could steal some of her tricks. Each of us must have gained two to three kilos in those 10 days as we could not stop ourselves from eating.
Activity wise, the only downside of the Villa is that it does not have a direct access to one of those white sand Fiji beaches. But that is true for all the resorts and villas on the SavuSavu Bay. Instead you get the amazing views from the top of the hill and the infinity pool. There is one good snorkelling spot a 10 minutes walk away from the house (split rock) but the boat is the real answer to the lack of beach. If you rent the house, rent the boat. With the boat, Jack (the skipper) will take you to Shy Guy beach, a stunning fringing sand beach in the middle of the bay where we saw baby sharks and spent a few hours including a picnic. Jack will also take you across the bay to hike to a waterfall or take you snorkelling to the reef drop off or fishing. I went fishing 5 morning and got fish every single time. Mostly some beautiful yellow fin tuna which we had in sashimi for breakfast and cooked so many different way. If there is fish in the bay, Jack will find it for you.
One note is that the villa is located on a steep hill and pedestrian access is through a very long and high set of stairs (going through the most stunning jungle setting). This might not be ideal of older or less able people. Taxis or cars can however be arranged to drive all the way to the house.
Thanks Gavin for creating such an amazing holiday retreat and thanks to Monica and Mahesh for making us feel like we had found a new Fijian family and taking such incredible care of us. I wouldn't be surprised if we come back for our next reunion in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Location, Service and Staff - the perfect mix for the perfect holiday”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our Trip in Fiji was exquisite, we had an amazing time with family at this great house.
The staff were friendly and very flexible with our needs, the location is incredible and the view WOW, we had a boat the whole time which is recommended to ensure you get the fishing and snorkelling experience at different spots weather permitting.
Can't fault the place, it has everything you need and we had some quality much needed family time.
We miss the staff still !
Thanks from Brad Jemma & the Hayden Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff were amazing, private location and view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monners20...
Montville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Family Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Korovesi is a small paradise, one of those best kept secrets. It far surpassed our expectations. It is has unparalleled views over the bay, is extremely private and spacious enough for everyone in a group to have their own space. Staff are fantastic - professional, welcoming and accommodating. Activities for all - a kid's paradise and fishermen's heaven. The boat was in use every day! Food is exceptional - a real holiday not having to think about meals at all. Owner, Gavin, was very obliging and easy to communicate with.Our best family holiday - ever!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting, the staff, the food ....everything really!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing