We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of KoroSun Dive

KoroSun Dive
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bula Re! We're a family owned & operated dive store operating out of Savusavu for over 12 years now and our rates include all quality gear, transport & taxes - no hidden surprises in our hidden paradise when diving with us! New diver or pro, we offer you truly safe, professional & friendly scuba diving adventures with some of the best diving in Fiji,and most certainly Savusavu. Variety is the spice of life & as you take the plunge under water you'll wonder why you waited so long to come & dive with us! About 15 minutes from our marina at Savasi Island to our local dive sites we have many varied sites to explore which offer some of the best scuba diving in Fiji. Scalloped hammerheads, pelagics, soft corals, swim thrus & caverns & we also dive the world premiere dive sites of Namena Marine Reserve, Rainbow Reef & White Wall in the Somosomo Strait when weather and numbers allow. Combine the fantastic underwater seascapes with our well earned reputation for safety & service & you'll have yourself a dive experience that won't disappoint. When you're not blowing bubbles down under, the local landscape, climate & people will rival the underwater thrills. When it's time to leave we're pretty sure you won't want to!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun diving”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Janine and Colin were really good fun to be around. They were really helpful initially in finding us accommodation and giving us information on the ferries. There are some really good dive sites. We enjoyed seeing a hammerhead at Dreamhouse. Some of the sites have some really good swim throughs. There was a really good variety of fish. Unfortunately we couldn't get out to Namena. It's a 2 hour boat ride there and the boat had issues. They couldn't take us the next day either but they had no issues with us contacting another dive centre to see if they could. The weather turned and we didn't make it with them either but I was impressed that Colin and Janine put our dive experience above losing our business that day.

They are very relaxed and choose dive sites on the day (apart from Namena). They make you feel at home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SherilynD572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Bula, Altho we appreciate the review, as we do every review, unlike most reviews I reply to I am not going to respond to this reviewer directly due to a number of reasons, the foremost being I emailed the guest personally to ask in what areas we did not rate a 5 star review in as we are always keen to remedy any area we are lacking in. I have received no response from her as per such. So, I am not sure where she feels let down.
However, prior to her arrival she sent me dozens of emails regarding diving and accommodations and set me about arranging such. I remember feeling like an unpaid travel agent, and told her that. We are happy to arrange accommodation, but without hassle! Unlike this situation.The logistics of her changing dates and therefore accommodation saw me spend huge time and $ amounts trying to accommodate her and her husband. They enjoyed such great and nicely priced accommodation in the end, due to my extended efforts.
We never guaranteed Namena, this is our company policy. We will try to get you there if we can, but no promises due to numbers, weather and in their unlucky event boat issues.
So, having gone out of our way for these guests I am not sure where they feel we did not give them a 5* experience, which they expressed they had with us while with us.
It is what it is. :O) J-9 and the KSD Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    8
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkelling experience and great value”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My spouse and I had a wonderful snorkelling experience with Korosun who, although specialising in diving, also offer great value snorkelling trips which may be mixed with other divers or snorkellers. They were flexible about fitting around our plans especially being the only snorkellers that day and picked us up from our nearby accommodation.

We went on a professional dive boat to a location not too far from shore and were blown away by the amazing underwater corals and sealife. It was one of the best experiences of our trip to Fiji and I'd recommend it to anyone snorkelling their way around the islands.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Bula & Vinaka for posting a snorkelling review. We are glad you had a great snorkelling experience with us and acknowledge that we are primarily a dive operation, but have a great snorkelling spot and if snorkellers can fit around our dive schedule then for $25 fjd the snorkellers get a great time in the water seeing some great stuff!
Vinaka vakalevu for posting folks, :O) the KSD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great diving with this professional team”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The deep sea diving with Korosun at Savu Savu was truly a great experience. This was our first deep sea dive experience after having obtained our open water dive certificates. We did a total of about 8 dives each. The team were professional. They took care in making sure we felt safe and not in any danger. I quickly forgot any anxiety about breathing under water as I was amazed by the beautiful under water world of the fish and corals. We did many varied dives including vertical coral walls, a marine park 2 hours drive by motor vessel from the coast and also through semi caves. The equipment provided was top quality. The dive masters took great effort in showing us sea creatures tucked away in habitats you would otherwise not have noticed. Thoroughly recommend diving with Korosun. We will take another trip to Fiji and dive with Korosun again. Thank you Korosun!! Jane and Thomas (from Sydney Australia) xxxxx

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Bula!

So glad we could make your first certified dives so special! Now you'll be looking for diving to rival your first dives...keep us posted about what you find! Happy to hear you felt safe in our care and saw so much that impressed you, and that you appreciate our quality gear.
We look forward to seeing you back again, so stay in touch as there are very many accommodation options here in our Hidden Paradise.

Vaka nuinui vinaka vakalevu (have a great day!), the KSD Family x back at yah!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Boat Around”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I dove with Koro Sun Dive for a week at the end of January. All in all, it was a very good experience. First of all, the boat is just awesome. Fast, confortable, spacious (as much as a day boat can be). The reefs just outside the door are quite good and provide a good option regardless of the weather. Even got to see the Hammerheads. One other note, if you do the Hammerhead dive, know how to maintain buoyancy. I was with a group of marginally competent divers one day and the 4 (yes 4!) divemasters had their hands full keeping the 6 clients from killing themselves due to poor diving skills.

A couple of points that anyone considering going to Suva Suva should know.

1. The reefs outside Koro Sun are the only ones I know near the island that are still in tact. The others have been decimated by the Crown of Thorns starfish. If you go with Cousteau, you will find this out quite quickley.

2. Bring friends! What I mean by this is that any boat on the island needs 6 to make Namena Preserve or The Straights. This is why you come to Suva Suva. In the 12 days or so I have been on the island (2 trips), I have made Namena 3 times and never the straights. A source of much frustration. Namena is the best diving I have done anywhere in the world (and I have dove in many top places).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenPinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Bula Vinaka, thanks for the great review and tips for potential guests. Yes, Namena is weather and number dependent as is Somosomo Straits. We'll try our best to get you there, but we never make any promises we cannot deliver!
We usually have a high staff to guest ratio so can look after needy divers as well as those who are fish and appear not to breathe underwater!
Our boat is a good one, and we are proud of her, but as is always the case, we have occasional boat issues, but such are usually dealt with expediently.
Our dive sites have not suffered from the crown of thorns as you noted and we have a wide range of local diving available just minutes from our marina.
Cheers and vinaka vakalevu for taking the time to record your experience with us! :O) The KSD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkelling and diving”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Absolutely loved our times with the folks at Korosun Dive. To begin with, all the basic ingredients: great boat, excellent equipment, free pickups and drop-off in Savusavu town, reasonable prices (who could believe a day of snorkelling for $25 FJD if you have your own equipment!). Follow this up with exquisite reef sites: terrific array of colourful and healthy coral (check out the "magic" coral when you are diving there) and teeming with fish, turtles, sharks, nudibranches.... And then add the knowledgeable and experienced owners and staff. The dives were perfect, nice and easy going with plenty of interesting creatures, caves and canyons with remarkable light effects. Stephen, who we really think should be a movie star, led the dives with professional expertise. And no rush to surface, dives well over an hour whenever the air allowed. Relaxed enjoyment of the underwater and Stephen knew all the best sights. Ahhh, imagine hovering a meter from a turtle sleeping on a bed of coral. And many thanks to Anna for her advice on improving my diving technique.

The snorkelling was as great as the diving. Snorkellers can enjoy most of the same sites as the divers and when the dive sites are deeper, the boat man Li will engage the snorkelers with insights into Fijian life and cuisine.

Korosun really goes out of their way to make both divers and snorkelers welcome. One day, I was the only diver and another day, there were NO divers and they were agreeable to take out just the two of us snorkelling.

We would also mention about the rates on the website. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a discount from the website rates by paying Fiji cash dollars for diving.

Janine and Colin, thanks for the memorable Fijian underwater experiences.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Bula Folks, it was great to get to know you and to share our underwater world, both by diving and snorkelling. We certainly strive to make every guest's experience with us a positive one both above and below water and are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us.
We thank you for your broad and positive commentary on our operation and know that Sir Stevo is a legend in his own lunch box! He smiles at your comment, OK, not just smiles, but grins!
Isn't the magic coral cool!?! Along with all the other special things we have. So glad you have such great memories of our Hidden Paradise, and we look forward to staying in touch.
Vinaka vakalevu from the KoroSun Dive Family :O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KoroSun Dive also viewed

 

Been to KoroSun Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing