We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded island paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namena Island Dive Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Belton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A secluded island paradise”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I think there are few places left on earth that would qualify as a true island paradise, but this is one of them. To get here, you have to take a sea plane from one of the main islands, and the owner and his wife will greet you at the dock as you pull up. There are no more than 6 or so "buras" (huts) for rent, so you don't get much traffic on the island. White beaches, jungle hikes, big spiders, sea breeze, beach volleyball with the Fijian staff, and the most delicious fresh meals prepared on the island by the chef are what you'll experience here. If you're a diver, you'll be hard-pressed to find better diving in the world. The island's instructor and divemaster take you to their own little-known local spots. I've dived the Great Barrier Reef, the Caribbean, the Red Sea, and Brazil, and nothing has compared to what Moody's Namena can offer with it's cliff diving--if for no other reason than because it's secluded and untainted by mass tourism.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent 10 days here for xmas 2011. We chose this resort, because I had stayed at the Moodys' previous resort, in Panama, back in 1976.

Resort: Serene, quiet, and feels like you have the whole island to yourself.
Great scuba diving, snorkeling, hiking, bird (and bat) watching. We built each day around the communal meals, and the morning and afternoon dive. Leaving plenty of time for hikes, walks, naps, reading books. The friendly staff continually pampered us, and we left the island feeling like family.

Scuba: great fish life due to well-policed marine preserve. The island is surrounded by a barrier reef, and most dives are a 10-minute boat ride to breaks in the barrier. For our entire trip, the two of us were the only guests diving, but there were typically 2 or 3 snorkelers along, who would swim in shallower areas while we drift-dived bommies and walls. Later on this trip, we dived Taveuni. Both locations had world-class diving. Both had plentiful soft corals. In Taveuni, we saw more diversity of hard corals. In Namena, the fish life was bigger and more plentiful (marine preserves are a great idea).

Food: A good mix of standard American to Fijian to curries, all prepared with finesse. Many freshly baked items that were always a treat. Lots of fresh fish caught by one of the other guests (outside the marine preserve). Many fruits and some vegetables are grown around the island. Most meats and vegetables are brought by boat from Savusavu, where much of it is locally grown. Xmas lovo on the beach was a big occasion, and we wished we had stayed for the New Year's lovo.

Our bure: a spacious cabin with beautiful woodwork. On top of an oceanside cliff, providing breezes and fantastic views. It was a short walk to the dining bure, but was completely private. It was a joy to sit on the deck, watching boobies, frigate birds and fruit bats fly by. Plumbing was a masterpiece of engineering, relying on rain water and seawater. Lighting was provided by solar-panel charged LEDs.

The island and resort are very comfortable for guests. It's amazing what the Moodys and their staff have accomplished, when everything must be produced on the island or brought in on their small boats. It's clear that building and maintaining a resort in such a remote location was and is a herculean task. It's also clear that Tom Moody couldn't have imagined living his life any other way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a week at Moody's Resort and loved this very special place. On just 110 acres, Namena offers the perfect combination of tropical forest with hiking trails, sandy beaches, cliffs covered with flowering bushes, and bird sanctuary. The surrounding lagoon and barrier reef boast a wonderful variety of hard and soft corals, lots of interesting dive sites patrolled by inquisitive but never threatening sharks. What a treat to see this pristine underwater environment after seeing so many deteriorating reefs and dwindling fish stocks in other better known locations in the Pacific and Caribbean. Our heartfelt thanks to Tom Moody and his wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We just left Moody's Namena Island Resort today, and though we are excited to continue our adventures through Fiji it was bittersweet to leave. The experience was hard to describe, at once authentic and also a throwback to a different type of vacation. Tom Moody has spent years creating an ecologically correct resort before it was fashionable. He created, out of nothing, a working community on a dry island that had never been settled by anyone in recorded history. He created a waterworks using rainwater, composting toilets, solar lighting, and uses fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the island and surrounding sea. The food was amazing and it shows that he has had the same cook (Kelly) for 17 years. Like any Fijian village, the staff are mostly related and all from neighboring Vuana Levu, particularly the area around Savusavu. The service was impeccable and gracious. Our bure (cabin) had an unbelievable view of then Kora Sea and the Namena Reef. We were constantly entertained by Red-footed boobies, Frigate birds, cute (!) fruit bats and an assortment of smaller birds like Pacific doves, kingfishers and Banded Rales. The diving was exciting, beautiful and visually stunning, and our dive master George was terrific (as were the boat driver Vitale and Gina our dive helper). The reef, bohmies and the amazing collection of soft and hard corals, nudibranchs, sharks, barracudas, Spanish Mackerel, eels, giant clams, banded shrimp, etc were magical and pristine. Mr. Moody has mandated that 90% of his island be a nature preserve, and established a marine preserve to protect the surrounding barrier reef. I cannot say enough about Namena, except don't go if you are not a bit adventurous. It is not for anyone, especially if you want to stay connected to the outside world. But, uh, I think that is the point. Just don't tell everyone...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docdux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic vacation here May 23 - June 4, 2011. The corals, fish, staff, and island experience are phenomenal! We highly recommend it. If you'd like to see our amateur video from the experience, you can click on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vp7HHlXNdzQ. We found out about this in the book "1000 Places to See before You Die."
It's the best snorkeling and diving that I've experienced (including the Great Barrier Reef, Hawaii, Cook Islands, and the Channel Islands). The great thing is that you can enjoy so much simply by snorkeling. Since I came with a cold and couldn't dive deep and my wife only snorkels, we were grateful that so much was visible from the surface. With no more than 12 guests on the island at a time, it's an extraordinary experience. Each day we went to new sites on the reef. Even over two weeks, we continued to see new species of coral and fish. Moody's Namena is not set up for the 4 tanks a day divers.
There's a morning dive and an afternoon dive opportunity (along with snorkeling). But, with the reef only 10 minutes from the island, you save the hour boat ride across the open seas to get to this marine reserve with the best diving in Fiji. So, from a diver's perspective, Namena Island is a great opportunity too.
This is a delightful place to go to get unplugged and enjoy true island life. Internet connection, room service, spa, swimming pool, and definitely parking are irrelevant. Vanaka vaka levu, Moody's Namena, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HopeAbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Namena is an absolute gem. We stayed for 15 nights, half of which we had the entire island and all the staff to ourselves (due to seasonal wet season bookings - ha! fooled them! ). As we are snorkellers we were thrilled to access both the walk-in reefs around the island as well as the extremely short boat trips out to the surrounding reef. The underwater world is difficult to describe in words, phenomenal, outstanding, unbelievable, original, natural come to mind, but still fall way too short. We don't dive, but a couple of divers with us for the first week shared many a tale over our dinner table each night. The bures are more than adequate, offering very comfortable accommodation in an eco friendly resort, (meaning: no hair dryers, no switches for a/c). We had compost toilets, and solar lights, and the breeze blew every day for the freshest a/c one could ask for. The food is Fijian family style and we loved it. Sharing a dinner table every meal with the other guests and the owner is something special. We'll be back, and hopefully soon. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustang1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

If You want to get a pleasure from wildlife it's the exact place to be.
The real treasure of the resort is the staff. When You are leaving the hotel You feel like You are leaving your home.
The Fijian nature is surrounding You all around.
The best place for diving and snorkeling (mostly for corals).
But each traveler will have to know he will play under Namena rules: 3 time-a-day meals in the exact time with the owner talking during and after; No plug-ins in the rooms (bureis); only one room has diod bulbs (others are lighted by gas lighters or small bulbs); birds and sea sound all day long; mosquitoes during DAY light (and of course in the morning!!! apply bed net); hotel territory NOT lighted yet (torch with solar battery applied). almost no mobile network (working very bad), no Internet (only on staff laptop).
If You accept all mentioned above You will have one the best vacation in Your life.
Don't forget books, spirits, shampoo and others - no possibility to buy something on the island - no shops.
It's worth to visit this remote island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonelyapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
1.5 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
673 reviews
3.2 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
6.6 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namena Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namena Island Dive Resort

Property: Namena Island Dive Resort
Address: | Namena Island, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namena Island Resort is a privately owned Fiji island resort. 6 Bure's (cottages) strategically located to maximize ocean views and enjoy the ocean breezes. Maximum guest capacity 12 people. 3 gorgeous private beaches. Namena is rated the "Best Dive Destination In Fiji" and ranked as one of the "Top 10 Dive Destinations in the World". Namena Island is surrounded by a reef designated as a marine reserve with over 22 world famous dive sites all within a 10 minute boat ride from our boat jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Namena Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody`s Namena Hotel Savusavu
Moodys Namena Hotel
Moodys Namena Resort All Inclusive
Namena Island Dive Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing