We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Coronado, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Wow. Wow. Wow. We are so glad we chose Emaho over the bigger resorts. It was just what we needed after a trip to Oz. Quiet, secluded, stunning views and total relaxation. From the massage to the infinity pool and the outdoor bed, we were able to soak in the sun when we wanted, and enjoy the surroundings. The food is AMAZING. The staff goes out of its way to please! Highly recommend Emaho for your getaway! You will not want to leave!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited for three days after a whirlwind trip through parts of Australia. We didn't want to leave! Fantastic, entirely private secluded villa, wonderful service, and delectable food! Probably the top destination of my life, and it will be hard to top! I could eat kokoda every day... Breakfast lunch and dinner out of sight. The entire experience was amazing and well worth the cost for the peace and quiet!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 210kurtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came away from our holiday to Emaho Sekawa feeling thoroughly relaxed and rejuvenated. Working with people in hospitality back home, we spent time doing our homework, hoping to find a retreat away from the public so that our batteries could be recharged. We SO got what we were looking for.
The villa is breathtaking. We were surrounded by peace, beauty & tranquillity, and OMG... the view! Our meals were fresh, creative and delicious, our favourite being Kokoda which we asked for every day. Painted lobster, mud crabs, local caught prawns, and porcelain crabs which were new to us.
We kayaked, swam in the freshwater river, fished (sadly without success due to too much plankton in the water), snorkelled, drank Pina Coladas and Fiji Bitter. Our idea of heaven.
The staff need a particular mention, they are the heart and soul of this magical place. We could not thank them enough for all they did for us. The owners of the retreat treat them like family and it shows.
We will return one day soon to plug into Emaho's battery recharger. It really works.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I went to Emaho for our honeymoon after we attended her family reunion over the New Year. It couldn't have been more perfect. From the day we arrived, until the day we left, there was no faltering in their top-notch service. The enthusiasm and happiness displayed by every staff member was contagious and, by the end of the trip, we felt as if we were part of their family. The beauty of the people was equally matched by the beauty of the resort. The villa was immaculate and the staff was constantly refreshing our linens and decorating the premises with flower arrangements. We were never at a loss for things to do. We opted for an excursion to a deserted sandbar where we had champaign and snacks as well as did a bit of snorkeling. We spent another morning kayaking up the Sekawa river and through the mangroves with an Emaho guide. The village excursion was amazing and gave us a vivid glimpse into everyday life in a Fijian village. What was most amazing, however, was the food. My wife and I are both vegetarians and the Indian Fijian chef was amazing! The menu was diverse and she kept surprising us with off-the-menu foods. We had never tasted such a diverse mix of flavours. Even the best resorts we have been to generally falter on the food after a few meals and have to repeat items. We were at Emaho for 7 nights and were satisfied with every meal! I could not get enough vegetarian kokado and my wife, who has a very discerning palate, kept asking the chef for recipes. In all, this was one of the best trips we have taken. We looked at other resorts offering similar seclusion and luxury, but would have spent two to three times as much for no better amenities or service. We recommend this resort without reservation to any couple looking to enjoy each other's company while exploring what Fiji has to offer! Thank you Lucas, Petra, and the entire Emaho staff! We will definitely be back for our 'babymoon'!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxbeachtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Emaho during the Christmas time this year, and it was a breathtaking experience! The resort is a hidden gem embraced in the beautiful surroundings of beach, valleys, and greeneries of the Savusavu Bay. Complete serenity and seclusion at the resort is worth every dollar you pay for. The owner told us that they built this villa resort to cater to maximum 4 people at a time and want to keep it that way so it is genuinely unique in the world. We had the entire place to ourselves for 7 days, and felt so refreshed at the conclusion of our stay.

The view from the villa is astonishingly beautiful. We were completely surrounded by nature (you can hear birds and crickets singing, and sea-waves rolling anytime), even though the facilities at the villa are modern and make us feel very comfortable. The villa is huge with separate living room, bedroom, a huge patio and a nice swimming pool. There is also a garden and pavilion on the top level where we had our special Christmas dinner. In terms of activities, we had complete freedom of choosing what to do on any given day, and we did local a local village and waterfall visit, snorkeling, sports fishing and massage. Food was great – a very decent mix of seafood, vegetables and local gourmet that you cannot get enough of. We were lucky enough to catch a big Spanish mackerel during our fishing trip, and we had it for dinner that day, which was super delicious. Another highlight of our stay was the top-notch service we got - the owners - Petra and Lukas - took great care of us (arranging trips and taking us on boat cruise, snorkeling, and sports fishing), and the local staff are genuinely friendly people and made us feel like home. We were accompanied by local musicians for our special dinner on Christmas Eve and they even prepared exciting fireworks for us on Christmas Day!

I would definitely recommend Emaho to those who want something really special and unique for their beloved ones for a wedding anniversary, a honeymoon vacation, or simply just a romantic getaway. It is truly a unique hidden paradise in the beautiful land of Fiji! We hope to come back one day…

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yili D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Not sure what to add that hasn’t already been said about this incredible place in the previous reviews. It is hard to believe, but this place really is paradise. No kidding, it has to be experienced at least once in a lifetime. We certainly hope to come back. If you plan that special trip you’ve been saving your money for; then this is it! Emaho is your place.

Emaho is different from all the other resorts we’ve stayed in up to date. It is mainly because you are the only guests there and you’re being treated like a royalty since the moment you arrive there. Emaho has it all. Petra and Lukas will go out of their way to make sure that you have what you need and that everything goes according to your wishes.

Seclusion, privacy, the million dollar views, perfect service, luxury, abundance of gourmet food, exciting cocktails, massages, waterfalls, you name it, you can all have it at this private resort in a complete seclusion. I must not forget to mention the staff who helped to make our vacation so unique. We will always remember lovely Inise and the hilarious Ruben. Fijians are known to be the friendliest people in the world and we can certainly agree to that.

Can’t say more as I don’t want to ruin the surprise for you. This is a place that has to be experienced. Words or pictures don’t do it justice.

I would like to also mention that Emaho is a really good value for all the things you get. For this price you’d only get a bure at other resorts but at Emaho you get the all-inclusive package with a huge villa. We have stayed at another Fiji resort for the first half of our trip and must say that we much preferred Emaho.

We highly recommend Emaho Sekawa for anyone who is looking for that special vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon for a week early this year (second week stayed at royal davui island), the villa is beautiful, very calm and peaceful, the view is amazing (even in the rain), the girls and the staff as well as Lucas and Petra are wonderfully lovely and friendly. We had a few little niggles we let the owners know after we left and they said they would look into getting it fixed for future guests ie. the steps are extreemly slippery in the wet both myself my partner and the girls bringing things down to the villa all slipped several times sometimes quite hard, the power went off a couple times that week not that it was the resorts fault but the longest time it went off while we were at dinner we asked the staff if we could light the bon fire and were told polightly no as it was a last night thing however it was raining on our last night so we didnt end up getting to do this which was a bit dissapointing, also the food is great however to a westerners normal diet there is A LOT of coconut in the food which caused a couple of upset tummies during our stay. All in all a great place and like i said hopefully the few things we let the owners know about have been fixed since. Thanks to Lucas and Petra and the girls for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emahofiji, Owner at Emaho Sekawa Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and your nice compliments regarding the beauty and peacefulness of the villa and the friendliness of our staff and the management. Your kind words are much appreciated and we do look forward to your return to Emaho Sekawa.

We are very sorry to hear that you have fallen down during your stay here. I wish this was communicated to us during your stay as we would have taken extra measures for your safety. The absolute safety of our guests is of paramount importance to us.

Even though I was aware of the fact that you had difficulty walking, I did not know that you actually fell down. We are all truly very sorry about that. I wish we knew about this during your stay as we would have figured some way to help you walk around without falling down.

It was my understanding that you had difficulty walking not just on the steps but all together, due to the severe sunburns you suffered here on your first day. I vividly remember your swollen and severely sunburned feet. I myself was very sorry for you as it looked very painful. I have even offered to take you to see a doctor. The sun in Fiji is quite strong and we always advice our guests to apply at least 50spf before doing any outdoor activities. It really is unfortunate that this happened on the first day of your honeymoon. I am truly very sorry about that.

I am very surprised that you have mentioned that our staff was “falling down” as well, which none of our staff confirmed. I personally asked everybody and this claim was categorically denied. It really doesn’t even make any sense as all of our staff are “locals” and are used to the tropical climate and do know how to walk even on the slipperiest bush paths; a skill they learned since they were little children.

It is absolutely true that during heavy rain pretty much everything is very slippery and one has to be very cautious no matter where one walks. I would like to bring up that we were completely booked before and after your stay and nobody complained about falling down on the steps, other than you. We had people twice and three times your age and nobody expressed any issues.

Please note that we appreciate any suggestions our guests make and for extra safety we have since applied extra anti-slip sand coating to the steps.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the food at Emaho. The dining at Emaho is one of the highlights of the “Emaho Experience” and we really pride ourselves with the quality, freshness and superb taste of the gourmet meals we prepare. As you know we specialize in catering to any dietary requirements. We always ask our guests (just as we have asked you) about allergies or any dietary requirements they might have. We then adjust the menus to suit the requests of each guest. We can do anything from gourmet vegetarian to gluten-free, to a variety of super-food diets.

Not sure about the comments about “western type diet”, since it was YOUR request to have curries on almost every night and for your “special dinner celebration” you kindly asked our Chef if it would be possible to make “Vegetarian Singapore Noodles” for you as it is your favorite dish. We never made this dish before, but did so for you, as we always try to do anything we possible can to satisfy our guests. I must also note that you have so much liked the curries you had ordered for dinner, that you have even requested a number of times to have the exact same curry for breakfast. The truth is that the food at Emaho is so delicious, that one does have to be careful not to eat too much, which is of course very tempting.

What is unique and quite fantastic about Emaho Sekawa is that when you stay with us, you can choose to order what you like. Some guests only like to have fresh grilled fish and salads while other guests prefer more complicated western type gourmet meals and others like to try samples of the local Fijian cuisine. It is really up to our guests what they decide to order. Our a la cart breakfast and lunch menus are adjustable based on our guest’s requirements. Our dinner menu, which is different every day, is specially designed based on our guests dietary needs and special requests. If you feel that you had too much of anything than it must have been because you chose to order it. You can see from the past reviews that guests who stayed with us agree with my statements.

All of us here at Emaho Sekawa go to a great length to make sure that our guests are happy with everything and we always try to do our best to satisfy our guest’s needs and wishes.

Once again, we appreciate you took your time to write your review and thank you for your comments. Vinaka from your Emaho family! We do look forward to your stay with us in the future.

Best wishes,
Management,
EMAHO SEKAWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
9.0 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
9.7 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
201 reviews
6.4 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
6.3 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
161 reviews
7.4 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emaho Sekawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emaho Sekawa Resort

Property: Emaho Sekawa Resort
Address: Sekawa Beach Estate | PO Box 899, Savusavu, Vanua Levu NA, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emaho Sekawa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive, luxurious and completely private, Emaho Sekawa is a 5 star full service resort set in one of the most pristine environments in the world. The resort is surrounded by hundreds of acres of lush tropical rainforest, with breathtaking panoramic views of Savusavu Bay and nearby coral reefs. This unique location makes Emaho Sekawa different from any resort in Fiji. It is an ideal base camp from which to explore both ocean and rainforest, while being wrapped in luxury and romance. This boutique resort features Exclusive Villa Emaho, The Grand Residence, Ocean View Bure, Private Bula Pavilion Restaurant and Bar, Boutique Shop, On site Padi Diving, Sports Fishing, Water Sports, Boat Trips, Spa Treatments, Waterfall hikes and Village Excursions among others. Enjoy ultimate privacy, discreet service and finest dining, blending International gourmet cuisine with traditional Fijian flavours. Dining is available in the Bula Pavilion, in the comfort of the villa, or at any outdoor location of your choice. Emaho Sekawa can caters to any special dietary requirements. Here at Emaho Sekawa the dining is an exciting culinary experience. Emaho Sekawa is the perfect choice for people looking for the facilities, comfort and beauty of a luxury resort, without the crowds. Having only 3 villas, Emaho Sekawa is the ideal place for a luxurious honeymoon, an intimate wedding or a dream vacation. Unique in Fiji, unique in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Emaho Sekawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emaho Sekawa Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing