We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is the place to relax and rejuvinate.”
other travelers have booked this property
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Spacious cottage nestled in cool Fijian forest! Dining room with forest & ocean views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Spacious cottage nestled in cool Fijian forest!
Dining room with forest & ocean views!
Private, spacious bedroom with forest views.
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Relax on your large covered veranda
Your private island awaits you!
Unlimited use of our Double Sea Kayak
Great fishing adventures!
A bamboo raft & a coconut, relax Fiji style
Anyone for a swim?
Visit our local Fijian village!
Sunset swim at Sekawa Beach
Pineapple flower from our organic garden
Snorkel in the clear warm waters of Fiji
Everybody can join in the fun!
Our Friendly Dolphin Escort!
The Nasekawa River
Sekawa Coastline as Sunset
Fijian Dance Show
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden surrounded by the abundance of life of the jungle.
Liked least: Well, there are some mosquitoes -- you can still enjoy the lanai.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and personal touch
Liked least: Rather slow internet connection, a common problem in Vanua Levu
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan L
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Month of Relaxation in Sekawa”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Our family of four spent a month at Roy and Lisa's cottage just before Christmas. Our stay was exactly what we were looking for. The cottage had more than enough space for the four of us to live comfortably. The kitchen was very well equipped. The water quality was amazing. The cottage has a comfortable living space with a TV and great surround sound. Roy and Lisa have a large collection of movies for those rainy days or evening family time. Wifi was available for a reasonable price and it was surprisingly fast and reliable. The cottage has a beautiful deck that overlooks the lush grounds. Roy and Lisa have worked hard to develop the grounds. There are beautiful plants and flowers everywhere and Lisa regularly brought us fruit that was grown on their property.
The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk from the cottage. We walked down almost every day. We loved to stroll in the morning or after dinner with the kids (2 girls, 8 and 10). We would search for shells, splash in the water or take out the kayak. The walk up is strenuous but we made this our exercise and it got easier as the month wore on.
We met so many wonderful people on our daily walks and the beach never had more than a handful of people on it.
Roy and Lisa live on the same property within close proximity of the cottage. This was a great advantage as they were around whenever we needed anything. We shared kava and a few meals together. Roy cleaned the fish that we caught and their dog Vatu was welcomed on our deck each evening for a visit. When we wanted privacy you would barely know they were there. They arranged to have Sunita come to the cottage to cook Indian food for us on Mondays which was very economical and delicious! Lisa also arranged for us to go fishing twice with Ted. He took us up the river mouth and into the bay. We were fishing with hand lines and we had a great time. We also visited the village of Vuondomo (sp?). The waterfall and swimming here was great!
The trip into Savusavu took about 25 minutes. We did not have a car and it worked great for us. We planned to use public transportation in and then a taxi to go back but we were often able to catch a ride in with Roy and Lisa or other neighbors which was nice. Groceries were quite reasonably priced and Lisa gave us great tips about where to shop.
Overall this was an amazing, relaxing month for our family. Roy and Lisa were gracious hosts who made us feel welcome. We will always remember the month we spent at their beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsargen...
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute perfection!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed a week in this amazing cottage and felt at home immediately. Roy and Lisa are the perfect hosts and the quiet peaceful location was just right for getting to know Fiji. The nearby beach was great...we kayaked out to the reef and up the river which was unbelievably beautiful. The house is spotlessly clean and very well equipped...we cooked every meal and had everything we could have needed right at hand. There were books to read, music, great bird watching from the deck and even a substitute dog when we missed ours! Thank you Roy and Lisa, for one of the best rentals we have experienced anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the owners wonderful advice
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainlandm...
Whittier, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For those who want a home not a hotel!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I couldn't be happier with our experience at the guests home of our hosts Roy and Lisa. We needed to be close to Savusavu for a friends wedding but wanted to avoid staying in another cheesy over priced resort! The location is peaceful, the home clean and complete with washer and dryer (hot water shower) full kitchen, flat screen tv/dvd player with surround sound, wrap around covered lanai. This is a perfect spot for the those who dont mind cooking their own meals, but if you want to go out to eat, town is just 25 min up the road. Things to consider when booking this sekawa cottages...

- rental car
there are so many beautiful things to see and a taxi or bus gives you no time to pause and take it in. Get a 4x4 if you have a choice at the rental car place. Plus you will end up paying wayyyy to much in taxi fares getting around! you can find a 4x4 car for $120 fijian a day (around 80usd)

- Be a self-reliant activity planner
Resrots are great at filling every moment of the day with some kind of activity! there is lots to do, just ask your hosts, they will point you in the right direction, and even make a few phone calls to set up waterfall tours and cultural shows that come right to the house!
-if you would rather set up shop with a good book, this is perfect for you!

- Be ready to cook
The market in Savusavu has more than enough variety to make many yummy fresh meals from local produce and Fish. Lisa can also arrange for a local women to prepare Fiji-indian style cooking to be brought to the home if you would rather not cook or drive into town.

- Internet!!
yes, you are in teh middle of the boonies! but there is a cell phone tower that pumps a 3G signal which is fast enough to stream video. This is an extra costs, but just let them know that you would like to have internet and they will make it happen.

Roy and Lisa are lovely talented people, you gotta have a look at Lisa's jewelery work! Beautiful and affordable freshwater pearl work, and if you are lucky you can hear Roy pluck away on his guitar! I thought i was listening to a recording while he was playing!!!

Any further questions you might have about this spot, just email the owners! Can't wait to come back!!!

Stu

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All I listed above...
Liked least: checking out!! haha! There are times just as the sun goes down that the crickets can be noisy!! but not overly annoying! cant get away from that in Fiji!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicR650
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“See the real Fiji and one of the most scenic islands in the Pacific”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you are looking for a self contained cottage near Savusavu I can highly recommend the Sekawa Beach Cottage. The place is spotless and is set in a lovely tropical garden setting and is a credit to the owners. It is extremely good value for money. The local people are all very friendly and as tourism is not large on the island you feel more like a visitor and guest rather than a tourist. You can feel yourself slipping into Fiji time and slowing down as you explore the surrounding mountains and valleys ( some of the best tropical scenery in the world) , go to the local market for produce, visit a village, swimming, walking and kayaking.
The owners (Lisa and Roy) will make you very welcomed and offer advice on what to do, what to see and other handy hints with regards to Island life and customs.
We enjoyed our stay very much and the nine nights we stayed went very fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and setting
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$85
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing