We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and magical Namena Island resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namena Island Dive Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing and magical Namena Island resort”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We just left Moody's Namena Island Resort today, and though we are excited to continue our adventures through Fiji it was bittersweet to leave. The experience was hard to describe, at once authentic and also a throwback to a different type of vacation. Tom Moody has spent years creating an ecologically correct resort before it was fashionable. He created, out of nothing, a working community on a dry island that had never been settled by anyone in recorded history. He created a waterworks using rainwater, composting toilets, solar lighting, and uses fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the island and surrounding sea. The food was amazing and it shows that he has had the same cook (Kelly) for 17 years. Like any Fijian village, the staff are mostly related and all from neighboring Vuana Levu, particularly the area around Savusavu. The service was impeccable and gracious. Our bure (cabin) had an unbelievable view of then Kora Sea and the Namena Reef. We were constantly entertained by Red-footed boobies, Frigate birds, cute (!) fruit bats and an assortment of smaller birds like Pacific doves, kingfishers and Banded Rales. The diving was exciting, beautiful and visually stunning, and our dive master George was terrific (as were the boat driver Vitale and Gina our dive helper). The reef, bohmies and the amazing collection of soft and hard corals, nudibranchs, sharks, barracudas, Spanish Mackerel, eels, giant clams, banded shrimp, etc were magical and pristine. Mr. Moody has mandated that 90% of his island be a nature preserve, and established a marine preserve to protect the surrounding barrier reef. I cannot say enough about Namena, except don't go if you are not a bit adventurous. It is not for anyone, especially if you want to stay connected to the outside world. But, uh, I think that is the point. Just don't tell everyone...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docdux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast of California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic vacation here May 23 - June 4, 2011. The corals, fish, staff, and island experience are phenomenal! We highly recommend it. If you'd like to see our amateur video from the experience, you can click on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vp7HHlXNdzQ. We found out about this in the book "1000 Places to See before You Die."
It's the best snorkeling and diving that I've experienced (including the Great Barrier Reef, Hawaii, Cook Islands, and the Channel Islands). The great thing is that you can enjoy so much simply by snorkeling. Since I came with a cold and couldn't dive deep and my wife only snorkels, we were grateful that so much was visible from the surface. With no more than 12 guests on the island at a time, it's an extraordinary experience. Each day we went to new sites on the reef. Even over two weeks, we continued to see new species of coral and fish. Moody's Namena is not set up for the 4 tanks a day divers.
There's a morning dive and an afternoon dive opportunity (along with snorkeling). But, with the reef only 10 minutes from the island, you save the hour boat ride across the open seas to get to this marine reserve with the best diving in Fiji. So, from a diver's perspective, Namena Island is a great opportunity too.
This is a delightful place to go to get unplugged and enjoy true island life. Internet connection, room service, spa, swimming pool, and definitely parking are irrelevant. Vanaka vaka levu, Moody's Namena, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HopeAbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Namena is an absolute gem. We stayed for 15 nights, half of which we had the entire island and all the staff to ourselves (due to seasonal wet season bookings - ha! fooled them! ). As we are snorkellers we were thrilled to access both the walk-in reefs around the island as well as the extremely short boat trips out to the surrounding reef. The underwater world is difficult to describe in words, phenomenal, outstanding, unbelievable, original, natural come to mind, but still fall way too short. We don't dive, but a couple of divers with us for the first week shared many a tale over our dinner table each night. The bures are more than adequate, offering very comfortable accommodation in an eco friendly resort, (meaning: no hair dryers, no switches for a/c). We had compost toilets, and solar lights, and the breeze blew every day for the freshest a/c one could ask for. The food is Fijian family style and we loved it. Sharing a dinner table every meal with the other guests and the owner is something special. We'll be back, and hopefully soon. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustang1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

If You want to get a pleasure from wildlife it's the exact place to be.
The real treasure of the resort is the staff. When You are leaving the hotel You feel like You are leaving your home.
The Fijian nature is surrounding You all around.
The best place for diving and snorkeling (mostly for corals).
But each traveler will have to know he will play under Namena rules: 3 time-a-day meals in the exact time with the owner talking during and after; No plug-ins in the rooms (bureis); only one room has diod bulbs (others are lighted by gas lighters or small bulbs); birds and sea sound all day long; mosquitoes during DAY light (and of course in the morning!!! apply bed net); hotel territory NOT lighted yet (torch with solar battery applied). almost no mobile network (working very bad), no Internet (only on staff laptop).
If You accept all mentioned above You will have one the best vacation in Your life.
Don't forget books, spirits, shampoo and others - no possibility to buy something on the island - no shops.
It's worth to visit this remote island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonelyapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Nesting red footed boobies, fairy terns, fruitbats, flowering frangipani, the sheer majesty of the sea, the horizontal rain squall, the "rawness" of the environment, the kaleidoscopic reef, the gorgeous diving, the wonderful people, the caring staff, the vision of Tom Moody, simplicity, to supervise our magnificent mother earth in her finest glory.

Comfy and warm, yummy and heartwarming. A special unique place-we will return, and tell our nature loving friends to do the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roitacop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

For eight stunning days over July and August on 2010, my wife and I enjoyed this hidden gem of a "resort" off the coast of Vanua Levu, Fiji. Now, please be forewarned that if you're looking for bars, nightlife, clubs, chic, plush rooms, or constant company, Moody's probably isn't for you. However, if you're content with an experience unlike anything you'll get elsewhere in in the South Pacific: a staff that's as friendly, accommodating, and personal as you would want (and who's quite content to leave you alone should you wish that, too); private pristine, sugar-sand beaches; the best snorkeling and diving for thousands of miles; beautifully prepared food, and bures complete with daily fresh flowers and views of the ocean that resemble a cross between a Gauguin painting and a Discovery Channel special; then this place will happily reside in your memory forever.

From the awesome (and friendly competitive volleyball games), to the fact that Moody's was an eco-resort before it was cool to be an eco-resort; to how it forces you to unplug and separate yourself from the tension-filled nuances of most modern life; to the beautiful combination of forest hikes -- while you're there, time flows gently like honey from one paradise-filled day to the next and it's only when you get back to the norm that you realize all the moments you let slip away without realizing what a paragon of perfection they were.

Please go here; there's nowhere else like it in the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simaodrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is truley a unique and very special place to visit. You can not help but relax and enjoy nature at its best. Tom and staff make you feel right at home and service was better then 5 stars. The 'family' atmosphere is heightened by the communal dining, which offers a chance for everyone to catch up and share their experiences whilst enjoying fabulous food.

We enjoyed every minute of our holiday and we were sad to leave. I now understand why so many visitors return to this island and we look forward to our next stay.

Jacinta & Peter- Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
2.6 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namena Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namena Island Dive Resort

Property: Namena Island Dive Resort
Address: | Namena Island, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namena Island Resort is a privately owned Fiji island resort. 6 Bure's (cottages) strategically located to maximize ocean views and enjoy the ocean breezes. Maximum guest capacity 12 people. 3 gorgeous private beaches. Namena is rated the "Best Dive Destination In Fiji" and ranked as one of the "Top 10 Dive Destinations in the World". Namena Island is surrounded by a reef designated as a marine reserve with over 22 world famous dive sites all within a 10 minute boat ride from our boat jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Namena Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody`s Namena Hotel Savusavu
Moodys Namena Hotel
Moodys Namena Resort All Inclusive
Namena Island Dive Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing