We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
330
28
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
28
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonlunch and dinneroutdoor showerinfinity poolthe clifffishhall of fameoceanfront villasscuba divingowners and staffincredible viewsorganic farmstar qualityrainbow reefother guestscoastal walksworld class
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 367 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to TIR and the 2nd time we stayed in Grand matalau, a very comfortable, 2 Bedroom Bure with a large Dining and Lounge area, and a great Verandah.
You have your own Chef and Housekeeper, so you are well looked after.
Our Son and his Partner stayed with us and we moved on to TIR after a week at Namale Resort staying in the Dream House, a similar 2 Bedroom Bure.
Whislt Olive (our Chef) and Millie did everything possible to make us comfortable, this Bure has some downsides.
Firstly during heavy rain, the roof over the great Verandah leaks like a sieve and you vitually have to move inside as you are never sure where a leak will spring up. We had the same problem 12 months ago, but unfortunately it still hasn't been addressed. The Beds are also pretty ordinary, and during our 4 weeks in Fiji, these were without doubt the most uncomfortable and need replacing.
Although the Resort is fully inclusibe, they charge for WIFI, it is the only Property we stay anywhere in the world these days that still charges for WIFI, with so many people using iPods, iPads, Lap Tops and Smart Phones, it is just a given WIFI is available.
The other interesting feature is that although the Rate is fully inclusive, including all meals and alcohol, if you have any of your meals in their Restaurant, and not in your own Bure, then the Meals and the Drinks are charged as an extra, it really doesn't allow you to mingle with other guesta at meal time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Geoff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIREmployee, Owner at Taveuni Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Bula Georff48 and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your repeat visit to Taveuni Island Resort. It was great seeing you again, and we appreciate you visiting us for a second time. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Grand Matalau, and it is great to read that you felt very well looked after, as that is our ultimate goal. Thanks also for your very kind words about Olive and Millie.
We do apologize for the leaky roof on the verandah. This roof was set for repair before your arrival however was delayed because of the adverse weather conditions. It is a major job requiring several weeks work, and we did have to schedule this repair work around guest arrivals. Please know that this roof repair is set to be completed shortly, and we do hope that this did not ruin your stay with us.
As for our beds, we do have very high quality resort-style beds, purchased from New Zealand. Most of our guests tell us that they enjoyed some of their finest, most restful sleeps on our posturepedic topped mattresses, so we are quite surprised to read that you did not find your mattress to be as restful as other guests.
As you know, prior to your arrival, you contacted us in advance to ensure that we offered wi-fi at the resort. Being located on an outer and rather isolated island, we decided to upgrade our internet services and had a completely new system installed prior you arriving at the resort. This was a large investment on our part, and it was one that we felt was necessary as some of our guests do like to have some access to the internet during their stay. However, in our many years experience, we have discovered that guests have chosen to stay with us on Taveuni for a reason - to get away from it all! Taveuni is a magical island (it is known as Fiji's Garden Island), and guests choose to stay with us to experience for themselves a pristine, tropical and natural island as it once was, and many of these guests do not want televisions, radios, telephones, internet access etc. We do know that modern technology is now expected at many resorts, which is why we invested such a large amount of money upgrading our internet access. However, having traveled around Fiji yourself, you do know that most, if not all resorts in Fiji charge for internet access. In fact, we have been in contact with many resorts around Fiji and the islands of the South Pacific, and of those that do offer wi-fi (some still do not have any guest internet access), the overwhelming majority of these resorts charge their guests a nominal access fee, as internet charges on isolated islands remains a very expensive commodity. There are major hotels and resorts in Sydney and throughout Australia that charge for internet access, so we are surprised that you would expect an isolated Fiji island to not charge you for this valuable service.
As you know from your previous stay with us, Taveuni Island Resort is not an all-inclusive resort, but rather we have inclusive packages depending on your villa category. For the Grand Matalau, meals and local beverages are included in your nightly rate, and of course you are welcome to drink and eat throughout the resort. The only additional charges we assessed you were for special imported liquors and bottles of special imported wines.
We thank you for your review and for having visited us again and we do hope to see you again on our friendly shores of Taveuni. Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you are looking for a remote, relaxing vacation- this is your spot. The pool, the grounds, the villas, the food, the staff, the massages, the hikes, the diving, the scenery, the views... all amazing!

We loved our Oceanview Bure. The food really was delicious (always order the fish!). Do & Rick (the owners) are quite characters and are fun for a chat.

Our bure had a huge lawn in front of it, so one night we put pallets down and star gazed.

The scuba diving the hotel organized for us was really incredible.

But one caveat: if want a BEACH holiday, this hotel is not for you. The hotel is perched on top of a cliff (which gives you beautiful views and sunsets)... but it is a hike down and back up a hill to get to the beach... so if you want to step out of your hotel room and have your toes in some sandy water, do NOT choose this hotel!!!

Because of the cliffs, I would NOT recommend this hotel for families with small children.

This hotel is really geared for couples. We were 3 friends traveling together and they really didn't know what do with us... They were perfectly nice, but not sure how to handle us.

Room Tip: We loved the Lomalagi room- huge lawn in front of us, then the ocean with beautiful view. There is another bure right on the cliff with an outdoor shower that looks over the ocean. If I came back, I would choose that villa!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flamyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We wished we could stay forever....Taveuni is truly a garden island of breathtaking beauty. If you are looking for a remote, tranquil and relaxing vacation, look no further. The resort is located on a bluff with stunning views. The gardens are beautifully manicured and the bures are private, clean, spacious and beautifully appointed. The food is excellent, always fresh, healthy and gorgeously presented. It is situated on the leeward side of the island, which is wonderful for those who love calm, tranquil bays without crashing waves.

The staff couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

The snorkeling and diving are excellent...the soft corals, in particular, are truly spectacular. Don't expect miles of long white sandy beaches as the island is volcanic and the beaches are small.

With only 12 bures, the resort felt totally private. At times we felt as if we had it entirely to ourselves. This gorgeous spot is for people who long for utter seclusion, peace and privacy. We particularly loved the lack of TV, internet, phones and ipod docking stations! I cannot rave enough about the personal, unobtrusive attention from the warm, attentive staff. The local Fijians are a warm, gentle, happy and musical people. TIR is not for those looking for nightlife or organized activities. It is totally un-touristy, which suited us perfectly. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: recommend oceanfront bures
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffenDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is my fourth stay at the splendid Taveuni Island Resort. Each time I feel well rested, renewed, and rejuvenated after leaving this tropical island resort and always wishing I could have stayed longer! I always feel at home and welcomed at this resort. Everyone is truly friendly and always helpful in so many ways. That means alot! It is great to be able to have everything taken care of; food, local transportation, and travel advice. Truly this a sanctuary amid the Fijian Islands. I certainly recommend anyone coming here, it accommodates anyone and everyone. Come, enjoy yourself, and leave happy. I am sure you will want to return soon!

Highlights: Great People, Wonderful Food, Excellent Service, Beautiful Lodging. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sittiveni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We visited the Taveuni Island Resort in Oct 2011 not exactly certain what we would find. What we found was amazing beauty, superlative accommodation, terrific food, and most of all, wonderful friends.

The resort as beautiful as the island itself – immaculate, stunning, peaceful. The accommodations were outstanding, the food fantastic, the service attentive. We were treated royally with smiles and laughs, truly open generousness.

We had planned to get married during our trip, and so Do took time the day after our arrival to find out what we had in mind. 15 minutes later, planning was completed: Beach, sunset, barefoot, hairdressing, photography, Fijian warriors, music, champagne, and a performance of traditional dances masterfully presented by the kind, beautiful people of the nearby village. Do and her magical troupe took care of it all. All we had to do was show up. And, it was unforgettable.

We spent the remainder of our time in peace and quiet, enjoying time away from the hectic pace of Silicon Valley. The view from our bure was amazing, watching the sun set each night as it slowly disappeared into the crystal blue sea. A coconut fallen from a nearby tree became our ‘Wilson’, joining us on our private island getaway. A pod of dolphins made their way by, frolicking in the clear, warm waters. We made friends with the house geckos and the frogs that come out at night. Magical in every way….

It is 5-star indeed. That said, be aware Taveuni is a remote Pacific island. If you’re expecting 5 stars NY style, you’re in the wrong mindset. Given that everything must arrive by boat or plane, nothing comes easily. Yet, despite the inherent difficulties, the experience far surpasses anything I’ve experienced in island travel. They are eager to please and all the while make it seem easy…

And even above all that, it was a privilege and honor to get to know Do and Ric, who’ve been members of the island for decades. Indeed, they were the first diving operation in Fiji, discovering and pioneering some of the best diving in the world. Today, the resort is more about newlyweds and relaxation than diving (although the diving is still incredible), and through it all Ric and Do, Matt, Lorna, Ben, Raymond and the rest of the cast (whose names escape me at this very moment) are some of the most friendly, warm people one could ever hope to meet.

All we can say is *Thank You* and go if you can!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews