We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mango smoothies with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sullivan, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mango smoothies with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay but visited their cafe each morning for a mango smoothie with a wonderfully view. I still crave their smoothies!! The view and beaches wonderfully, they have a great walkway to the beach. The bungalows appeared great (only viewed the outside).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KDiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    29
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
376
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Grove for our honeymoon at the end of March and we LOVED it.
Once you arrive at Taveuni Island airport you are greeted by Coconut Grove staff – in our case it was Robert, who took us to the resort where the girls greeted us with a welcome song (and Millie, the beautiful doggy) . We had a nice breakfast, went into our bure for a shower and headed to the beach for our welcome massage from Fina and Flori, of whom we can only speak in superlatives, just like of everyone else in the resort.
Loved the complementary lemongrass teas after the massages, the fresh coconut water straight from the trees, the girls’ banana bread that is truly the best we have ever had, (and that Bimla showed us during our cooking class how to make). We had it for breakfast and for dessert too almost every day. The smoothies are very nice too, as well as the garlic bread. Yummmm.
We kayaked and went snorkelling almost every day, and as per Ronna’s suggestion, we went on a few trips around the island.
The Lavena Coastal walk is a must – we were lucky to have Simone as our guide, he was so much fun and learnt so much about the island from him! Next day we went on a snorkelling tour with Taveuni Dive to Rainbow reef, that was a great experience too, the guys were really entertaining, and prepared us some homemade cookie and drinks too. Flori took us on a village visit, so we got to meet her family, and see how people live in the village, went to visit the local school and meet some kids who got super excited of having visitors and were very happy to get a few chocolates. We also went on a Pearl Farm tour with Tom, and ended up buying a pearl from him too – couldn’t resist; now I am waiting for the jeweller to make a nice ring of it that will remind me of this beautiful week we spent on Taveuni Island.

The bures are amazing. We have booked the Papaya bure for 2 nights and then the honeymoon, Banana bure for the rest of the nights, but got upgraded on our arrival for the first 2 nights, so didn’t have to bother with moving.
The view of our room and terrace was amazing. The private beach was only a few steps away, and fell asleep on the sound of the ocean every night.

We really loved our stay at Coconut Grove and would recommend to everyone!
Thanks Flori, Fina, Petero, Bimla, Robert, Ronna and everyone else at the resort. You really made our honeymoon unforgettable!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieFiji, Owner at Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Once again it is a case of the guest doing their homework before they book. Zsuzsa and Zsolt were the perfect fit for our tiny place. They wanted a romantic holiday away from the crowds, adults only & golden sand beach. It was a perfect fit.
Vinaka from all of your fans & of course Millie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful honeymoon week with Ronna, Bimla, Kata, Fina, Esther, Flori, Aqela, Serah, Lagi, Petero, Joe, Samu, Millie (the pup), and Tonto, & Hillary (kitties). It started and ended with the warm personal touch of the welcome song by all the staff members. Coconut Grove has a family-run feel with a staff that strives and succeeds at making your entire stay incredible. We were served a delicious breakfast and had our burre upgraded on arrival. All of our meals here were amazing, from local lovo chicken to fresh fish, crab, and lobster. We even had a cooking class with Kata and I'm attempting to replicate the fish curry at home as my husband swears it is the best in the south pacific! For a special treat, Petero and his son played guitar and sang while we shared a few cups of ceremonial kava. All of the day trips that the staff recommends were wonderful and give you the opportunity to interact with and give directly to the local community schools and independent entreprenuers. We had an amazing day snorkeling with Taveuni Dive, and had a wonderful waterfall kayak and hike with Semba on the Lavena Coastal Walk. We took every opportunity to take advantage of Coconut Grove's complementary kayaking and snorkeling on the reef right off the resort, and riding mountain bikes waving and saying bula to everyone we passed. We even spent a few days lounging in the restaurant, and at the beach, and getting beach-side massages from the talented Fina, Kata, and Flori. They know you'll be hooked after the complementary half hour massage! We made great friends and loved our experiences so much we wish we could go back each year. It is no wonder the staff here wins awards for best resort and restaurant on Taveuni!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had such a wonderful time. The staff was the nicest, friendliest, and more helpful that I have ever experience anyplace. Even the resorts pets were friendly (dog -Millie - was so fun) It was so relaxing and so beautiful. The sunrise each morning was picture perfect. The food was delicious. We ate every meal there it was so good. Everyone spoke English so there no information gaps or guessing. I was small and intimate. So much better than the normal hotel chain feeling on other vacations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert-Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food here was incredible! They have the best hamburger in Fiji and was one of the best I have ever had in my life! We also received massages and they were also amazing. The staff was extremely professional and welcoming. If you are going to Taveuni you will miss out if you don't go here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the staff welcoming song until the goodbye song when we left, it felt like we were living in a dream. The Mango Bure was so comfortable, sunrise views, the delicious food morning noon and night, friendly friendly staff, kayaking, snorkeling, spa treatments, it was all like living in a dream, a relaxing, wonderful dream. Oh and did I mention the friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Mango Bure is a must, the bigger of the three and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had the absolute pleasure of staying eight nights at CG for my honeymoon this past February and while I couldn't be happier at my stay the only thing that I could think would have improved my trip was to stay longer. We would wake up for gorgeous sunrise views from our burre, walk the 20 feet to the beach, slip into the crystal clear water with complementary snorkels and fins and view the most exotic sea life known to man. The staff are a dream, the restaurant is an absolute delight, you are feet from the airport and deli, and just a short cab ride from the myriad attractions on the island. But for an amateur naturalist like myself it really took the whole "Garden Island" to another level. Here are just a couple of the species I saw within 100 meters of our room by foot, snorkel or by (also complimentary) kayak: Sting Ray, Moray Eel, Painted Rock Lobster, Stalk Eyed Ghost Crab, Little Ghost Crab, Orangutan Crab, Red Hermit Crab, Banded Sea Snake, Fijian Clown Fish, Anemone Fish, Angel Fish, Giant Clams, Spiny Urchins, Crown of Thorns, Sea Horses, Starfish, Blue Starfish, Myna Birds, Kula Bird, Grey Herons, Giant Bats, Chameleons, Geckos, Goats, Pigs, Boar, Cats named Hillary and Tonto, a dog named Mille.

Room Tip: All three are great. One is closest to the water, one has the largest rock shower and the other is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timothymcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
0.7 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
23833.0 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.5 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
10.7 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

Property: Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Address: 9 Matei Rd, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the only white sand beach on Taveuni with unobstructed views. come stay with us if you want a couples only, noise free holiday. no stress no crowds. just relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages Hotel Taveuni Island
Coconut Grove Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Coconut Grove Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing