We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“See the real Fiji and one of the most scenic...”
other travelers have booked this property
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Spacious cottage nestled in cool Fijian forest! Dining room with forest & ocean views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Our own private 2 km. long beach
Spacious cottage nestled in cool Fijian forest!
Dining room with forest & ocean views!
Private, spacious bedroom with forest views.
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Relax on your large covered veranda
Your private island awaits you!
Unlimited use of our Double Sea Kayak
Great fishing adventures!
A bamboo raft & a coconut, relax Fiji style
Anyone for a swim?
Visit our local Fijian village!
Sunset swim at Sekawa Beach
Pineapple flower from our organic garden
Snorkel in the clear warm waters of Fiji
Everybody can join in the fun!
Our Friendly Dolphin Escort!
The Nasekawa River
Sekawa Coastline as Sunset
Fijian Dance Show
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
VicR650
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“See the real Fiji and one of the most scenic islands in the Pacific”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you are looking for a self contained cottage near Savusavu I can highly recommend the Sekawa Beach Cottage. The place is spotless and is set in a lovely tropical garden setting and is a credit to the owners. It is extremely good value for money. The local people are all very friendly and as tourism is not large on the island you feel more like a visitor and guest rather than a tourist. You can feel yourself slipping into Fiji time and slowing down as you explore the surrounding mountains and valleys ( some of the best tropical scenery in the world) , go to the local market for produce, visit a village, swimming, walking and kayaking.
The owners (Lisa and Roy) will make you very welcomed and offer advice on what to do, what to see and other handy hints with regards to Island life and customs.
We enjoyed our stay very much and the nine nights we stayed went very fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and setting
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToesUpInT...
Harrison Twp. Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage & Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We visited in mid-May 2013. The cottage is beautiful and well maintained. The beach, which is just a short walk down the hill, has black sand. It was actually the nicest beach we saw in Savusavu. The others we visited all had a lot of coral, which was difficult to walk on without reef shoes. The black sand was nice and soft. We went for a walk on the beach with Lisa and her friend Marty and we were the only ones there! It was secluded and just gorgeous.

We wish we could have spent more time at Sekawa Beach Cottages! The owners, Roy and Lisa, are very hospitable and have much information to share about Savusavu and Sekawa Beach. They invited us to lunch with a group of their friends one day. That was such a pleasant afternoon. After lunch we played cards and visited with all of our new friends. They even sang us a farewell song in Fijian. My husband and I both had tears in our eyes when they finished.

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation in a spotless cottage amid beautiful surroundings, then Sekawa Beach Cottages is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the beach
Liked least: Proximity to owners residence
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deserted beach and cottage view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DTurn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and Good Value”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The cottage is very clean and comfortable. Having a washer and dryer is a plus. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Lisa, the owner, kept the cottage stocked with beautiful flowers from the gardens. Lisa and Roy, the owners, were very accomodating and helpful with their vast knowledge of Fiji. We used the kayak several times which was a real treat to be out on the water. It is close enough to walk to the beach -- a little steep coming back up from the beach, but a beautiful walk. The cottage is located close to the Fijian communities; therefore, you have the opportunity to visit with the local fijians ----observe a Meke ceremony, visit their community, do Kava, and take a trip to the waterfalls. Lisa and Roy are close by and want to ensure you have a great time while staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was beautiful. Owners great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshamar...
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage in the Forrest/Jungle”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This private well maintained and equipped cottage is especially appropriate for people who want to get away from it all and relax or for those interested in fishing, as it is somewhat isolated and about a 20 minute drive from anything even resembling a town (Suvasuva-which we found quite charming in itself), and the owners have their own fishing boat that you can charter as much as you want. They are accomplished fishermen and can really show you where the fish are.

The cottage is located next to the owner's own residence so you will feel like you are visiting relatives, as this is how you will be treated (assuming, of course, that you and your relatives actually like each other). The owners are probably the best reason to rent this particular property as they love to talk about their adopted country and island. They have lived there about 18 years so they are a real treasure-house of information, and are happy to share with you as much or as little as you would like.

This is not a "beach" location in that it is up a road a couple hundred yards from the actual beach and it's views are mostly of the lush tropical vegetation surrounding it. The setting is quite nice and peaceful, it just is not beachfront, if that is important to you.

This cottage is so well equipped that it would be particularly appropriate for long stays of several weeks or months, which can be booked at discount rates. It is really like having your own home in paradise. If you go on their VRBO website you can see a list of everything it includes- it is just too extensive for me to list here.

One tip I can offer you is about buying DVDs in the small town to both watch while you are here, and to take home with you. Coming from the U.S. we are used to paying 15 to 20 dollars for each movie, while in Figi you can buy the same movies of the same quality for as little as 50 cents U.S. You can also find many interesting movies that are in English but not available in the U.S. We went a little crazy and bought about 100 of them, many of which come 4 or 5 on the same disk. Amazing! They actually burn them while you stand there. As for taking them back to the U.S., who knows. There is also an extensive list of movies at the cottage that you can watch for free, along with some great music C.D.s.

We loved our stay here and would reccommed it to others, but it does require a car or long taxi rides if you want to explore the rest of the island, and I do not think it would be a good choice for people traveling with young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the peacefulness
Liked least: The drive into town
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaharaDun...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with a 3 year old and 5 year old and stayed at Sekawa Beach Cottage in May 2012. Our review is as follows:

•Sekawa Cottage is a clean, comfortable one bedroom home with the kitchen well stocked with cooking and eating utensils. There are two additional single beds in the living room.
•The cottage is on a hillside rainforest setting with a wonderful large wrap around verandah.
•The clothes dryer is very handy given the tropical environment.
•A pretty and secluded black sand beach is about a 5-10 minutes walk away.
•The cottage has an excellent music sound system.
•The owner’s house is about 15-20 metres away with no dividing fence in-between and Sekawa Cottage partly shares a grassed outdoor area with this house. One has to walk through the grounds of the main house to access the cottage. The American owners Lisa and Roy are friendly and helpful people however the proximity of the two homes may not appeal to those seeking maximum privacy and solitude.
•Being in the foothills on the leeward side of a mountainous island one has to expect a degree of rain. One also has to expect mosquitoes however they were not as bad as expected and the house is well screened.
•The cottage is about 20-25 minutes drive from the nearest town being Savusavu. Taxi fare is FJD20, buses are infrequent. Cars can be rented from Savusavu.
•The cottage is good value and enables one to experience a self sufficient independent stay on the very pretty and very friendly island of Vanua Levu. The town of Savusavu is also full of character.
•With limited exception, Vanua Levu does not offer a multitude of postcard style beaches i.e. fine white sand crystal clear blue water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanai City, Hawaii
Reviewed September 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fishing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing