We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice reserve”

Ranked #10 of 16 things to do in Savusavu
Attraction details
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice reserve”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Even though it was absolutely pouring with rain we enjoyed the reserve. it may or may not be open - it does not necessarily stay open the hours that are listed. it was good for birdwatching and soem lovely orchids were flowering as well. It is steep so you need reasonabel fitness and/or good knees !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank megsiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savusavu, Fiji
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful jungle & waterfall hike!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a wonderful outing to experience a true jungle/waterfall experience! Views at the top of Savusavu Bay are lovely!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TropicSplendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice short walk”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

we liked this place, it is very basic and only open during the week-days, if you have a hire car it is worth the drive for the little walk, I wouldn't pay for a taxi though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetositbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An interesting rainforest walk...stunning views”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We enjoyed a great walk around the Waisali Rainforest Reserve after being welcomed by the friendly staff and a stunning view with ridges stretching to Savusavu bay and beyond (see the pic). The path is well laid and maintained and there are informative boards about the plants and wildlife along the way. We were very lucky to spot an Orange Dove on our walk and were well chuffed. There are also loads of freshwater prawns - larger and more populous than I have seen before (although these are not for removal unfortunately). There were also some very pretty orchids in bloom - apparently there are a number of species abundant within the park.

All in all a great, quick, way to see a part of the Fijian rainforest and easy to get to from Savusavu. There are picnic tables for some food and to enjoy the views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A somewhat overrated walk through the forest”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family went on another hike with a waterfall. This was basically a 2 hour walk on a path through trees without seeing animals or birds. There was not much of explanation or guide. It was ok - but there were lots of other hikes and walks one could take on the island without the drive and fees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waisali Rainforest Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Waisali Rainforest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing