We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream House-Sure Is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namale Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just completed our third stay at Namale. On our previous two visits we stayed in Civa but felt that it was a bit exposed to the elements being at almost the point of the Property.
This time we stayed at the Dream House with our Adult Son and his Partner, and we had a fantastic week.
The Dream House is a little more protected and the Pools are a perfect size. There is the larger pool and then below it a heated Spa. The extremely large Living Room that separates the two huge bedrooms has A/C so that it is possible in the afternoon, when the westerly sun shines in, to simply curl up on the Lounge, turn on the A/C, listen to some good music on the iPod Docking Station and read a Book, sipping a drink !!
All the Staff are brilliant, it is not possible to single out any of them, and they are all willing and enabled to do anything to make your stay better. Nowdla and Bill (the GM's) do a great job making sure everyday that all is as you expect.
There is also a huge array of things to do, Diving, (which our Son and his Partner did every 2nd Day), Fitness centre, Golf, Snorkelling, Town Tours, River Floating, Lunch at the Waterfall, the list goes on and on !
Simply a great place with great people.

Room Tip: They are all good, but vary hugely dependant on the view and facilities you are looking for.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geoff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Namale Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just returned from Namale after traveling there with my husband for our honeymoon. The resort was more than we could have asked for. The staff was absolutely amazing and did everything possible to ensure we had a perfect experience. The resort is decorated beautifully and the landscaping seems strategically placed to provide a lot of privacy around the resort. From the first day we arrived the staff (from the Bula cart drives to the maintenance workers) knew our names and always asked if we needed anything.

However, I will say that the travel to Namale was less than ideal. The resort did send a liason from the hotel to meet us at the airport in Nadi when our flight was cancelled due to bad weather (Kiti was fantastic). We ended up having to fly to Labassa where the resort picked us up for a 1.5 hour drive back to the resort. Pacific Sun is apparently known for cancelling flights to Savusavu frequently.

We both thought the food was fantastic with the exception of some of the deserts, they just weren't sweet enough for us. However, we loved all of the fresh fish and fruits. We ate most of our meals in the dining room because we liked interacting with the wait staff, but you can have your meals pretty much anywhere on the resort. I would definitely recommend lunch or dinner at the waterfall. It was a very romantic experience.

We did not realize that January was the rainy season when we arrived and we were disappointed by the rain. However, the resort had plenty of activities planned to help us enjoy Fiji. We took the Discover Scuba class with Sam and went out diving on our second day. Sam was awesome and helped me feel comfortable learning to scuba. We were also able to go on the energetic hike and see a Fijian village. The people we very welcoming and happy to share their culture with us. We also spent some time in the Kava Bowl and were impressed by the amount of activities they had.

We visited the spa for the Sunset Bliss package and were happy with the overall experience. The massage was definitely one of the best that I have received. We did feel that our package was done a little out of order and would have enjoyed more time having snacks on the deck after the massage and enjoying the Sunset.

Overall, the people are what made this vacation so memorable. The hospitality and service were above and beyond what we expected. We can not wait to visit Namale again in the future.

Room Tip: The ocean tropical bure we stayed in had a fantastic view but needed a little more privacy. I would...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Amazingly beautiful resort. It's hard to describe the experience in words. The time I was there it really felt like heaven on earth. The scenery is absolutely wonderful as each plant is carefully planted and managed throughout the entire resort. Everyone is so friendly and inviting.

Few little notes for Tony Robbins if I may...

- I think it's time to change the bedding/sheets. They are a bit worn out and have been used wayyyy too many times. For a resort of that status, there should be better bedding.

- The food really needs help. For some meals it is almost uneatable. I can see that they are trying to add a "Fiji kick" to all the ingredients, but it is not working. (way too much ginger!!!!) The 4 other couples at the resort were complaining nonstop about the meals....it really has to be revamped. They should really incorporate some variety (spicy food, asian food, etc).

However, the beauty of the scenery and its amazing staff overrules all those things. (which is crazy because I am a huuuge food snob) I think about them often as they became our friends. I still remember all the boys in the Dive Shop (especially EMOSI) and they were incredible. I got myself PADI certified with Emosi on this trip, and it was awesome how professional he can be, yet still give off this laid-back Fiji demeanor. I've gone scuba diving multiple times in different islands and countries after this, and I don't think you can find a scuba instructor like Emosi anywhere.

The staff also took us to the Sunday church service at their local Fiji town. We absolutely loved it-as we sang praises with the resort staff and their families in an outdoor open service with children dancing to the music.

The staff organizes every meal for you wherever you like it. The best part is that they enjoy doing this so much and smile all the time! There is nothing more awkward than having resort staff members set things up for you without a smile and walk away grudgingly (makes you feel like you're some mean king demanding service!) Over at Namale they make you feel so comfortable, so at ease, and best of all, as if they are there to enjoy WITH you.

I would go back again in a heartbeat if I could. I miss the resort, the staff, and the generous hearts of the locals. If they can improve the food, maybe it would be tooooo perfect;)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ksh1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

First of all the wife and husband that run this resort are amazing!! They do such a great job everyone here is so wonderful. This place is the best the food is great all natural. The spa is great the staff are the best in the world!!!! Views are priceless..
You may find yourself being routed to lomessa it is a hour and half taxi ride away . Airlines cancel lots of flights out of suva suva.. Do not worry wants you get to the resort you are in heaven

Room Tip: love the lomani room..
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgoldfine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at Namale during Christmas in 2009 for a whole week. From the moment we arrived untill we left, we were treated as royals. I have never meet such nice employees as the staff at Namale Resort. Every single one of them. We were travelling around the World for six months and I choose to propose to my wife here at Namale. The staff was very helpful in the planning of this.

The resort itself and the surroundings are simply breathtaking. We stayed in Villa Duvata, which was the most luxurious accomodation I have ever stayed in. Truly everything was all inclusive, all food, wine, spirits, activities of our choice - no restrictions. The only thing we had to pay extra for was the tanks of oxygen for diving, which was fairly priced.

The food was delicious and freshly cooked to order at every meal, no buffets at this small luxuy resort. We had our meals at the restaurant, at our villa, at the beach, by a waterfall - all included. As guests we had the most amazing activites to choose from every day, at no extra cost: Horse back riding, diving, snorkling, jet skiing, romantic picnic, bowling, golf simulator, walks, visiting a local church etc.


I have travelled to 47 countriesas a tourist and the best service I have ever received was with my wife at Namale.


Apologies for the late review, but here at Christmas time in 2011 we were thinking of our Christmas in Namala in 2009 and thought it was about time to submit a review ;)

Michael & Olga

Room Tip: The Villa Duvata is wonderful, but look out for good offers, as paying full price for the Vila is ex...
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Wonderful week at Namale, we stayed in Duavata villa which was just spectacular, the photo's on website do not do it justice.

Staff are just out of this world and nothing is too much trouble, such kind, caring lovely local people.

Would have given 5 stars but food really needs to be improved, for high price of rooms would expect 4-5 star cuisine, I would rate food 3 star at best. Would to see much more local Fijian cuisine instead 'American' menu, why come to Fiji to eat American food? Quality and presentation really needs to be improved to be a truly 5 star resort.

We will return again and it was the perfect place for our wedding - if you want to get away from it all this is the place to come. Thank you Namale for some very special memories.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jengav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After an intense week of diving and adventure on Namena Island and Marine Reserve, we spent several days at Namale Resort, enjoying the manicured gardens, palm tree groves, luxurious SPA, and amazing accommodations. We loved a hike to a waterfall in the resort's rainforest, where a perfect lunch awaited just the two of us on a small terrace overlooking the stream. We felt totally pampered by the attentive staff. Namale does offer scuba diving, but the best sites of the area (as it happens, in the Namena marine reserve!) were out of reach because they were waiting for the delivery of a new large dive boat. I would have been a very unhappy guest if I had not just had my fill of excellent dives at Namena.

Room Tip: Lomani is a lovely bure, very private and with its own plunge pool and terraces overlooking the reef
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
0.7 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
205 reviews
3.8 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
681 reviews
9.0 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
3.4 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale Resort & Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: $1,112 - $1,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 16 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Namale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale Resort & Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing