We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Island = Fantasy Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Turtle Island = Fantasy Island”
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We have travelled all over the world and particularly love tropical vacations. Even we were not prepared for the degree of pampering and luxurious relaxation that greeted us at Turtle Island. Extravagant service delivered in a low key, Fijian-friendly, loving way came at us in ways we could not have imagined. The setting was perfect, idyllic. The food and libations uncompromising. The amenities would satisfy anyone of unlimited means. No doubt the best vacation we've ever had, and to top that, we will be coming back again and again!

  • Liked — The best service in an ideal location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try it: you'll love it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    18
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
226
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

My Husband and I just got back from our first 7 day stay at Turtle. We honestly felt like this was one of the best trips we have ever had. It immediately became clear that our expectations were by far exceeded. We knew it would be beautiful and have excellent service but we truly didn't expect to make the friends that we did. The "Family Table" concept may not appeal to everyone but we loved it. We took the opportunity to have a private beach picnic and to dine by ourselves on the pontoon but always looked forward to getting back to the group. Lunch went on until 5:30 one day we were all having such a good time. The fabulous food and wine always makes for good conversation but the other guests we met, the entire staff, esepcially our Bure Mama, and the managers Paul and Amanda really became our friends. It is amazing how quickly you can get to know someone when you are in such a beautiful, relaxed environment. We have already signed up for another 10 day trip and we can hardly wait.

  • Liked — The laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't wait!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We just returned from our 8th visit to turtle island and had a wonderful trip. Reading the last review did make us think abit about our experiences but we came to a different conclusion Having visited fiji many times over the last 15 years the airport is newly remodeled and far improved from the "old days". .There is still no doubt that you're not in Kansas anymore and that you're in a foreign country-and a little on"island time". Some may get upset at a little wait .... the Turtle reps were there when we arrived and promply took us directly to the seaplane base with no lay-over in a day room. We were at the resort by 8:30 am in time for breakfast. Yes, the seaplane was as old as I am-but the D.H. Beavers are still considered among the best seaplanes ever built. The new Australian manager of the resort has done much to improve service and address many of the issues raised in past reviews-they had been nearly two years without a onsite manager. We had many special requests outside the usual honeymoon sort and we found them very accommadating. I had brought my kiteboarding gear and the staff took me by boat or cart to many deserted beaches to launch and sail in private away from any crowds that one would find back home. Our Bure(hut) had been recently remodelled and was in excellent condition. The island was uncrowded and we were able to visit our favorite private beaches every day we wanted-even making several trips to Long Beach in one day (our favorite). The food was even better than our last visit and in good hands with the new chef Josef. The fishing was excellent all week and most days at lunch we were eating the fish caught just a few hours ago that morning by the guests. We attended a grand wedding that week which i admit was I not initially enthused about (we had seen a few too many in the post Trista and Ryan era)- but after meeting the couple during the week we got caught up in he event as did everyone else- 3 couples even extended their stay to attend. The wedding was about as perfect as could be-and that couple is already booked to return. I would say that really Turtle is unchanged and we found that if one only asks your wishes will be nicely taken care of-well maybe not really quickly (fiji time again).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank alanCamas_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

My husband I just got back from celebrating our 40th birthdays on Turtle Island. We can't think of a better place to celebrate and we have been to a lot of the top resorts. This place is absolutely magical! You arrive not knowing anyone and when you leave you have a whole new family which we hope to always keep in touch with. It's hard to explain what makes this place so special. You have to go to understand. From the moment the seaplane landed, the friendliness of the staff was almost overwhelming. The Island itself is breathtaking. I couldn't stop looking at the scenery - it was absolutely beautiful. Our bure mama became our new mom for the 9 nights that we were there. She took amazing care of us and was such a warm and loving person. She left us alone when we wanted privacy and yet she would always be there if we had questions or wanted to talk. She knew all of our likes and dislikes. Our favorite champagne and drinks were always in our refrigerator as well as our favorite snack foods delivered fresh every day. Talk about being spoiled rotten. She also had the best hugs!!!! All of the staff was amazing. They were fun to joke with and really treated you as if you were part of their family. It was fun to learn about their culture and their own families. We only did one private dine out because dining at the table was way too much fun and we didn't want to miss out. My husband and I had never laughed so hard in our lives. It doesn't matter who you are - all of the guests are treated equally. The private beaches were incredible and were the perfect opportunity for my husband and I to catch up with one another. Although, we always looked forward to going back to the main beach and laying on our rafts with the other guests and having cocktails. We did almost everything on the island from snorkeling, mountain bike riding, hiking, horseback riding ( do not miss the riding at sunrise - words cannot describe how beautiful it is), deep sea fishing, but mostly "rafting". Their were several pranks that were played between the guests and brought a lot of laughter. My husband and I have never had so much fun with a bunch of strangers who now seem a part of our own family. The food was absolutey amazing. The Head Chef, Joseph, and his team created the most scrumptious dishes. We ate like kings and queens. I think everyone must experience Turtle Island in their lifetime. It is easy to see why one couple had been their 45 times. This is definitely a special place that everyone should try and experience!

Helpful?
5 Thank fun4smm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2006

I have just returned from my honeymoon on Turtle Island. I am happy to say that my husband and I enjoyed one of the most magical holidays of our lives. Turtle Island is not just a tropical paradise in terms of location, vistas and weather it is a paradise for anyone who wants to escape the stresses of everyday life and discover genuinely, caring, friendly staff who make it their goal to ensure you are unburdened of any stress.
The Island offers the opportunity to spend time privately away from the other guests at private beach picnics or dine outs in various locations. As honeymooners we thought that we would probably choose to dine privately in the evenings but we were happily surprised to find that the atmosphere at the dining table was great fun and we only ended up having one private dine out because we felt like we were missing the fun at the table.
We were the only Australian guests on the Island during our honeymoon and we had a great time meeting all the other guests and chatting to them about where they were from. The shared dinners, lunches and breakfasts are a great opportunity to catch up and chat with new found friends and the new Executive Chef Joseph went to a lot of effort to find out how to satisfy our different palettes.
It was easy to understand how one couple on the island was enjoying their 11th visit and another returning for the 25th time!
For those who have complained about bugs, crabs on the beach or even the fish in the lagoon I feel sorry for you. This is a tropical island and that rationale would be the same as going to Africa and complaining about the lions and the elephants…

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 30, 2006

We spent 8 days of our honeymoon at Turtle Island in September 2004. AFter spending two weeks travelling around Australia, we were excited to spend 8 days relaxing and being pampered on a beautiful beach. We were prepared for the downsides of Turtle Island before we left- the people that complain of the group dinners, lack of airconditioning, and tropical animals should have done their research before booking their trips. What we were not prepared for was the tremendous beauty of the island and the friendliness of the staff. We have travelled extensively, and the service at Turtle Island is beyond comparison. There is no Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton or Amanresort that will secretly track your favorite snacks and champagne to make sure you are well-stocked, fly in chocolate chips for fresh baked cookies if you mention that you like them or deliver you bottles of Veuve Cliquot on your own private beach. Yes, the food is not 5 star NYC quality, it is a remote island in Fiji and everything needs to be flown in. The resort does try its best, however- you need only ask. My husband and I requested special meals almost daily and were pleasantly surprised with the result. As for the group dining, the resort gives you the option of dining privately in a number of extraordinary locations (on a pontoon in the middle of the ocean, for example). We immediately booked 6 private dinners upon arrival, assuming we would not want to be socializing on our honeymoon. However, we eventually found that the dinners were a great addition to our stay - we met great people, and found that the capping off our private days with drinks and dinner with the group was a nice touch. Obviously, spending $2300 a night brings huge expectations, but we honestly felt that the incredible beaches, the option to be completely alone on a deserted beach, and the top-notch service made the trip well worth its hefty price tag.

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2006

My husband and I had a hard time deciding whether to put in a new kitchen into our house or spend the money and go to TURTLE ISLAND. After spending money year after year on cruising, we felt that we had needed to spend some time alone and rest relax and to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We had a little bit of travel which was further than we had expected but to our delight, TURTLE ISLAND was exactly what we were looking for. Good food, excellent weather, friendly faces and a staff to die for. We cannot express what a wonderful time we experienced at this oasis away from home. TURTLE ISLAND grabbed my heart and swallowed it whole when I had to leave 9 days later. It was the best time of our lives and spread the word to every person we come in contact with. For those who did not experience what my husband and I did, well then, it was obviously self inflicted because a holiday is all of what you make it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turtle Island
3.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,369 reviews
20.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
2.5 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
531 reviews
17.5 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Resort

Property: Turtle Island Resort
Address: Yasawa Islands, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Turtle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Turtle Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Turtle Island - located in the Fiji islands. You have found one of the most unique all-inclusive private islands in all the world. Be one of only 14 couples sharing the most beautiful and lush 500 acre private island resort… where each couple can have their own private beach and is assigned a dedicated personal concierge, your bure mama. We provide our guests one of the most intimate, private and romantic experiences. Your private island includes private beach picnics, romantic private dine outs, spa treatments, horse back riding through the winding island trails or on your own private beach, scuba diving, champagne sunrise breakfasts, an amazing and friendly Fijian staff is ready to make all of your dreams come true. This exclusive private island paradise awaits you and your partner for a romantic week to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Turtle Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Hotel Turtle Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing