We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Site!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nakia Resort & Dive
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
2ccunningham@cox.net
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Site!”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Our 10 day stay at the Nakia on Taveuni was absolutely fabulous! The resort was beautifully built and immacuately maintained and is truly an ecoresort as evidenced by their extensive organic plantings and the alternative power sources they use.

From our bure, we had a 180 degree unobstructed view of the Taveuni coastline, the Somosomo straight, and the islands across. We took some of the most unreal sunset photos right from our porch (see photo). Our bure, tastefully decorated, immaculate, and comfortable, easily accommodated our family of 4 adults and 1 adult friend, and we enjoyed lounging inside or on the spacious porch outside to catch the ocean breeze and revel in the beauty of the ocean. We could hear the waves from both inside and outside the bure--a definite plus for our family as was the large pool.

The owners, Jim and Robin, as well as everyone else at the Nakia were wonderful and treated us like family. They were exceptionally kind and generous and truly made us feel like special guests. They were also very helpful in making sure that we got exactly the kind of vacation we were looking for as they know the island and the Fijian culture intimately.

I also can't say enough about the food served. We are a family of "foodies" and eating at the Nakia became a highlight of our trip. From breakfast to lunch to tea to dinner--it was all amazing. And the desserts were unreal! Everything we ate was exclaimed over and savored. We will never have curry like Mahdu's again!

We went on a number of excursions around the island and ended up traversing most of the coastal roads. Paul, our taxi driver on the longest of our trips, was a font of knowledge and became the facilitator of some of our most memorable experiences: namely touring one of the local schools and being invited into the home of a family in one of the villages on our quest for kava to take back to the states. We also visited the fish feeding, snorkeling, and birdwatching site of a true environmentalist, which we highly recommend, as well as Bouma falls and the Lavena Coastal Walk. Both of these sites were worth the bumpy road and you will be hard pressed to find a more beautiful pool and set of falls that await you at the end of the Lavena Coastal walk.

Other highlights included visiting the island of Qamea at the soon to open surf camp (ultimately cool!) and lunching at the village chief's house on Qamea. The chief's family was incredibly friendly and provided a delicious feast as well as round after round of kava!

Ten days wasn't enough time to spend on this island, and we hope to visit again!

  • Liked — freindly staff, beauty and cleanliness, and delicious food
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFanA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
81
193
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Nakia is a fantastic place and a rare find in Fiji. The four bures, the restaurant bure, and the pool are new, clean, and enjoyable. Robin and Jim welcome you like family and help guests to gain a better understanding of the island and what it has to offer. The staff was extremely attentive, but not at all intrusive. I can't say enough good things about the food. It is fresh, made to order, and served in quantities that helped pack on a little vacation weight! We enjoyed sleeping in every day in the comfortable beds, relaxing in the hammock by our bure, watching the sunset, and diving some of the best sites Taveuni has to offer. I say this is a great find in Fiji because we felt so many places were either extreme high end luxury with $1000 a night prices or overpriced outdated accommodations. If we can escape from work for a few weeks again, we'd be back at Nakia in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable bures, great food, wonderful views
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tottenpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2008

The setting is sublime and the food even better. For those looking for a small, friendly un-resort (I think it sleeps 10) in one of the most beautiful spots in Fiji, look no further. I'd stay there again in an instant.

  • Liked — the food, view, owners
  • Disliked — honestly nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank earth_nomad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2008

As a student studying abroad, I had been away from my US home for many months when I arrived at Nakia. My friend and I practically stumbled out of the jungle, after spending a month living in a remote village, and onto the doorstep of this pleasant little resort. I'm sure we were a sight to see, yet Robin and Jim welcomed us like we were their own children. They went to great lengths to make us feel at home. This, after missing your family for months, is amazing. Not only did they welcome us like family, they and their dedicated staff made us feel like princesses. The organic food was delicious, the pool and rooms were immaculate, and the snorkeling and scenery was simply spectacular. During my four months in Fiji, I visited practically every island, and I never found a resort quite like Nakia. I simply cannot say enough good things about it! I will definitely be back as soon as possible!

  • Liked — The family atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FijiGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Nakia was a wonderful surprise that kept on getting better. If you are looking to enjoy beautiful Fiji look no further. Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner. (think homemade cakes with thick delicious icing; fresh organic fruit and vegetables, lunch and dinner - you name it - they will make it.
The team consists of Robin and Jim Kelly - owners and the best hosts you could hope for, Madhue the best cook in the world and Julie and Aaron who will get you into the water for some of the best dive sites that the ocean has to offer. (Spearfishing, kayaking, surfing, mountain bike riding.)
Nakia offers peace and harmony. It has a wonderful swimming pool and the staff are friendly and polite. It is so different to anywhere else that you may ever have a holiday. The bures are comfortable and well maintained.
As an island Taveuni is bright green with wonderful waterfalls, walks, clean air, views, lush fauna and flora. Our only delemma was...... how soon can we get back there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — It was all really great. You just enjoy the experience as it happens.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mscapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Nakia, over Thanksgiving and it was simply magical.
First and foremost, the people! Jim and Robin and their whole family welcomed us with open arms while still leaving us our privacy when we wanted. We celebrated Thanksgiving with them and they truly made us feel like family.
Robin's cooking is FABULOUS (No matter what you do, you HAVE to try her banana pancakes with passion fruit syrup, to die for!), all the produce is grown on the property (fresh handpicked passion fruit for breakfast!)
The rooms are very nice, housekeeping was impeccable. All the people working on the property are so helpful and nice. The pool is wonderful as well. The property has a wonderful view, it's quiet, it's intimate, just great...
Robin and Jim gave us great recommendations for diving, hiking, visiting villages etc, tips for taxis, places to go, etc. It was a week to remember and we were very sad to leave (and we can't wait to go back!)
Taveuni was the best diving I've ever done, so if you're a diver, definitely go there!
Thanks Robin, Jim, Julie, James and the whole family for EVERYTHING, sorry I didn't post this earlier... busy california life got the better of me... I've got to get back to the fijian way... ;-)

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Helen75LosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We have stayed at the more expensive resorts on Taveuni for 15 years or so, but this year we vacationed with our grandkids as well as our grown children. I was surprised that the only family-friendly resort we found on Taveuni was the delightful Nakia Resort & Dive.

It was the best family vacation we have ever had. The setting, accommodations, food, and the warm hosts and their employees make this resort very special to us. Our children were pleased that we finally found a resort that is eco-friendly. Nakia uses wind, solar, and hydro-electric power for their 24-hour power, which is 240 volt.

The food is beyond description. Both Jim and Robin are extremely accomplished chefs, and Madhu is the curry master. Their site has a warm family feel, and the staff and owners make all guests feel as if they are long-time friends or family.

We were lucky to have Julie and Aaron on site. They are both experienced dive instructors, who gave all the adults a complimentary pool lesson in scuba. They are both gracious people themselves, and will soon offer a full dive service at the resort.

They really have it all at Nakia. Certainly the value is far beyond any resort we have stayed at in Fiji. Our bill was about 1/3 of what it would have been at the higher priced resorts in Matei. The only discernible difference is the lack of a/c at Nakia, but the weather on Taveuni rarely calls for the need for a/c, especially since the bures at Nakia were designed with cross ventilation in mind, and the ceiling fans keep the bure cool.

I have mixed feelings about writing this review. I love the place, and will visit it on all my future trips to Fiji. I just don't want it to become too popular, and have a hard time booking a bure.

The Kelly have really put words into action, and built a true eco resort that is nothing short of magnificent.

  • Liked — Warm owners and staff, beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank diveceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
5.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
341 reviews
23834.3 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
65 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
239 reviews
23823.8 mi away
Paradise Taveuni
Paradise Taveuni
#1 of 10 in Taveuni Island
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakia Resort & Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakia Resort & Dive

Property: Nakia Resort & Dive
Address: Taveuni Coast Road | Vatulaga, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taveuni Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical rainforests, pristine beaches, world-class reefs, and a 12-meter swimming pool await guests at Nakia Resort & Dive, Fiji. Nakia is an intimate, comfortable, family-owned, eco resort on the Garden Island of Taveuni. The resort uses water from artesian springs, fresh organic fruits and vegetables grown on site, and the natural energy of the sun, water, and wind. This combination of eco features is unique in Fiji. Nakia welcomes families, honeymooners, adventurers, and guests seeking quiet, pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nakia Resort & Dive Hotel Taveuni Island
Nakia Resort And Dive
Nakia Hotel Dive
Nakia Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing