We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cracker of a Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Cracker of a Holiday!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Once again our family of four, two children 9 and 13, had an absolute ball at JMC. A big thank you to Bart and ALL staff for accommodating every need. From our perspective this is what makes us teary on farewell.
-A friendly welcome at Nadi airport
-Outstanding, energetic and genuine staff
-Great Bula club and Buddies for our children
-Amazing food with excellent healthy menu choices
-Loads of activities and cultural experiences to do
-A relaxed and fun atmosphere
-The perfect location in Savusavu
-No pool side fashion
-Great guests to connect with.
All in all a beautiful resort - we'll certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FurSeal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    46
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
242
50
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This resort stunned me the moment I walked in. They first greet you with drinks, and then they show your children the kid's area. I went in the kid's area, and was very impressed. There was a big trampoline, a pool, a tennis court, a ping pong table, and a small sitting zip line among other games. Each kid gets her or his own babysitter that takes them around to wherever they want to go. Not just the service and amenities were great, the rooms and food were superb also. My family shared one room with very nice beds that had a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. The food was great, and we probably had about three courses within every course. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMRtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was the best holiday for us and we are already planning to go back in 2014! We stayed there in November for ten days. We were welcomed with local songs and fresh juice, which was so refreshing.

Overall, this is a high quality establishment that prides itself on service. They really know how to deliver on this. The grounds are impeccable and the ethos of the place (sustainability and eco-friendly) is both successful and fascinating to learn about. The resident Marine Biologist (Jonny) is very knowledgeable and personable. He explains their eco policies and the development of the marine reserve in a very accessible way. The children love to spend time with Jonny and they all wanted to be Marine Biologists by the time they left JMC!

Our 9 year-old daughter (Maia) made some friends quickly and began to feel very comfortable with her staff-buddy. We hardly saw her as she was too busy with her daily program provided by JMC. The people were so friendly and so helpful. She even had one-on-one time with her buddy (Buna).

Meals: everyday for breakfast they have an al la cart menu plus an additional 2 different cooked choices on the black board which changed daily. Maia’s buddy and staff from the Bula club were always there to help us. Gosh, we did feel very spoilt by them. Lunch and dinner were excellent! If you have any special request, the chef always did their best to meet your needs. Oh, I forgot to mention about their homemade sorbets. Mmm…they were so delicious!

Bure: was clean and spacious, but if you are a light sleeper like me, don’t forget to bring a pair of earplugs. It is likely that you can hear people passing by your bure or other nocturnal happenings! Still, I had wonderfully restful nights on their high quality beds. By the way, before going to bed, the lovely staff would come and light the mosquito essence which is very necessary. I thought this was a very thoughtful gesture!

Activities: Every day they provide daily programed for adults as well as for both the under 5s and over 5s. It’s so well planned that my husband and I got to choose what we wanted without feeling guilty for leaving our daughter behind. We both knew she was having a fantastic time. If you love diving/snorkeling do come here as we had the best time and we believe it was the staff who made our trip so fabulous!

Perhaps the only suggestion would be that the weekly programme be extended to a two-weekly cycle for those of us who stay on longer.

This is a great place that lives up to its advertising and reputation.

Room Tip: If you come here without any children try to avoid Bure that is too close to the main entrance as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13jul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

At first the thought of sleeping in bures without air-conditioning was daunting, but truth is - we had a wonderful night's rest. The sea breeze and fan were more than equal to the heat. As to be expected, it is comfortably environmentally conscious - there are even plants grown to reduce the number of mosquitoes that might decide to take up residence at the resort!
The co-owners, Bart and Randy go out of their way to ensure your comfort. I was on a quest for a Fijan spice, Dhania, and Bart not only found it in his garden but he also dug up two shoots for me to take away with me.
The food was excellent and the resort luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a great time at the Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort. I was there with 4 others on a volunteer trip with Engineers Without Borders. We worked in three villages a couple of hours away from Savusavu during the week and staying at this luxurious resort during one of our weekend getaways was quite a treat. Bart and his staff were so friendly and made us feel right at home. The bures are beautiful, comfortable, fully stocked and quite large. Oh, and all the coconut/seaweed products in the bathroom were great.

We went snorkeling with their staff and it was amazing. I could only imagine how much greater it would have been with the Marine Biologist that they have on staff. We also enjoyed the food there. It was very delicious and they accommodate any diets or modifications, which I loved.

Get on a plane to Fiji and stay at Cousteau Resort. You will not regret it. Is is also very family friendly.

Bart, thank you for a great time! Adrienne, Joy, Suejung, Jessica, and I all appreciated staying at this beautiful resort and will never forget it!

Luis

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and I have only just got around to writing my review! Not having done a Fiji family holiday experience before, we chose JMC because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the resort met all of our expectations and more. I think JMC is wonderful for families – although there were some couples there without kids, my recommendation would be mainly towards families, as sometimes at night you can hear babies/toddlers crying in other bures. My husband, and two children (both under 3) were well looked after by all the staff whether it be house-keeping or activities, masseuses, Bula Club, the restaurant or management – every request was met with a helpful response or solution. The bure was very comfortable and all we really needed for our two week stay as we spent so little time in the room. We loved the Fiji products in the room and got so addicted to the natural mozzie-spray we had to buy a few bottles to bring back home and every time we use it, are reminded of our time at JMC.

The two nannies we were assigned were wonderful and very experienced and what a bonus to have them be able to babysit while you have dinner. As a mother of a young baby it took me a while to get used to having the assistance of a nanny (haven't used nannies before at home or on holiday) and after about 4 days I resigned myself to letting my bub be looked after for periods of the day by the nanny who was more than willing and in fact, I think it was better when I just left her to it rather than constantly hovering around. I also struggled with the concept of the long-days the Fijian nannies seemed to do (didn’t want to come across as some sort of exploitative rich tourist), but it was explained to me that the work is seasonal, they are paid by the hour and in busy times, they work longer hours to compensate the quieter times. The Fijians have childcare down pat and just love kids. A tip for other parents of young babies – take a pram as the nannies sometimes take all the young babies to the Point for their daytime sleeps which is just a wonderful place for the babies to have their sleeps. I used to visit them down there and it is a wonderful lovely spot to hang out in – no wonder they sleep so well – all that fresh warm sea air and palm trees.

The food was delicious and I loved that it was nice-sized normal portions (like French size not American/Australian supersized ones) so you always felt nicely content rather than over-stuffed full which I hate. My hubby and I didn’t put on weight over the holiday despite indulging in 2 x 3 course meals twice a day and a few choice cocktails which was nice, as that is often the downside to a holiday.

The massages by the sea were just divine, snorkelling with Johnny was superb and the diving at Namale was just out of this world (one of my top 3 dives ever!) – one of my dives there was like being in about 5 x David Attenborough documentaries in the same half hour – just awesome in terms of the coral and the sea-life. The dive-team are just so competent and helpful and I did about 8 dives while there, and my husband learnt to dive there due to the confidence he felt in the instructors and program. The reefs closer to the resort have been damaged by cyclones and Crown of Thorns starfish but I still found enjoyable despite this as you can still find wonder in the tiniest of cleaner-shrimp or nudibranches and still get surprised by a fast-swimming Spanish Mackerel or reef-shark even in these damaged reefs.

The atmosphere around the bar of an evening was always fun and we really enjoyed meeting and making friends with other couples.

The only thing that I could criticise was that two of the staff (from different parts of the resort), when engaged in lengthy friendly conversations for different reasons then made hints and overtures about needing extra money or gifts from us which put us in an awkward position as the resort make it very clear that their position on tips/gratuities should be done as a communal gift due to the village like atmosphere they try to engender there. I know it can be hard for the resort to manage a situation like this when you have a couple of hundred staff and am sure they tell the staff to not try and hit the guests up with sob-stories and other techniques to get a bit of an extra kick-back. I always wanting to give something extra to those that don’t expect it and who give you such good service, which is what we did as well as the communal gift – but none of this is expected from the resort so don’t let that put you off what was ultimately one of the best most relaxing holidays we’ve had in years. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Both my husband and I have travelled extensively and this would be our favourite resort ever. Travelling with 2 children (3 & 6) we need a holiday to suit there need for activities with our needs for R&R! This place has it. From the wonderful greeting on arrival where the kids are taken off to tour the kids club area and you can just soak in the ambiance of a small luxury resort. The kids club is fantastic with a great range of activities such as learning about the local ecology and planting mangroves to having their own pool and dining area. The buddy & nanny system is great and they get to make friends which really enhances their holiday experience. Meanwhile you can have a 3 course gourmet meal with your partner, enjoy a glass of wine in the middle of the day!! WhooHoo!! Parents are always welcome at Kids Club to join in activities etc.. you can drop off / pick up, pop in and out to see your kids. No restrictions about booking them in each morning etc… just a given they will show up. The awesome staff will even come over at breakfast and take them over. You can choose to dine in the family area or if you don't have the kids with you, you can dine in the adults restaurant and enjoy some peace & quiet. Its all open air, overlooking the deck/pool and beach. It is luxury on a small, intimate scale. We were there in July and I would highly recommend asking for the mosquito nets over the beds. My husband and I indulged in scuba diving and the staff where extremely knowledgeable and professional. My husband also did his first night dive - a 1:1 experience with the dive master that was fantastic. Aside from the amazing location, food, kids club etc.. what really makes this place is the attention from the staff - they are so attentive, friendly and professional. You don't feel like a guest, but rather part of an extended family. Prior to this we stayed at the Intercontinental in Natadola Bay which was also excellent, but its a big International chain resort. This is something else!! Loved it and will hopefully be back again this year. Its not a cheap holiday by any means but gosh, our family still talk about how much we loved it on a weekly basis and when we will be going back!

Room Tip: we had a garden view room as it was all that was available when booking. It was lovely. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypandy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
2.8 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
660 reviews
5.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
363 reviews
6.1 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
160 reviews
40.9 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort

Property: Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort
Address: Lesiaceva Point Road, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 9999, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Eco-Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jean-Michel Cousteau Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing