We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot and caring hosts & staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nakia Resort & Dive
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and caring hosts & staff”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

A small, wonderful place in Fiji. Nice people, great food, big pool, views on the ocean, and diving capabilities. Quiet with all island tours/activiteis available. Owners are a neat CA/Hawaii couple with a real interest in the happiness and comfort of their guests.

  • Liked — owners & staff; location; natural beauty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chasharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
79
184
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We are just concluding our 8-day stay at Nakia, and it's been brilliant. Robin, Jim, and all the staff are what really make this place shine. Of course, it doesn't hurt that the grounds are spectacular, well-kept, and luxurious.

We love good food, and Madhu and Robin are wonderful chefs. They serve fresh, organic veggies from their own garden, a real rare event in Fiji. All our meals were prepared with care and skill.

The pool is a special gem, with no chlorine smell or taste, and crystal clear water. Jim tends to it daily to keep it perfect.

We have stayed in other, more expensive resorts in Fiji, some costing 4 or 5 times the amount of Nakia. With the exception of air con, Nakia offers everything they do at a fraction of the price.

We read the one negative review by the new bride. We really feel sorry for the poor dear. If she couldn't be happy at Nakia on her honeymoon, I fear some bumps in her road ahead.

Nakia is spot on, and we'll be back.

  • Liked — Friendly, Caring Staff & Management
  • Disliked — Saying goodbye
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank waterroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Jim and Robin were so personable, genuine, and warm; we felt as if we had known them for years. Both Jim and Robin are so incredibly devoted to their resort--Jim was sweeping the pool every day and Robin was in the kitchen prepping her amazing cuisine. The small touches and details were very much noticed and appreciated.

My husband and I were known as the "lazy couple", but why leave the resort when you have everything you need right there!?? We LOVED their pool [so clean and fresh--no chlorine smell], their restaurant was to die for--all organic and fresh, and the view was remarkable!

One of our favorite nights was being able to experience traditional Indian cuisine, cooked by Mahdi--an amazing cook, and listening to a traditional Fijian band on the deck--the staff all stayed late to do this for all of the guests--we felt so lucky to have such a wonderful experience!

We can't wait to go back! We would recommend this resort for couples, families [Robin and the staff love kids], and elderly couples.

  • Liked — The hospitality of Jim and Robin
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monikz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

First, let me preface this by saying that we first stayed at Coconut Grove, with which we fell in love - so anyplace following it would have been difficult to begin to match it.

My husband and I decided to book the second half of our honeymoon at Nakia because of the rave reviews here. While it is indeed a lovely resort, I was pretty disappointed. I'll break this down into categories for ease of readability.

1. Food - Most of the meals we ate at Nakia were great. The salads in particular were superb. We did have a few meals at the beginning that were horrible enough to scare us off from eating there unless we had to. One was a "hamburger" which more closely resembled a hockey puck, another was bacon accompanying our breakfast which tasted like fish, and the other was a completely lackluster curry. The steak, however, was really wonderful, and as others have mentioned the deserts were first class.

2. Lodging - The sunset bure is gorgeous with a great view, but I had a big problem with the noise coming from the fluorescent lighting. The compact fluorescents I could tolerate, but we had to keep the regular fluorescents, which dominated the bure, off unless we really needed the extra light. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the fresh flowers in our room on a daily basis were lovely.

3. Staff - Robin is a sweetheart, but our interactions with the women who were serving us were really awkward, and we often felt like they were hovering over us. This was disappointing as we had enjoyed friendly connections with the staff at Coconut Grove, as well as pretty much everyone else we met on the island.

4. Noise - This is our number one complaint. Far too often the area seemed noisy when we wanted to chill out and relax. For the first few days the village nearby was chopping down a huge tree (no fault of Nakia's), but then later in our trip it seemed like the grounds were being mowed and weed whacked at least ever other day.

5. Grounds - The pool was great! Very refreshing. And I loved having fresh vegetables and lemongrass for tea. But the look overall was a bit too manicured for my tastes. I'd prefer a bit more of a wild, lush look, like the rest of the island seems to have.

6. "Resort Pricing" - Our taxi driver, Paul, was very congenial, and it was convenient to be able to call a taxi. However, be aware that the pricing of the taxi company charges 2 to 3 times as much as anyone else on the island (including other taxis from other resorts).

All in all, I do think that Nakia is a great place, but it was not at all what I had been expecting from the comments, nor what I had wanted for my honeymoon. If we had not already paid for everything, we would have left and stayed somewhere else.

  • Liked — Our gorgeous bed.
  • Disliked — NOISE NOISE NOISE, no access to a beach within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lionlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We chose Nakia for the end of our Fiji trip - to relax after an adventurous travel. The place is a fantastic mix of what you expect from an upscale resort and friendly, home-like feeling.
The eco-friendly bungalows are very nice (if you don't rent the family one, try to book the "sunset bure"; it has by far the best view) and clean, lovely decorated, with superb beds.
They are set in a well-kept estate with its own vegetable gardens (to supply ingredients for the kitchen). The pool is great, very clean and (due to eco-cleaning with ozonisation) with very little chemicals in it.
The food is a story for itself. The owners (Americans from California) with the help of Indian kitchen staff prepare food that you will remember. The breakfast (not included in the price) is "wow" - homemade bread, homemade passionfruit (yes, from their own fruits) jam, banana pancakes, fresh fruit smoothies,...
For lunch and dinner (which you have to order half a day in advance which sometimes is not convenient, but it means that it is prepared fresh for you only) you can get pasta, pizza, steaks, fish and delicious curries. Pasta and pizza are more American than Italian style, but great and made from fresh, home-grown vegetables.
Don't miss the (complimentary) afternoon tea with freshly baked pastries and lemongrass tea!
The resort also has a small souvenir shop (convenient, with small but selected range of items and very reasonable prices) and free internet access.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Returned from an all too brief 2 nights at Nakia. This place is brilliant. It combines scenery, genuine hospitality, culinary delights and sustainable development in a unique way. The whole island is a rugged delight, with beautiful coastline and wonderfully friendly locals.

We pretty much had the whole resort to ourselves. It is spectacularly set on a hill overlooking the ocean and neighbouring islands. Robin, Jim and all the staff go to every effort to make the visit personable, comfortable and extra special, with a very touching and heartfelt farewell.

The food is beautifully prepared with big portions and a home cooked feel but not lacking at all in culinary skill.

We took a bicycles to a nearby village, snorkelled across the road and enjoyed sunsets from the dining deck. Also worthwhile was an organised private trip to Bouma Falls.

Its such a blessing when your travel experience goes beyond a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmapleridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing vacation. One where we wouldn't have to worry about schedules, weather, or anyone else but us. Almost like a second honeymoon ("Hey, the first one was great! Let's do that again!"). After searching for locations in the South Pacific our attention quickly focused on a little out-of-the-way place on Taveuni Island in Fiji. Nakia resort was amazing!

We were looking for an "eco-tourism" destination and boy did we find one. Nakia is powered by solar, wind and even hydroelectric power, they have their own organic gardens where they grow amazingly delicious fresh fruit, vegetables, and herbs. Some of our favorites were the Passion Fruit, the Bananas (so much sweeter than in mainland USA), and the fresh Lemongrass Tea.

The restaurant was excellent. The dishes are mostly American fare and all are made with care and attention to flavor (And if you're lucky enough you can talk the cook into making some home-made Indian dishes). Everyone there was so welcoming and friendly creating an honest home-away-from-home environment.

From swimming in the beautiful pool, to biking into Somosomo Village (they have bikes and helmets you can borrow), walking down to the beach or just lounging around in your Burre (Boo-ray: the cute little hut where you sleep) you won't regret choosing Nakia as the centerpiece for your Island get-away vacation.

  • Liked — Friendliness of Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
5.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
329 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
4.8 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23834.3 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
227 reviews
23837.2 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakia Resort & Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakia Resort & Dive

Property: Nakia Resort & Dive
Address: Taveuni Coast Road | Vatulaga, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taveuni Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical rainforests, pristine beaches, world-class reefs, and a 12-meter swimming pool await guests at Nakia Resort & Dive, Fiji. Nakia is an intimate, comfortable, family-owned, eco resort on the Garden Island of Taveuni. The resort uses water from artesian springs, fresh organic fruits and vegetables grown on site, and the natural energy of the sun, water, and wind. This combination of eco features is unique in Fiji. Nakia welcomes families, honeymooners, adventurers, and guests seeking quiet, pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nakia Resort And Dive
Nakia Resort & Dive Hotel Taveuni Island
Nakia Hotel Dive
Nakia Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing