We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked it because it was the cheapest of the resorts on Taveuni that has air conditioning in the rooms. It suited our purpose as Divers. It is a nice hotel with very friendly staff. The room with the Ocean view gives a beautiful view of the Ocean from the bed. The food was good. You have to order your breakfast and dinner in the morning. There is two different dishes to choose from and they change every dat. There is not much to do outside the Resort, but the Resort has what is needed Diving shop, Spa, Dinner and a Bar. There is a small shop next to the Resort where you can by water, soft drinks, alcohol and chips. 20 min. walk from the hotel you can see and try the Waterfall slide (see separate review). A little further down south is the timeline. Here you can walk back and forward in time. If you want to do some shore fishing there is a jetty 10 min. walk from the hotel. We did not go with the Resorts Dive team, we went with Taveuni Ocean Sport instead. (See separate review)

Room Tip: Choos the rooms with the balcony and oacen view it is fantastisk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josoerensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    61
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
90
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent 7 nights at this resort. Great location nice and quite at the time which suited us. Food was excellent and the service could not be faulted. The hotel is right on the water and also has a dive shop. We were not divers but still had an excellent time. Claudia the manager was easy to talk to and very knowlegable not just about Fiji but other places . Excellent and friendly service from all the staff we would stay her again.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent nine days at this great hotel and loved every minute. The air conditioned rooms were very comfortable with excellent bed linens, comfortable living space and a sparkling view from our oceanfront balcony! The food, the service and the personnel were all wonderful! Claudia the manager was superb and catered to our every need...including throwing a dinner for ten when we requested it late in the afternoon. She made sure we had the highest quality ingredients and the presentation was five star! The bartenders were ready and willing to make us whatever specialty drink we requested...when they ran out of my wine, the management went out and picked up a few bottles herself just for my comfort! The snorkeling excursions were wonderful, the hotel transport was always ready for us...it was a wonderful experience all around! Wish I was back on the pool lounge sipping my skinny margarita over looking the blue ocean! Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms all have ocean views, the first floor have a hot tub on their veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skd829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed 3 nights at the Resort. All our meals were excellent and the chilled jugs of sangria just delicious! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bed was like sleeping on a giant cloud. Quite possibly the best nights sleep I've experienced whilst on holiday ever! Only downside was the attitude of the receptionist. She wasn't very helpful at all and acted like she had a chip on her shoulder the entire time we were there. We love Taveuni and will definitely return but sadly she just put a slight dampener on our stay as she was our first point of contact for the resort. However the other staff were lovely.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuweni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Island for 16 nights and it was a lovely and relaxing experience.
The accommodations were clean and the staff on site were so nice and welcoming. We enjoyed the meals, and they were even able to assist us with dietary restrictions. The dive center is located on site and readily available to take you to the very close by and fabulous reef.
There are several day trips and tours we organized through the resort and were able to walk to a few locations too.
We would love to come back and visit our friends at Garden Island!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel which is more reasonably priced among others in the area. Dive shop and the connecting pier is just next door of your rooms so it's exceptionally convenient if you are a diver. In addition, this resort is also very close to the Rainbow Reef, so it saves the long ride out in the bumpy sea.

One thing I really like about the hotel is their food. You'll always have at least a mix of local and western stuffs, albeit I would say the meals aren't exactly cheap. The rooms are in really nice condition and I also liked the jacuzzi at the balcony, and the hammock just right out of the garden. I guess my only complain is the rooms doesn't come with free wifi.. so I end up having a chunk of charges from internet!

As to the diving, I would say Rainbow Reef is probably one of the most beautiful locations I've ever dived in. The coral walls are just magnificent!! Though I would say the reef.. most of the dive sites which has a lot to see are really not for beginners. I'd recommend diving in some other locations first, brush up your skills and you'll find Fiji one of the best diving heaven in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muse m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The important thing about choosing a vacation spot is knowing yourself, what is important to you and doing your research. Garden island resort is exactly what it promises, a quaint, intimate resort on the water with some of the worlds friendliest employees and fabulous diving.

If you are looking for a place to sit on the beach (and not being able to do this will ruin your vacation) then seek accommodation elsewhere. They do however have a suitable little pool and a really nice pier where you can place a sun bed in the sun or shade and enjoy the sound of the water lapping the shoreline below. There are also several sun beds placed in front of the rooms overlooking the water... A majority of them remained empty for the week I sat relaxing and lounging around.

All of the rooms have views of the ocean and gardens as well as some very picturesque views of the island across the way. They are clean, the beds are firm and comfortable, the pillows are fluffy, and the bed linens are soft. I would recommend spending the extra pennies for the downstairs spa room. It is just that much bigger and if you don't mind the occasional person walking past your outdoor sitting area then go for it. The rooms have air conditioning that we used on very few occasions as the fresh air and ocean waves were just too perfect to sleep to.

The restaurant is good and they are very flexible if you don't eat certain foods or have allergies. They are happy to make the adjustments to the menu that are needed. They do a lot of smoothie/shakes as dessert options and they weren't our favorites but others seemed to enjoy them. We just prefer more local less trendy foods/desserts etc when we are away from home. We like it when a hotel showcases the local produce and cuisine in their menus. Speak to Tracy or Eta if you want something special they are absolute stars in the restaurant and bar!

The massage bure... To which I became a regular visitor is a very unique experience, the prices are very reasonable and the ladies both Lydia and Pachi were lovely.

The diving and the dive operation were great. We went to the zoo, the white wall, Jerry's jellies and more. All of the sites are teaming with sea life and the coral is spectacular. The dive crew were so friendly and accommodating. Give them your gear and all you have to do in the morning is show up, they really do spoil you. If you think they are hard on your gear just take care of it yourself like you are expected to at most dive operations around the world however we never found this to be the case.

We did a few excursions: ask the ladies at the reception to help you. They are extremely helpful!

Bouma, which was lovely. Bring a little something for rain protection like a pocket poncho or something as your cameras can get a little misted from the falls. The first waterfall is amazing and if you are up for a little adventure be sure to wear shoes that are suitable for walking across smooth rocks through a slippery stream and go to the second one. It is a lot of uphill downhill before you get there but if you reach the stream that you need to cross you are about ten minutes away and we are very glad to have done it. We swam in the water which was pretty cold but it was great for the muscles after the climb!

Horse riding to the crater, this is a great little adventure. Wear jeans or something that covers your legs plus sneakers or somewhat protective shoes. You take a 4X4 to the south of the island where you have some amazing views as you wind through the shore roads to the horse farm. The horses are very spirited so don't let their subtle demeanor and appearance fool you. It is a really nice ride through the mountain forests past local homes and settlements to the top of the crater, which is yet another inactive volcano in Fiji. When we got back to the farm some of the local rugby players were enjoying a game of touch rugby which was a lot of fun to watch before we headed off back to the hotel.

The date and time board up the hill by the red cross, is just a nice place to take some photos and take in some scenery along the way. Prince Charles beach and Tromontos, if you can time it right go to prince Charles beach at low tide for a swim and then head up to Tromontos for a pitcher of beer to watch the sunset. Simply phenomenal views from here!

The local water slides are a lot of fun and involve some serious navigating. Be sure to try and go on a Sunday as the children are there in abundance and are happy to show you how it is done. Take a moment to watch their games of tag and take in just how well they know the waters as the dive in these seemingly shallow little pools with absolute stunning skill.

We also went to the small island across from the resort one afternoon. We had the team from the bar pack a cooler, grabbed some towels and snorkeling gear and headed off on one of the dive boats for some snorkeling and a few cocktails on our own private island. It was really great and I can honestly say I have never seen so many Christmas tree worms of varying colors, sizes and quantities in my life.

To sum it up, we had a great time. We will not hesitate to recommend garden island to our friends, family and dive clientele in the future. Thank you to the team and the owners for all of their kind words, advice, assistance, recommendations and efforts to make our stay a memorable one. I believe we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FloridaPaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
9.7 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.9 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
10.7 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23834.4 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23823.9 mi away
Paradise Taveuni
Paradise Taveuni
#1 of 10 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
16.8 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Property: Garden Island Resort
Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front suites with a private patio, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing