We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fabulous time!”
Review of Matei Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matei Pointe
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
“We had a fabulous time!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Our son and his fiance got married in a ceremony at Matei Pointe Resort. The hotel staff handled all the arrangements. From the time we arrived we felt as though we were family. Their service was more than just accommodating.... they genuinely cared about us.
We were blown away by the beauty of the site from the very moment we arrived. The views from the bures were spectacular. In the morning we would awaken early, step outside our rooms and see the glorious sunrise. In the evening, from the same vantage point we could see the sunsets. We've never been in a location so beautiful. The grounds were exquisitely groomed. I can't even begin to describe the unique floral arrangements that they pulled together so magically on the days preceding the ceremony.
The day of.....we were all relaxed having had massages in the morning. We knew all would be taken care of. All the participants in the choirs and dances were local people who shared their talents and culture with us and made us feel so welcome. The lovo or feast that followed was delicious and all of our newfound friends helped us celebrate. The whole experience was truly magical. The bride and groom were thrilled with the ceremony and were sent off with leis on their surfing/diving honeymoon.
In addition to the wedding ceremony, we enjoyed hiking, snorkeling, visiting local villages on Taveuni and other islands and kicking back to enjoy the slower pace of the Fijian islands. We will always treasure the warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people. We highly recommend Matei Pointe Resort for a relaxing South Pacific experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnybuns88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I spent the first week of our honeymoon at matei pointe and couldn't have asked for a better place. The view from the sunset bura was amazing, you get the sunrise too. Pita and Lo are wonderful and accommodating hosts. The location can't be beat, across from the airport and next door to a good place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Another perfect stay. The most relaxing place in the world with the nicest people you could meet anywhere. DO NOT EXPECT A 5 STAR RESORT, this place is much better, the staff here will look after you or leave you alone, whichever you want. Definitely a more 'real' way to visit Fiji, meet the locals the way they genuinely are, not when they work for a resort and are paid
to smile and say 'bula' all day! Walk to one of the local restaurants, with great cheap food or cook for yourself but make sure you ask Lo to put on one of her fantastic lovos (cooked in an underground 'oven') before you leave. For a reasonable price you will taste the best food in the world and if you offer them a bit more money Pita will get his band to serenade you. A perfect way to
spend your last night in paradise! I strongly recommend Matei Pointe to anyone wanting a relaxing genuine Fijiian holiday. So much more than a 'backpackers' but not much more expensive! We have stayed for 2 weeks every year for a few years now and will definitely keep coming!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pr1ncessFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This is my kind of destination. My husband and I stayed at Matei Pointe for over a week, and we left feeling we had experienced something very rare and unique here. We were looking for a genuine get-away, unlike what we could get at a more traditional hotel or resort, and we got it. Caretakers Pita and Lo reflected the genuine kindness of all the Fijian people we met. Breathtaking views and sunsets, more than adequate accommodations, authentic food. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Sometimes used wonderful outdoor shower adjoined to master bedroom and felt like we were in tropical paradise. Friends can't wait to join us next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Where do I start ? From the moment we arrived it was clear that we would be well looked after. No request went without a response. Nothing was too much trouble and we were generally made to feel very important and very very welcome.

The actual premises are pretty tired, but we anticipated that, and any disappointment was more than compensated for by the spectacular position and the excellent and friendly service we received.

Lo - thank-you for being mother to us all and keeping our tummies well full with fantastic food and keeping the homes well cleaned and tidy. The decorations, preparations and of course food for the Lovo were all extraordinary and ensured that our last night was truly memorable.

Pita - thank-you for your wise advice about places to visit and for the wonderful trip to Honeymoon Island and the subsequent delicious fish bbq. Also thanks for your efforts with the Lovo feast and, of course, your contribution to the musical entertainment which completed the picture.

Robert - thanks for guiding us so gently and sensibly. We know we were a challenging group with such a wide range of ages, abilities and interests. You catered for us all perfectly and ensured that we covered a fantastic range of activities without anyone missing out and without anyone getting exhausted.

Most of all thank you to all the Matei Pointe people for your warm friendship and welcome. You made us feel like part of the Matei Pointe extended family and we miss you all already.

Scott (and Kelly) thanks for making this place available for us. You have a beautiful property and a superb crew. With a little extra work on the actual facilities ( eg the plumbing!) it will be a truly first class holiday experience. Scott, thank-you also for being so responsive and reassuring in our various email exchanges.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaze_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Hello, Again - from Southern CA!
Lisa and I are headed BACK TO MATEI POINTE for our third trip in the coming months. We absolutely fell in love with the climate, and the property location is (in our opinion) the finest on the island. Pita and Lo (caretakers) have become part of our family; Lisa, myself, and our children have become part of theirs. the people of Fiji are humble and generous - they are a wonderful people and our children bonded with their children almost instantaneously. Lisa and I first visited for our 10th anniversary without the kids, and we absolutely loved the location. We stayed in the larger house and spent much time napping in the hammock, snorkeling with Pita, and sightseeing in general. Pita and Lo did everything that they could to ensure that we had a great time. The Main house is airy and there is plenty of room for a family of 7 or 8.

If you are looking for a relaxing, kick-back vacation where you go at your own pace and do as the islanders do, then Taveuni is the place to go. If you're looking for warm hospitality and plenty of smiles and sincerity, then Matei Pointe is the place to stay on Taveuni.

We are all looking forward to our return...the Bula Boys' music, the genuine sincerity and smiles of the natives, and the absolute relaxation and breathtaking views found at Matei Pointe are truly priceless. I keep a CD of the Bula Boys in my car and listen to it frequently. Taveuni is one step removed from the modern day world, and a genuine slice of heaven on earth.

Feel free to contact us at alwilliams22@socal.rr.com with any questions. We will provide honest feedback for you at any time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2011

What a marvelous spot, we had spent five weeks travelling New Zealand, culminating in an earthquake in Christchurch! what we needed was somewhere to recover. it was soon apparent that we had found the perfect place. Pita and Lo were wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us. We woke the first morning to see a pod of Dolphins swim past our front door. The accomadation was lovely,this is the closest you can get to paridise without actually leaving this planet.I cannot recommend this enough. We will definately return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brogadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.9 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
10.6 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matei Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matei Pointe

Property: Matei Pointe
Address: Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matei Pointe is located on the very tip of Taveuni, Fijis' most beautiful island. The Garden Island. We are surrounded by water on 3 sides. The sun rises over the ocean on our Eastern Beach and sets back over the water on our Western Beach for awesome sunrises and sunsets! After many years serving the tourism industry, we have recently closed our facilities to fully renovate the Bure and the main house. We hope to re-open mid 2016. Keep in touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matei Pointe Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing