We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing surpise engagment trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Well, besides the fact that my fiance surprised me with a trip to Fiji and asked me to marry him at Koro Sun, there are many of reasons I loved this place...!! Fiji is amazingly beautiful and the people there make it sooo enjoyable. The staff, the food, everything was perfect, if I can make a couple suggestions...

1. Stay in different rooms; each room has its own feeling (beach, rainforest, etc) all with different yet beautiful views. My Fiance and I moved around and LOVED each room, especially the Edgewater and villa up top.

2. Do as many of the activites as you can...johnny is awesome have him take you to "split rock"

3. The food at Koro Sun is great, always fresh and well prepared...but try eating in town one night, we had a wonderful dinner on the water at a nice place (I cant remember the name but there aren't many)

4. Pack light and wear sunscrean :) even if it's not sunny

5. Bug spray...there are some bugs nothing posionus but itchy bugs

6. Get a MASSAGE, they are soooo awesome, I wish I would have gotten one every day. The rainforest is just the most relaxing place to get pampered especially with your significant other..

7. Be patient...once you are in Fiji it's FIJI TIME relax and have fun!

8. Bring booze, we bought champagne and vodka at Duty Free and drank it in the room most of the week which was nice, we left the rest for the staff

9. The staff are great, friendly and accomidating, always greeting you a smile

BULA!! VINAKA!! To everyone at Koro Sun we promise we will be back soon...

Oh one final thing at the end of our trip we were hit by hurrican Mick, so make sure you plan accordingly to the weather... it wasn't too bad but could have made for a very rainy week...

My fiance and I are looking to go back to Koro Sun for an anniversary trip in the next couple years...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiebird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in April 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 494 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2010

My Girlfriend & I were skeptical about coming after word of the recent hurricane. There were a lot of rumors floating around that places were closed and the islands looked dead... Rumors is all they turned out to be! All i can say is Fiji is live! I have never seen anything grow as fast as the trees and plants in Fiji. There were buds on the trees the day we got there and literally by the next day they were leaves. The place went from brown to green as fast as a chameleon! The staff was amazing, never have I been somewhere that has more happy people! The resort was great as well, they offer something for everyone, we stayed in one of the edge water bures and it was awesome! The view was great, it was nice and private, I loved being able to take a swim in the ocean right off the back deck & a dip in the pool in the front yard!
The pictures on the website don't do this resort justice! We will be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motozack522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in April 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I needed a relaxing vacation to escape from Los Angeles and the high paced stress. Fiji seemed like the perfect place.. I checked out Koro Suns website and it felt like a good location for this. Upon arriving I was greeted by singing Fijians who hugged me and acted like I was family. Wow! I couldn't believe how friendly and happy everyone was! I was treated to a relaxing foot soak immediately with coconut scrub & oil! During my stay I attended a "Meke" which was so authentic. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. I was shocked to learn that there was a hurricane very recently... The place was very well maintained & my edgewater condo type "room" had a fantastic view! I indulged in a massage in the rainforest spa, went snorkling, lounged in the pool, had tropical drinks, took scooter rides around the island, went on a dolphin trip and really, really enjoyed the food! A great mix of fresh fish and organic veggies as well as some meals with an international feel... All top notch! The place has an amazing romantic feel to it. My boyfriend and I fell in love all over again. We were sad that the trip had to end so soon! One week was definitely not enough! I look forward so much to my next visit with my new Fijian friends & family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in April 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We arrived to a run down uninhabitable so called resort. No hot water, No pools safe to swim in, No outdoor activities operational, Sewerage an issue, No Nothing! Along with two other couples already at this place who were stranded with no phone reception we arranged to be evacuated. Yes there was cylone Tomas damage but this is a place that has been run down for many years and the owner should be ashamed. One person with us had been here 5 years ago and too could not believe the state of the facility. We have the upmost thanks to the wonderful staff who did try to assist and in no way where they to blame. Last Word DO NOT GO!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Cassie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navale0, Owner at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

I've never before used the right of reply, but this comment which has caused me almost more distress than the cyclone that occasioned it. It was, without doubt, a mistake on my part to re-open so as not to let down the couples who were booked in immediately following Cyclone Tomas. I personally was not able to get into Fiji from overseas for a few days to see the damage for myself. To be frank, we weren't run down we were run-over and we quickly moved to transfer our clients, at our expense, to a five star resort immediately, on the more sheltered side of the peninsula, where damage had been less severe. These were exceptional circumstances and a quick read of any of the 40 odd other reviews of our resort will show you just how 'exceptional' this resort is. The resort was closed following the cyclone and relocation of these guests for a period of a week.
The images the reviewer has used to portray the condition of the resort misrepresent the resort entirely even after the cyclone, without showing the accommodation in which they stayed!

First, Photos of the sign in a bush is 1 of many signs on 150 acre resort development and far from the welcome entrance.

Second, None of the images posted show the accommodation in which the client stayed. They hiked around the resort to look for any photo opportunity to slander us.

Third, They inaccurately posted a photo of a privately owned villa not occupied by the owner nor was it occupied by this client or any guests for that matter!

Fourth The photo of the porch was also NOT their bure nor was that bure occupied by a guest.

The Tennis court is being repaired, swimming pools returned to normal within days, and clean up efforts were actioned immediately. We did not sustain structural damages to our resort and brand new clubhouse, completed in October of last year. We did however see substantial damage to our vegetation , 150 acres of lush gardens, and rainforest in which leaves were blown away. There is already new leaves less than 14 days, with a few rains, and since then is totally greenl again within weeks. Owner, Jack Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The trip to Koro Sun was a gift from my boyfriend as a graduation/birthday gift. We researched a lot of different places before we booked Koro Sun. It was a great decision to take our vacation there!
The staff was very helpful and would go out of their way to help us with anything that we could possibly need. They treated us more like friends then guests, and of course always knew us by name! Our first day, we kicked off our trip after the flight from MN with a massage at the spa. Definitely worth the time, it was unbelievable. The adventure trips were a lot of fun. Especially the waterfall and dolphin trips(snorkeling was awesome at dolphin bay)! There is plenty of space and kayaks to adventure near the resort as well. We found many fishing spots for trevalle and barracuda. And of course plenty of snorkeling. The villa that we stayed in was amazing!! We had an ocean side villa....what a beautiful view!! We could snorkle, kayak and fish right off the first floor deck. The plunge pool was also great, it was very hot during our entire 10 days so a quick jump in the cooler water of the plunge pool felt good during the day and all the other pools, they were well maintained. The main resort lobby/bar/dining area was completely rebuilt and opened November 2009. It was also kept very clean, and fresh. The beautiful day beds on their beach were great at the end of the day to relax on before dinner. All the meals were wonderful.
We always had more than enough to eat with the all inclusive meal plan. During our 10 day stay we ate a variety of food, and never the same thing. All the fish is caught locally(obviously), the fruits and vegetables are picked fresh off the land of the resort, the water is as pure as it gets and comes from a stream filtered to every tap, the beef is raised close by to the resort(fresh). Doesn't get much better, I'm still thinking about how good that banana was. Also, we even had some kava ceremonies out at the waterfront restaraunt with the local string band (awesome).
There wasn't one thing we did not enjoy about our stay, everything was so perfect. This is a great part of Fiji to visit, it is so culuturally oriented. It was a perfect distance from Savusavu to run in to tourist the town, but then drive 15 minutes back and the piece and quiet of the resort.
We graciously appreciate everything that every person did for us at the Koro Sun. It feels good to come home knowing we met so many more good friends.

P.S. Cyclone Tomas hit Savusavu shortly after our return to the states. Whatever difficulties it may cause this region, we know that they will rebound quickly at this resort with their hard work and good nature.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minn_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in March 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Fiji and Koro Sun Resort are a once in a lifetime experince,The rain forest spa is a real treat. Try the banana leaf wrap.
Very good side trips with excellent guides.The food and presentation was 4 star..

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank wbird1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in March 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Beautiful! Brand New Main house is nice. We stayed in a Garden Bure and the Honeymoon Treehouse both of which were clean and very comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to do all that the could to make our stay fabulous. We had our wedding there on the beach. They provided Fijian minister, warriers and a choir to make our wedding cultural and traditional. All of the work that went into the wedding was thoughful and designed just as we requested. The food is amazing at the resort. Three meals a day! You will not go hundry. Even snacks were available in the afternoon between meals. If the rains came the staff shuffled activities around so that you still had fun each day and got to do everything on the menu of you chose to. Fiji is relaxed and slow paced. As long as you are too during your stay, you will truely enjoy the Islands! We'll be back! I missed the staff already :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniqueTre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your review back in March 2010.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
7.1 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
6.7 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
165 reviews
11.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: $183 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our northern unspoiled location offers you the genuine warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people, beautiful lush tropical surroundings, and warm, impossibly clear waters. In a remote setting that defines paradise, Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa immerses you in a genuine Fijian experience that's nirvana to the core. In the unspoiled native north on "Fiji's other big island" of Vanua Levu, this 160-acre sanctuary was born of a nature lover's dream. The tropical retreat is etched within a coconut plantation that's encircled by lush rainforests at the edge of a stunning private lagoon. From the moment you arrive, the Koro Sun staff embraces you like family. They greet you with a song that welcomes you to your home away from home. Certainly, the Fijians are known around the globe for being the most warm and friendly islands on earth.That hospitality - coupled with our diverse accommodations and recreation - has made Fiji's Koro Sun Resort an international favorite for relaxing holidays, active family vacations and magical romantic getaways. You may experience the latter in our brand new Edgewater Bures, with lagoon front location. Our 43 private bures and villas are spacious, individually appointed decor and fully air-conditioned. Your stay is all-inclusive - from airport transfers to bountiful gourmet fare and a flurry of non-motorized water sport activities and exclusive diving at the world-famous Namena Marine Reserve with Namena Divers Inc now based at Koro Sun Resort. Beverages are additional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koro Sun Hotel Savusavu
Koro Sun Resort All Inclusive
Koro Sun Resort And Rainforest Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing