We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Paradise”
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Taveuni
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our trip to Paradise Taveuni was beyond expectations. My husband and I went in March 2013 to have a wedding ceremony (just us 2). Don't let weather forecasts discourage you from traveling here. It practically rained everyday we were there but it literally did not affect the trip at all. It will rain for about 30 mins then stop and the clouds part and the sun is all ablaze once more. I was worried the weather would put a damper on our trip but it absolutely did not in fact we barely noticed it.

From the minute we arrived the staff was very friendly!! Actually the staff made all the difference in the experience. Never before have I stayed at such a personable resort. The bures are really nice and I absolutely loved the outdoor jacuzzi. My husband and I are not divers but we took the free pool lesson and then I actually did a dive trip which was a blast. Be sure to sign up for trips off the resort such as the visit to Buma Falls, and the waterslide, also be sure to see the local village. Many of the staff who work at the resort live in the nearby village and it is nice to take a tour of their home.

My husband was a little shocked when we arrived to the island and had to take a 1 hour (extremely bumpy) drive to the resort. I think he expected a Hilton type resort, and he didn't think he would like the resort. But he LOVED it. Said it was the best trip he has had, and would love to come back. So if you are having second thoughts about this resort because it is off the beaten path and not all 'grandeur' such as a Hilton, DON'T, take a chance and I promise you wont regret it. This resort offers a taste of the real Fiji!!

Also we booked through Journey Pacific. My travel agent was Dawn Sansom and she handled every little aspect of the trip. She did a phenomenal job and had lots of advice as she has stayed at a lot of the Fijian resorts. She highly recommended Paradise Taveuni, and she sold me on it. I highly recommend Journey Pacific to those needing help in finding the perfect resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'honeymoon bure' (as it was our weddingmoon). This room was very nice howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 436 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 10 days over Xmas 2013 at Paradise Taveuni. They say all the good places are hard to get to - this was not hard to get to but an adventure in itself.- The trip from Nadi was about 1 hour by twin engined Otter - then about 90 minutes by 4wd on a made up road that became a rocky unmade road for the last half hour which was an experience in itself. Have the camera ready as you pass the beautiful 150 year old church near SomoSomo village . We enjoyed our road trip getting there while I see others did not. We stopped at the local shop on the way to stock up on chips and peanuts and soft drinks - which we need not have done - Every thing is available at the resort. I do suggest you take your Full Duty Free allowance of alcohol from the airport with you - at time of writing 6 bottles of wine per person or 2.25 litres of alcohol.....as wines in Fiji can be a bit of a lottery... and we drank ours with dinner mostly every night for a small corkage fee of F$10 it was a great move..
The rooms are Fijian style - very comfortable. We stayed in Cowrie - one of 3 adjoining bures - air conditioned , and comfortable. My only complaint was that the bed squeaked at every slight toss and turn - I got so laid back in this wonderland I kept forgetting to mention it !
If you are a diver or snorkeller it is heaven - we personally just wanted to chill and listen to some music or read a book. There is no beach as such but you can dive jump or climb off the jetty into the deep lagoon or just laze the days away in the infinity pool. The people we met were all very friendly - The food is good with a reasonable choice -Breakfast is great. It is a small resort with limited resources so the bug bear of ordering your lunch requirement at breakfast and dinner at lunch time was a bit annoying but understandable when catering for 10 couples plus with only one chef. Want something not on the menu - you only have to ask.
The staff were so friendly ... Star, Liti , and especially Suli- you were a true gentleman, you were standouts and Anare and Soni always made you feel special. Terri and Alan were always on hand to deal with any issues or requests and Alan kindly organised the fishing charter which was a blast in itself.
Highly recommended. We had a great time. My only suggestion - give the guests going out on activities a bit more than 5 minutes after eating before getting on board. !

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATSYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with a group of over 30 people to this wonderful resort in July of 2013. Terri and Allan and their kids were a delight to be around with smiles on their face and always a joy to be around. We went for scuba diving and the diving could not have been better. The name of the hotel says it all, Paradise, because that is what it is. Now it is a little bit of a trek to get there with the bumpy roads, but once you are there you just do not want to leave. Your rooms are beautiful, the food was good, and the staff and spa they have was absolutely great. I will go back again to this luxurious little island with people that have a great heart and a beautiful island, and a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not use to humidity get a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 2 wonder weeks in Fiji
The first week on Beqa Lagoon Resort and the second at Paradise Taveuni
We had a Five Star vacation at PARADISE TAVEUNI RESORT !!
This is a beautiful resort location, with a wonderful and very friendly staff , great food ,and fantastic diving.
what more can I say , it was the best dive vacation we ever had for a small resort
that we prefer to visit on our vacations around the world!

Ed and Linda Schuyler

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Recently, while staying in a house rental on the other end of the island, I decided to check out this resort that us heard so much about. I contacted the owners, Terri and Allan Groton and stayed for one night.
Beautiful welcome by the managers and their delightful children and staff, greeted with floral leis, ice cold coconut milk, in coconut, and delicious foot rub in front of the bure they had provided, right on the waterfront.
Lunch..what can I say, delicious Wahoo, freshly caught, with fresh salad. I explored the beautiful grounds, and after spending time with local children, had the most amazing body massage. Thanks Katya!, then dinner time. The most succulent meat-in-your-mouth steak, fresh lobster, and salad.
After a lovely restful night in my beautifully decorated and immaculate bure, Coral, I explored the resort, marveling at the wonderful variety of flowers and trees. Breakfast, I had a plate of fruit (the papaya is to die for), toast, pineapple juice and freshly brewed coffee. Delicious.
I then had a keg massage.Thanks Tom, that was the best. Then lunch. Felt I'd eaten so much the previous day that I had soup and delicious freshly baked bread.
Terri and Allan are the most amazing hosts, and arranged transport for me back to the holiday rental at Matei.
I would recommend Paradise to anyone who would like a pristine environment, solitude if you desire, beautiful friendly staff, massages to die for, scrumptious meals and a view that speaks a Fiji.

Room Tip: Any of the bures would be wonderful, but if you like to hear the gentle waves at night, definitely r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Once you have traversed the incredibly bumpy road to Paradise, it is hard to leave.
Allan and Terri who have owned this peaceful, adult only resort for the past eight years, have dedicated themselves to making it a diving haven. Due to the fact that it is between two famous reefs not only divers but also snorkelers are within 30 minutes of a magical underwater world. A wonderful experience too good to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I am sitting here in Paradise just finished my breakfast. The divers are out for the first dive of the morning. For divers this is a great place. The world famous Rainbow Reef is a half hour boat trip and there are several other dive sites within 10 minutes

Service in the dining area is great and I enjoyed every meal. Allan and Terry and staff welcomed us and have made every effort to give us a great experience. There is a spa for relaxation and I can't think of anything they could have done to make my stay better.

Several resorts in Fiji have a small enclosed outdoor courtyard with a shower. This morning while I was having my shower there was a gentle warm rain. How do you beat that?

I came with my son and he was treated like a prince

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank LethbridgeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
23822.8 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
354 reviews
23822.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
7.9 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
23822.8 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
23812.5 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Address: South Vuna Road | Waiyeko, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: $423 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is an Oceanfront boutique Resort. Its unique deep water frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing