We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place to stay for exploring real Fiji”
view from inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from inside
covered terrace living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
view from inside
covered terrace
living room
open kitchen and dining
terrace
pool
stunning view on ocean and sunset
surrounded from a beautiful garden.. .
....sleep like in heaven
....with rain shower
...explore the Svuasavu Bay with our kayak and find amazing places for swiming and snorkeling
...go fishing and make a great catch
...visit the dolphins
..go snorkeling
..go by kayak to a beautiful island with white sandy beach
...visit a waterfall
...see amazing sunsets
...or have a romantic dinners on your terrace
..climbing for a fresh coconut drink
...see the cruisers coming in...
..ride the banana
...ride the tube
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
685Karen
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud construction ongoing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Construction was ongoing during our stay. My request to stop cutting of ceramic tiles, sawing wood and varnishing was ignored. Passive aggressive behaviour.

Internet access was to be included but access is not possible in the unit. Only up the hill in at other renters accomodations. Internet use was not worth the mosquitoes biting.

I will never pay at the beginning of the trip again. I was re-embersed for a half week out of the eight we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool was well maintained
Liked least: The loud noise and toxic smells of construction
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2013
I absolutely don't agree with your complaints.
You say that we had loud construction works tiling and varnishing/coloring.
Which loud disturbance you can have of varnishing and coloring in a 40 m far away unit???
Coloring and also tiling is a absolutely silent job.
You say there was no Wi-Fi internet access. Fact is that on our property are 2 (in words two) of the best routers imported from the USA on which the same time can be connected up to 16 computers. Never mind we have no flat rate there is no surcharge and the service is free. We have to pay for your use and you used it a lot as I can see on the bill. Depending on the quality of your receiving computer, tablet or phone you can get the signal on over 4000 sqm of our property!!!
One more of your smart statements is "the internet access was not worth the mosquito biting." Can anybody explain me the logical link between this two things and how you could get internet access if there was no access like you said before?? You are not really complaining you only want to make trouble.
To come to the point. You write about passive aggressive behavior. Fact is that I got physical attacked of your husband when he had too much beer. Afterwards I didn't see your husband any more outside the house and you wanted to leave earlier. Never mind that in our cancellation policy is written that we don't refund no-shows and early goes I refunded you 50% of the rental fee for the 7 days you went earlier!!
Perhaps you should read all the other reviews we got for Villa Blue Banana, the Pool Apartment and Villa Maracuja to see who and how we are.......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fluelen, Switzerland
Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The gorgeous view over the abundant vegetation and the bay
Liked least: The bad condition of the access road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NotSimon
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy Fiji the luxirious way at reasonable price.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We are a young couple travelling on a budget. Destination: the World. First stop: Fiji. We booked the Blue Banana Villa for almost two weeks and this place is as peaceful as advertised.

For us, it was the perfect way to enjoy Savusavu and its surroundings. We were unlucky enough to get about 5 days of rain and cloudy weather, which we used to relax onto this tidy property. As we were undecided about what to do on Vanua Levu, Mario and Tatjana (who were the perfect hosts, as discreet we needed !) were really helpful concerning their proposal of activities and the people they put us in contact with. Special mention to the taxi driver and the car rental ;)

Oh, by the way, getting our laundry done once a week was a really appreciated convenience. We would return to Villa Blue Banana anytime.

Simon & Alexandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, Price, Hosts, Pool, Calm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetancik
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best holiday ever”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We just got back from our 10 days holiday at Blue Banana and we had a unique and wonderful experience! From the moment we arrived we were amazed by the place: my husband's first comment after we were shown our place was: "wow, is it really where we are staying? This looks way nicer than on the pictures!" Initially I thought I would be a little disappointed as the place is not right on the beach and the walk back up a hill is steep: while it is only 400m horizontally it is a 100m vertical climb. However after the first day I found myself falling in love with the place succumbing to its quiet magic. We woke every morning at 6 30 (without any alarm) to the song of birds and the trickling of the of the water in the creek outside our window. Waking up that early was a total novelty to us, but what was even more strange that we felt completely rested and refreshed. Whether it was because the bed was so comfortable, the quiet and peace around us, the fresh air and healthy tiredness from the previous day or the excitement of the adventures of this upcoming day, I don't know. We then sat on a deck enjoying the view, drinking a cup of coffee, eating toast with fresh fruit (pawpaw, pineapples, bananas) either from the market or directly from Tatjana's garden enjoying the view of the bay, reading a book or just sitting and soaking up the moment. The fact the place is up the hill turned to be a blessing in some way as this means there is a gentle breeze and it was not as hot, there were less mosquitoes and the view of course was stunning. Around 8 30 we would finally get our act organized to go do something. We would either
1. slowly meander to town and go to the market. Savusavu is about 5k walk, about an hour, but the walk in itself is a relaxing experience: you get to see a lots of locals and witness their day to day life, the road is unsealed and fairly quiet, and resembles a walk through a forgotten botanical gardens: hibiscus and other flowers are growing wildly between pawpaw, bananas and coconuts and some other trees we didn't know. We thought some days may be we should skip going to market and get fruit directly off the trees, but figured those trees must be owned by someone, there are no fences so it is hard to tell. All along on the left side is the sea, so when we got hot we went for a swim. The market was great: coming from NZ winter where tomatoes are 13 NZD/kg, having tomatoes sold by a "heap" for 1 FJD, along with eggplants, cucumbers, green/yellow beans and chillis (all for a 1dollar a "heap"), was like letting a hungry kid in a candy store! We generally caught a taxi to go back: standard fare is 10 $FJD for a normal car, that would drop you at the bottom of the hill, 15$ FJD for a 4WD that would take you right to the house. Tatjana and Mario have recomended we use Ratnish, and we did: he is a great guy and a ride in taxi was always a fun experience (the sign always joyful on his car is very appropriate) and he only charged 7$ FJD, but we often asked him to etiher leave at the bottom (as he was canning his car going up the hill) or give him a tip.
2. Other days we went snorkelling. Split rock is a famous place and is about 15-20min walk. It is a tower of coral surrounded by sworms of different multicolored friendly fish, some of which even nibbled on us. However it is not very big and only takes a few minutes to swim around it. We wanted more so we generally walked to the entrance of Cousteau resort (20-30min walk from our place). The beach and the ocean in front of it are public property (despite them trying to claim otherwise). On the left side (the ocean side) of the jetty are lots of different corals some are bright blue and some are purple, with lots of different fish of all kinds and sizes! We thought the water was not super clear, but we didn't time our snorkeling trips very well: we had unusual amounts of rain, so the water was draining down the hill and making the bay a little muddy. Also at out-coming tide the water is more dirty is everything from the bay is getting washed out. Mario did recommend we go at incoming tide, but it took us a while to figure it out (we should have listened to Mario right away) . One day we went when the tide was coming in and it was almost high tide. It was stunning: the water was beautiful and there were flocks of amazing fish out feeding on the fresh nutrients, the sun came out and was reflecting on the coral highlighting its different colors, I really felt as if I became part of those "underwater world" movies we see on discovery channel! We decided to take this experience further and give a try to scuba diving. Again Tatjana's and Mario's experience and advice not only were very helpful but it also saved us a lots of money. We were going to go with Cousteau diving, but they recommended we give Koro Sun dive a ring. We did, and we are so glad we did! They picked us up in town (so the fact they are on the other side of peninsula was not a problem at all) and they were really cool. We will put a review on their site, but for the scope of the review on Blue Banana, it is important to say that there is world class, stunning, amazing diving pretty much at the doorstep! So this leads 3. On other days we caught taxi, went in town and went diving, which was awesome! Then we walked back home along the No1 pattern: stopping for swimming stops as we felt like it. Sometimes we ate lunch at captain cafe: they have yummy fish if you feel like spoiling yourself! Some days we packed lunch with us.

In the evening we would cook our dinner and eat it on the deck, lit by citronella candles, we watched the sun go down on the other side of peninsula, the stars and the moon come out, the lights of the boats below in the bay. Feeling completely relaxed, spoiled and utterly lucky to be there.
Overall our experience there put us in an utterly state or relaxation and internal peace.
Tatjana and Mario deserve a special mention too as they were the nicest host we have ever met. Genuine and humble they made all the efforts to make our stay comfortable. Their local knowledge and advice were priceless. They are not a kind of people that great everyone with artificial smile and Bula! like in some resorts, instead you can really tell that they sincerely care for each of their guests and try to accommodate everyone's personal needs.
So in summary, if you are looking to stay on a beach in a resort type setting, having activites organised and food cooked for you, you may not like it here. If you want to experience some of real fiji, have your independecy and complete freedom to do what you want when you want, eat what you feel like when you feel like, YET, feel completely spoiled and stay in luxury at the same time (yes, sounds impossible, but it is actually possibly) then that's the right place! The house itself is stunning, all handcrafted from native timber by Mario and his team. It has everything you need to live comfortably: the shower is great with unlimited hot water. The bed is comfy. All windows have good mosquito nets so no mosquito inside. The wrap around deck is amazing and a view to the bay is magic. The house is set in a peaceful garden type setting and from the house all you see and hear are birds, trees and the bay way below. You hardly see or hear the other guests. It is worth bringing some moquito coils or citronella candles to sit on the deck: the insects are not as bad as at sea level, but there are still some. What was also nice is that Tatjana and Marion have their own artesial spring, so you can drink water directly from the tap and not worry. The house gets cleaned twice a week and even your washing gets done and brought back to you neatly folded. The only downside to the place may be that it is not right on the beach and that the beach at the bottom of the hill may not be one of the nicest in Fiji. However this is easily outweighed by the positives and there are some bonus for being up the hill. And to be fair, for the price you pay (66 USD a night) you could rent a car (Mario and Tatjana can organise a car for you for 80 FJD) so for around 160 FJD you would have a stunning place and car to drive you anywhere (plenty of stunning beaches all around), and it would still be cheaper (and way nicer) anything you can rent right on the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
482PaulS4...
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa with fantastic view of Savusavu bay”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for two weeks in July 2012 at Villa Blue Banana. The villa is located on a hillside set in two acres of beautifully maintained tropical gardens, lots of coconut palms, fresh coconuts, breadfruit and other exotic species. There is a small swimming pool ideal for chilling out and soaking up the ambience.
The villa has a contemporary feel, teak flooring double doors that fold open to a large deck, with impressive views. The bed was very comfortable, something my wife was very grateful for as she cant stand a hard mattress. The kitchen was fully functional, there was a tv and wireless internet too. Hot water was always on hand.
The owners, Mario and his wonderful wife Tatyana were very helpful, we dined with them a few times, enjoying intelligent and humorous conversation. We also found their integrity to equal that of the local Fijian people who are considered to be the most friendly people on the planet. They showed us around Savusavu, and went with us on a couple of snorkeling trips showing us the location of the famous split rock, a thirty foot tower of coral known as a bomme. There were hundreds if not thousands of fish, some species I had not encountered on previous snorkel adventures. Also, they were very helpful in regard to my wife and I securing a 4x4 vehicle for a pleasantly discounted sum, which enriched our experience of the island of Vanua Levu.
The villa and our laundry was cleaned about every third day by Use, pronounced usey a local Fijian lady who worked very hard and had the heart and soul of an angel.
We miss the sounds of the jungle, the serenity, the views, the clarity of the southern hemisphere night sky, the warm ocean water, excellent snorkeling, and most of all the people we met.
We intend to return in a couple of years.
p.s. The grog ceremony on the deck of Villa Blue Banana was a real surprise. Bula Savu and to your family!
Thankyou, Mario and Tatyana.
Paul & Susan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and the views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed May 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are a lot of good features.
Liked least: Saying goodbye.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiji
Reviewed January 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing