We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic getaway for divers and snorkelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic getaway for divers and snorkelers”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just got back from fiji. We spent four days at this place and we were sad to leave. We loved our bure near fhe beach. We could wafch the sunrise on the ocean from our bed. The food was delicious and we loved the family style of eating meals with the other guests and staff. There were only two other couples most of the time we were there. The dives were world class. Snorkeling right off the beach was great too. The staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. The next time ww visit Fiji we plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank movingtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    17
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
70
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place is one of a kind! Incredible diving, incredible staff! We had an incredible dive instructor who showed us so much on the dives and made them fun (he made the fish dance, managed to find marine life in every nook and cranny). The owner and staff are absolutely lovely and took so much effort to show us a good time - meke dancers, lovos, kava time, coconut bowls and crab racing to name a few. And the food was divine (my very picky boyfriend had absolutely no complaints ;) and in fact loved every single meal.). Not to mention you are on an isolated paradise island. Couldn't have asked for anything more and can't wait to go back.

Thankyou DBDR! xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKrstevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Dolphin Bay in April for 5 days and I just wish we could have stayed longer.

Although Dolphin Bay is mainly a retreat for divers, myself and my partner just snorkel and that was just perfect for us. We did go on one snorkelling trip which was amazing and we saw tons of fish, beautiful corals and 3 reef sharks!

Even snorkelling off the beach at the resort is spectacular as they have protected the waters there so no one can fish thus the life in the water is abundant and you can even spot the occasional lobster hiding out underneath a rock.

Getting here for us was a bit of a mission. If you have the budget to fly they definitely do that as we travelled over-land and then a ferry to Taveuni and then the staff picked us up on the boat for the rest of the way free-of-charge. It was worth the travel and although flying is expensive if you book early enough you can get flights for a reasonable price, something we found out too late.

We loved it here and the staff were simply amazing. I just hope we have the chance to visit here again one day, definitely one of our most favourite spots we have ever visited

Room Tip: We stayed in the bures with a fantastic view for a great price, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion-sur-mer, France
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It has been a while and we are back at work, but we have not forgotten this magical place. Hidden paradise! We stayed at the retreat (it really is a retreat) as well as the guesthouse run by Simi and Kamal on Taveuni , who is also your driver, and we absolutely loved it. Every morning we went for 2 fantastic dives with Manasa and Apex who know their reefs! They have their own time zone, 1 hour ahead of Fiji Time, so we were at the dive sites without any competition and since they are only 5 minutes from the resort we were back for lunch. In the afternoon we relaxed or went on a trip to Kioa which is a very special place. The food was awesome and everything was nice and clean. The staff is absolutely great! Starting with Kamal who picked us up from the airport. The guesthouse is very nice in the south of Taveuni and Simi is a great cook. You really get to know the flavor of different cultures. He also took us to the waterfalls in Lavena and the hike. On the way back we stopped at their new place close to the airport which is run by a German guy, Robert. It is a bungalow overlooking the ocean which has a kitchen and can sleep 4 people. We had Kava, saw the traditional dancers, swam, saw Mantas, the local turtle off the beach and a huge full moon. We will definitely come back and stay at the bungalow for 2 nights as well. Thank you for a relaxing time!

Room Tip: Very good value for money, even the Jungle Tents have nice beds, very good for budget travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited Fiji at the end of April, beginning of May, just missing a heavy rain storm that left the visibility in the bays low, but with the currents in the straights we had no trouble seeing the amazing reefs. Having read that the diving in the north and south islands were somewhat different, we started our trip at Beqa Lagoon Resort (recommended by my first diving instructor) and finished at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat.
Beqa is very popular and we had a great time there, but Dolphin Bay Divers was definitely our favorite. Dolphin was more rustic, but our bure was SO cute, clean, and comfortable. There is no electrical power at the resort – just generators - but the bure had solar powered lights, there was hot water for showers, and plenty of opportunity to recharge batteries or other devices.
We found Dolphin Bay Diver’s through its website. The remote location and proximity to the Rainbow Reef for diving were the main reasons for selecting this resort, but we have dogs and cats that we’d miss during our time away, so their animals were a big draw for us. The animals are very well loved, but not spoiled (ok, well maybe a little spoiled…). It was great fun to play “keep away” with Leka and so relaxing to sit on the beach reading with a cat curled contentedly on my lap.
The food was wonderful, however, my favorite part of the meals was the family style tables on the beach. The 10 guests present during our stay represented 5 different countries. The conversations ranged from dive sites visited around the world to politics - recent coups, ongoing, and upcoming elections.
The resort is small, which is wonderful. No more than 5 divers on the boat at any one time. One of the other divers during our visit was doing her Advanced Open Water certification so I decided to join her and do mine. Manasa, the dive master, lead us through the most amazing place in the world to do such a course. A deep dive at The White Wall, an underwater naturalist dive at The Purple Wall, a drift dive along The Rainbow Passage – I cannot imagine anything more spectacular! The reefs were stunning, the number and variety of fish was incredible, and the water was 84F/29C. Absolute perfection!
Diving at Dolphin Bay may spoil you for any other location. The dive sites are between 5 and 15 mins away – close enough to come back to the resort during your surface interval! Apex, the boat captain, and Manasa select the dive sites carefully so that ever present current’s impact is minimized. With a lesser skilled diver, Apex, watching from the boat, retrieved 2 lost fins and Manasa literally held his hand throughout the dive to ensure his safety. Manasa and Apex’s knowledge of the area, attention to each and every diver and skill level, all the while keeping a great sense of humor made this trip and our diving experience positively wonderful!
Viola and Roland and Zoe are delightful hosts, making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive to the moment you sadly leave. The Fijian staff, beyond being very efficient, was friendly and generous in sharing their country and its culture and customs with us tourists! Thank you all so much for making our stay so memorable!!!

Room Tip: The bures were very comfortable, but the tents were quite luxurious as well. The tents have shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyNowAOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just returned from a two week trip to Fiji, our first week at a smallish resort on Beqa Lagoon and our second at Dolphin Bay. While we enjoyed our time at Beqa, we absolutely LOVED our time at Dolphin Bay! Tiny and intimate, Dolphin Bay was the beautiful and relaxing get-away we were hoping for.

Viola was so helpful long before our arrival, being willing to help us puzzle through our many questions of when to come and how to get there. And when we arrived, her warm hospitality continued! She and Roland have created a comfortable and casual environment which is elegant at the same time...imagine fresh and tasty food presented beautifully and served by candlelight at the water's edge! Dinner included the opportunity for lively discussions with our hosts and the other guests, and was often preceded by a kava ceremony or followed by a dance presentation. Viola even arranged for a birthday cake to be baked for my traveling companion, who was celebrating there fiftieth birthday in Fiji.

The accommodations were lovely: we stayed in a sweet little bure that was comfortable and nicely decorated. Hot showers were a luxury, and it was not a hardship to follow the request to conserve water (this part of Fiji gets very little rainfall, but we're from the Central Valley in California and so we understand!). I appreciate Dolphin's concern for the environment.

The diving here was AMAZING! I've been a diver for almost twenty years and have been very fortunate to have dived many lovely places, and the Rainbow Reef is easily in my top five! The corals are just georgous, and the variety and number of fish was incredible! Manasa was so great as our dive guide: he and Apex (our boat captain) chose each dive site carefully to provide us with the best dive experiences while minimizing the potential difficulty of diving in the strong local currents. They clearly know these reefs inside and out, and showed us the best this area has to offer.

If you are a diver who wants amazing diving and an intimate setting, this is the place for you! Vinaka, Viola and Roland!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat is a wonderful place for a holiday. We booked it out with our extended family of nine divers and a snorkeller for a 60th birthday for eight days and had a fantastic time. We were looked after so well by Viola, Roland, Zoe and the rest of the team, with great food and fabulous diving. The dives were amazing every day, the equipment good and the instructors professional. The resort is small, in the bush surrounded by a hillside of guava trees, 25 minutes by boat from Taveuni. No snakes or poisonous spiders! It was a bit damp as it rained every day, but we did get sun and it was warm. The sea was 27 degrees. Where to start with the fun: coconut bowling, cards, cocktails in the sunset, gorgeous massages, charades, long candlelit dinners by the beach, taming little sharks by torchlight, traditional Fijian cooking and dance... They made sure we visited the local village and walked on Taveuni, but we loved the resort best and being together there. Highly recommended for those that like being away in a small resort in the bush and world-class diving.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatharineFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divefoxy, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Bula Catharine, Thank you so much! We truly loved to have you here! You have a wonderful family! I still think Leka did the best playing Sharades;-). Viola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
6.7 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
64 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
23835.5 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23835.3 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
338 reviews
23835.3 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
2.5 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Property: Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Address: Vanaira Bay | Rainbow Reef, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat is a small family style dive resort on the Rainbow Reef in Fiji. Accessible by boat only it nestles in a horseshoe bay, surrounded by Rainforest, White Sandy Beach and Palm trees. Minutes to all the dives sites including the world famous white wall, famous for Softcorals, 20+ dive sites to choose from this is the ideal dive spot. Dolphins, Reef Sharks, tropical fish, it's all there, including a PADI dive shop where you can take courses in English or German. Accommodations range from bure with private bathrooms to Jungle Tents with shared bathrooms, all with comfortable beds and mattresses and very close to the beach. Let the soft lull of the waves put you to sleep, sip a glass of wine in your hammock and let the fish go by! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing