We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better way to experience the 'soft coral capital of the world'”
Review of KoroSun Dive

KoroSun Dive
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bula Re! We're a family owned & operated dive store operating out of Savusavu for over 12 years now and our rates include all quality gear, transport & taxes - no hidden surprises in our hidden paradise when diving with us! New diver or pro, we offer you truly safe, professional & friendly scuba diving adventures with some of the best diving in Fiji,and most certainly Savusavu. Variety is the spice of life & as you take the plunge under water you'll wonder why you waited so long to come & dive with us! About 15 minutes from our marina at Savasi Island to our local dive sites we have many varied sites to explore which offer some of the best scuba diving in Fiji. Scalloped hammerheads, pelagics, soft corals, swim thrus & caverns & we also dive the world premiere dive sites of Namena Marine Reserve, Rainbow Reef & White Wall in the Somosomo Strait when weather and numbers allow. Combine the fantastic underwater seascapes with our well earned reputation for safety & service & you'll have yourself a dive experience that won't disappoint. When you're not blowing bubbles down under, the local landscape, climate & people will rival the underwater thrills. When it's time to leave we're pretty sure you won't want to!
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fiji has some of the best diving in the world and there is no better way to experience this piece of heaven than with KoroSun Dive! I was staying at a Villa in Savusavu and KoroSun was recommended by many of the locals above all other dive companies on the island so I knew this was the place to go to. My experience in Savusavu was so spectacular (Korosun played an integral part in this) that I am planning a trip back and brining friends and family so they too can experience the amazing diving this part of the world has to offer. Janine and Colin (the adorable couple who run KoroSun dive) could not have been more professional and knowledgable about the area and diving in general. We felt extremely safe and well taken care of during our dives. We did 2 dives this day to Namena island, Grand Central Station and Chimneys. I have never seen so many vibrant colors and so many fish in my life! This truly was a remarkable experience which was heightened by the expertise, professionalism and joyful personalities of the folks at KoroSun. I WILL be back and Im brining my friends because everyone I love needs to experience this part of the world. Vinaka KoroSun!

1  Thank BonnieLeighHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Bula Re and Vinaka Vakalevu Lewa!

We know you are coming back and we're so happy you're coming back and we more than welcome your friends and family so they can play in our underwater world - we love to share!! It's 6 days and counting! After 3 visits to Fiji we know your heart belongs here...you have the Fiji bug! Looking forward to the long term playtime diving we will have!!

Namena is indeed awesome, but we also have some great local diving, especially with those hammerheads (Colin's favourites!)! Although I love our soft corals and swim thrus and caverns.

So looking forward to seeing you again lewa, and Bula for your recommendation of The REAL FIJI!

Au lomani iko buna, the KSD family, your family!! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really enjoyed getting to know and dive with Collin, Janine and the rest of the clan (Steven, Mr.T and Lizzy) at Korosun Dive! They did a great job organizing and executing the dive plans. From first contact (email) they were accommodating, helpful and provided great information to help me plan diving into my holiday. They helped me get geared-up and ready to dive. They set good expectations for what to see. I only had 4 dives over 2 days but the dive sites they chose were diverse, beautiful, interesting and great adventures. We managed to see so much life among the reefs from nudibranchs, anemones, plenty o' fish, sharks, an eel and even a manta ray. They were professional and friendly and I'm glad to have met such quality people in a remote yet beautiful part of the world. Love you guys, be safe and dive on!

Thank Meanderermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Bula Vinaka for a swish review!

All of us, the KSD Clan, also enjoyed your time with us albeit so brief. You waxed lyrical on an array of topics and had us in stitches of laughter so many times! Diving with you was fun too!

We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us from initial email contact and during your diving and above water time. We likewise had such nice vibes.

We also enjoy quality people in our remote yet beautiful part of the world!! Vinaka for joining us and being one of them! People like you make our life fun and we love to share our underwater world!

We're looking forward to your return and will be sure to stay in touch thru emails and facebook. Lolomas our special friend, the KSD Family. xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you happen to find yourself in SavuSavu on the Island of Vanua Levu in Fiji you definitely have to visit KoroSun Dive!

We were staying at a Resort which was right across the road, however if you are staying elsewhere on the Island it is quite easy to get a bus, a reasonably priced taxi or hire a car to get there. We have dived in many locations around Australia and Vanuatu and have never had it so easy!

My partner and I hesitated about whether to take our own gear on this trip because of changes by the airlines reducing the oversize baggage dimensions and allowances since our last overseas holiday which meant that using our old dive bags was impractical. Upon reading the reviews of KoroSun Dive reviews however we decided not to and we definitely made the right choice. The quality of gear that the shop provided for us was great, and they have everything. They even load it onto the boat for you! Not to mention the fact that you don’t have to dry your gear out before you fly home!

We had two teenagers with us who decided they wanted to do a Discover Scuba Dive so we went to speak with the shop owners and met Janine who is a lovely, wonderful, friendly lady and a wealth of knowledge about Fiji, traveling and of course diving! We met her husband Colin who was also very friendly and after only a half hour chat made me feel more than happy to leave the kids in their care.

As every diver knows, the weather is never reliable nor as kind or cooperative as we would hope and we had to wait two days before our first dive yet this gave the kids a chance to do their theory and pool work before the big descent later in the week. Colin did predict when the weather would improve and he was spot on! This is always a good sign in a dive shop operator! : )

When the kids finally enjoyed their very first dive, Colin took care of them the whole time introducing them to the Fiji diving experience, and, best of all (well in my opinion) when one of the kids had a premature ascent quite a distance from the boat, it came to get us! No long surface swims!

I highly recommend you try a DSD with KoroSun Dive, even if you have never thought about doing it before, if you decide to, this diving operation is the one to do it with!

The only thing I would mention is if you aren’t keen on diving with sharks, you should definitely say something. They are more than obliging and I am sure would find a dive location that is more coral and fish, and if you are lucky maybe a turtle!

Thank you very much to Janine and Colin, who made our holiday and diving experience stress free! They are reasonably priced, will look after all of your needs, (even for those of you who get seasick) If there is anything at all you would like to know before, during or after your trip, just ask them, email or call and I am sure they will have an answer for you!

Vinaka KoroSun Dive!

2  Thank 658Sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bula Vinaka Family! How lovely to hear from you and to know that you had such a great dive experience with us.
Airline weight and size restrictions are making it increasingly difficult and costly for divers, especially on the domestic leg of the Fiji journey to us. We include all gear in our pricing and are always pleased to hear from our guests that they think we have great gear. We work hard to ensure we have a range of up-to-date & well maintained kit, and by doing so we can help take some of the stress and costs out of travelling to dive with us.
When not being "The Weather Oracle", our bosso levu owner/instructor with around 15,000 dives under his belt, is always excited about conducting Discover Scuba Diver & Open Water courses. Introducing people to the underwater world for the first time, and particularly to our underwater world, is a joy. The smiling faces and happy guests when they come up from their first dive is a thrill every time. And having been a teacher in a previous life, seeing the skill base of the new divers improve with each underwater experience is very rewarding. Vinaka for recommending us!
We have a range of dive sites with diverse marine life. We cannot guarantee you won't see a shark, but we cannot guarantee you will either! But we can take you to places that increase your chances to see or not to see! Let us know what you want to see for sure!
I'm always really happy to answer questions and offer advice prior to arrival or on site. We enjoy meeting people and sharing our world, both below and above water with our guests and we aim to make your holiday stress free and full of fond memories!!!
Vinaka vakalevu for such a great review that covers almost everything!! We really enjoyed your company and look forward to staying in touch to plan future diving adventures! Loloma from the KoroSun Dive Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My son is 12 and did his first dive. The guys were great he watched a short dvd, written exam then a practice dive in a pool, The staff made sure the weather was just right the he had his first dive in the ocean. Best experience he has ever had.

Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Bula Vinaka! We're so glad your son enjoyed the dive experience. It was well worth waiting for the weather to settle. We look forward to welcoming your boy to the PADI family in the future! Happy days to you both from the KoroSun Dive Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Did my Open Water Certificate with Koro Sun in June 2013. I was tipped that Fiji was the place to go and upon researching, Koro Sun Dive in SavuSavu had the best reviews. They exceeded all my expectations in terms of professional, friendly, personable service and the diving was nothing short of incredible. Communications with Koro sun were prompt and with the personal and friendly service that they are renown for. Janine (J-9) will not only give you information about the diving but she will gladly give you some advice on where to stay and what to bring to SavuSavu. As for the diving you needn’t bring much as everything will be supplied. Colin was my diving instructor and I felt very safe and comfortable with him , even through caves and out in the deep blue looking for those elusive hammer heads!! What an amazing way to do my certification!! They truly love what they do and it shows. If you talk to anyone in Savu Savu they will all concur that Koro Sun Dive are the best!

Thanks to Janine, Colin, Steven, Dan, and Mr T – I will see you again soon (Have to come back for those hammer heads!)

Vinaka vaka levu

Thank KiwiGirl303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Well Kiwi Girl/Auzzie Babe, Bula Vinaka!
We enjoyed your company above water and had an easy time with you below water. You're a diving natural!!! Shame we missed the hammers, but as you say you've just gotta come back!
And yes, ask anyone in Savusavu and they know we are the best...sounds arrogant, but it is true! Just read the Tripadvisor reviews, then ask the locals!!
I am happy to offer advice about any aspect of Fiji, not just diving, as I want our visitors to have a wonderful experience above and below water!!!! You've just given me a thort...maybe I should put skype contat on our website....vinaka lewa!!! Duh me for not picking up on that earlier
Look forward to diving with you again lewa and are so happy yu enjoyed your time with us! xx Lolomas (Loves) the KSD Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KoroSun Dive also viewed

 
Savusavu, Vanua Levu
 

Been to KoroSun Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing