We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise all wrapped up into one special resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namale Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise all wrapped up into one special resort”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Namale in 1998 and returned in September after 15 years to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was everything we remembered and more. The staff are just as wonderful and caring in their special Fijian way. Nothing is too much trouble and you are always greeted by name and with a friendly smile.
We found there has been a lot of infrastructure improvements so that even though I think it was nearly fully booked with 19 couples we felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time. There are decks built into cliff tops, one with Jacuzzi and the other with an enormous day bed where you can watch the world go by and call up the bar and drinks will arrive at any time. There is plenty to keep you active (if you need to work off the good food and too many cocktails) with a golf course, tennis, indoor basketball court, gym and an amazing games room complete with a bowling alley. Then the water activities; snorkelling, paddle boarding, kayaking, and the super fun water trampoline. And the grounds.... well they are just beautiful and a credit to the maintenance department.
We stayed in the Lomani Honeymoon Bure and it was beautiful. It sat up on the cliff top with private steps down to the water. It was spacious, the bed was soooo comfortable and the special messages written in flower petals by the housekeeping staff added yet another dimension to our stay. It had its own private plunge pool (if you can afford the upgrade from the ocean front bures, which are amazing too, definitely get one with a pool) and plenty of deck space to relax and look out over the Koro sea. I miss calling up Sam at the bar for drinks and a cheese platter in the late afternoon.
A must do activity was the dolphin tour with snorkelling and the village visit. Both were lots of fun and having about 40 dolphins jumping around your little aluminium fishing boat is definitely an experience not to miss. Night time is great where everyone comes together for pre dinner drinks and on many nights entertainment was provided with dance performances. We were able to learn a lot about the local culture from Hudson who has obvious passion for the people of Fiji and their history as he told their story introducing the performances.
As you leave these wonderful people, thank you doesn't seem enough. They went out of their way to make our week there special, but they do it for everyone. Too Hudson, it is a credit to have a team working so well together. From Sam at the bar who always was smiling, Tavo, Manaini, Desmond and Filo in the restaurant who we got to know so well, seeing Millie again after 15 years, Epo and her team at reception, Villi who drove that golf cart from morning to last thing at night often bringing us cocktails or telling us the best locations for a romantic dinner, Lai, Jess and Limo in the dive shop, we miss you all. And everyone else - there are too many of you to mention.
Namale is amazing, we will be back but this time we won't wait another 15 years to see our Fijian friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Craig & Rochelle,

Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are delighted and ecstatic that you enjoyed Namale, 2nd time around :)
Thank you for returning to Namale and for allowing us to look after you. We are delighted that you got to meet with old staff from your first trip 15th years ago and more than anything that you for allowing us to share with you our Fijian love, warmth and hospitality.

With all our love, bula hugs and blessings!

Hudson Mitchell on behalf of the Namale Family
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    34
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
274
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best TLC ever and friendly warm Fijian staff. Rooms provide luxury feel and privacy lacking at most resorts. Kava bowl, music, fitness, spa and snorkeling are great. They know how to deliver first class service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morningstar1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our first class service when you stayed with us!!
We know that you have a choice when it comes to resorts and countries, so thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with Namale - Fiji's #1 Resort and Spa.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Namale and found it to be the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The resort is set out beautifully with each treehouse being very private with our names carved on wood at our door. The staff greeted us by name at all times and the food was healthy and freshly prepared and served to perfection. There are lots of activities to take part in or you can just chill out by the beach...and the spa offers an wonderful array of massages and treatments. Highly recommend for couples...........x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We love that you enjoyed your time at Namale and that you felt very well taken care of. There are so many points of differences that we offer and we thank you for choosing to stay with us over all others in Fiji. I trust that you will cherish the memories of your time at Namale.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Namale is the best. Every staff member knows your name somehow, the grounds are beautiful, the rooms (we stayed in a house which was huge on the ocean) are beautiful. It is complete relaxation and white glove constant caring by the friendly locals fijians. Great food, spa and other amenities. 5 star all the way, best of the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We love that you enjoyed all things Namale!! Thank you for allowing us to look after you, care for you and be of service to you. We trust that you will cherish the memories and we do hope that there is an opportunity in the not too distant future when you can return to your Fijian home.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The staff at Namale are super friendly, they all remember you by your first name.
Every meal at the restaurant was very delicious.
The ocean view from my room was stunning, hearing the sea wave and feeling the sea breeze at night as I fall asleep.
And the spa experience was out of this world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for this review.

Team Namale is absolutely delighted that you had a memorable time with us. From service, food, views and spa treatments, thank you for experiencing all that we had to offer.

The resort and its experience is indeed pure bliss.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

First rate WOW factor at Namale Resort. We had a honeymoon bure overlooking the ocean with a private infinity pool. Beautiful room and resort. The people/staff that work here are astonishingly friendly, over the top nice. The fijian people are the nicest I've ever met. We stayed in 3 resorts in Fiji, this was by far the nicest and had the best food as well. All inclusive is really all inclusive. The atmosphere in the restaurant is intimate and a great dining experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Honeymoon Bure overlooking the ocean if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Nancy and Marg,

Bula and Vinaka for your review. Thank you for choosing Namale and thank you even more for allowing us to celebrate your anniversary and Marg's birthday. We loved every minute of looking after you both.

We miss you both :) Cherish the moments till we meet again

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tama and Desley here.

What you have done to us I can not describe in words other than to say, amazing and thank you. I will not write a whole book about our stay, even it would be a best-seller. Location, accommodation, food, drinks, service, entertainment and facilities are brilliant. Worth every penny.
As you know we have booked for next year.

I did read two of the reviews who were negative. Well, I bet your respective spouses must have left you by now for somebody more exciting.

Can't wait to see you all next year and God bless.

Tama Haas, New Zealand

For people who want a personal reference please contact

tamah@contecgroup.com

Vinaka

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tama H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Tama and Desley,

Bula and Vinaka for your review. We LOVE that you LOVED your Namale experience. Thank you for allowing us to reach out and touch your lives with our love, joy and sincerity. We loved looking after you both and look forward to having you both return to your Fijian home.

Your family in Fiji looks forward to welcoming you back home.

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
3.8 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
194 reviews
9.0 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
3.4 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale Resort & Spa

Property: Namale Resort & Spa
Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 16 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Namale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale Resort & Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing