We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taveuni Palms Resort(Matei)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Nakia Resort & Dive(Taveuni Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Garden Island Resort(Taveuni Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Laucala Island Resort(Laucala Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
329
23
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
23
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonlunch and dinneroutdoor showerinfinity poolthe clifffishhall of famescuba divingowners and stafforganic farmstar qualityspectacular viewsrainbow reefcoastal walksother guestswhole weekworld class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 361 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We wished we could stay forever....Taveuni is truly a garden island of breathtaking beauty. If you are looking for a remote, tranquil and relaxing vacation, look no further. The resort is located on a bluff with stunning views. The gardens are beautifully manicured and the bures are private, clean, spacious and beautifully appointed. The food is excellent, always fresh, healthy and gorgeously presented. It is situated on the leeward side of the island, which is wonderful for those who love calm, tranquil bays without crashing waves.

The staff couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

The snorkeling and diving are excellent...the soft corals, in particular, are truly spectacular. Don't expect miles of long white sandy beaches as the island is volcanic and the beaches are small.

With only 12 bures, the resort felt totally private. At times we felt as if we had it entirely to ourselves. This gorgeous spot is for people who long for utter seclusion, peace and privacy. We particularly loved the lack of TV, internet, phones and ipod docking stations! I cannot rave enough about the personal, unobtrusive attention from the warm, attentive staff. The local Fijians are a warm, gentle, happy and musical people. TIR is not for those looking for nightlife or organized activities. It is totally un-touristy, which suited us perfectly. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: recommend oceanfront bures
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffenDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is my fourth stay at the splendid Taveuni Island Resort. Each time I feel well rested, renewed, and rejuvenated after leaving this tropical island resort and always wishing I could have stayed longer! I always feel at home and welcomed at this resort. Everyone is truly friendly and always helpful in so many ways. That means alot! It is great to be able to have everything taken care of; food, local transportation, and travel advice. Truly this a sanctuary amid the Fijian Islands. I certainly recommend anyone coming here, it accommodates anyone and everyone. Come, enjoy yourself, and leave happy. I am sure you will want to return soon!

Highlights: Great People, Wonderful Food, Excellent Service, Beautiful Lodging. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sittiveni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We visited the Taveuni Island Resort in Oct 2011 not exactly certain what we would find. What we found was amazing beauty, superlative accommodation, terrific food, and most of all, wonderful friends.

The resort as beautiful as the island itself – immaculate, stunning, peaceful. The accommodations were outstanding, the food fantastic, the service attentive. We were treated royally with smiles and laughs, truly open generousness.

We had planned to get married during our trip, and so Do took time the day after our arrival to find out what we had in mind. 15 minutes later, planning was completed: Beach, sunset, barefoot, hairdressing, photography, Fijian warriors, music, champagne, and a performance of traditional dances masterfully presented by the kind, beautiful people of the nearby village. Do and her magical troupe took care of it all. All we had to do was show up. And, it was unforgettable.

We spent the remainder of our time in peace and quiet, enjoying time away from the hectic pace of Silicon Valley. The view from our bure was amazing, watching the sun set each night as it slowly disappeared into the crystal blue sea. A coconut fallen from a nearby tree became our ‘Wilson’, joining us on our private island getaway. A pod of dolphins made their way by, frolicking in the clear, warm waters. We made friends with the house geckos and the frogs that come out at night. Magical in every way….

It is 5-star indeed. That said, be aware Taveuni is a remote Pacific island. If you’re expecting 5 stars NY style, you’re in the wrong mindset. Given that everything must arrive by boat or plane, nothing comes easily. Yet, despite the inherent difficulties, the experience far surpasses anything I’ve experienced in island travel. They are eager to please and all the while make it seem easy…

And even above all that, it was a privilege and honor to get to know Do and Ric, who’ve been members of the island for decades. Indeed, they were the first diving operation in Fiji, discovering and pioneering some of the best diving in the world. Today, the resort is more about newlyweds and relaxation than diving (although the diving is still incredible), and through it all Ric and Do, Matt, Lorna, Ben, Raymond and the rest of the cast (whose names escape me at this very moment) are some of the most friendly, warm people one could ever hope to meet.

All we can say is *Thank You* and go if you can!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If only there was a Taveuni Island Resort in all of the places that we travel! Lovely large and well appointed (bures) villas. The rooms were spotless with discrete service several times a day - always fresh towels. The bathroom included an open air shower and had local Fijian personal care products which were very nice. The views of the ocean from the non waterfront villas were not compromised due to the landscaping and positioning of the villas. Lots of room between the villas giving privacy and the feeling that you have your own lawn and garden. The grounds and gardens are colourful, immaculate and landscaped to give each bure total privacy. The staff are exceptional and address you by your name. The atmosphere is one of being part of an extended family. Do and Rick, the owners, and their sons, take a great deal of pride and attention to detail and that is also reflected in the staff. The food was excellent - a nice variety, very healthy, fresh and a delicious blend of local and standard fare. We understand that the family also has a farm nearby where they source most of the ingredients. Special meals and entertainment were arranged for Christmas and New Years and a local band played music on many nights. Because this is a small resort there was the opportunity to socialize and develop friendships with the other guests who were from various parts of the world. Or if you wished to have a meal in your bure that was also possible. There are many things to do (snorkeling off the beach, kayaking) and others part of an excursion. The pool is a good size for swimming or for lounging. The resort referred us to Taveuni Ocean Sports for diving (see separate review) which was excellent and arranged for excursions to the Tavoro Falls and Bouma Park. The spa is intimate with a great variety of treatments using local products. There is a great gift shop with quality handicrafts and other items. Relaxation and getting away from it all was easy to do and we only wish we could have stayed longer. Of course, returning for another visit will be a very easy decision to make.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Where do i begin?

The resorts sits atop of a cliff overlooking the beautiful fijian ocean. As soon as you enter the resort you have the owner welcome you with a band which sings you a welcome song and a cocktake waiting for you inside.

The food is absolutely amazing and fresh. All the fruit and vegetables are brought from there own farm and are all 100% grown organically.

The service is the best i have ever received at a hotel/resort. During breakfast, lunch and dinner your glass of water will never hit the bottom they fill it up so quickly and promptly. Whatever you want whenever you want they will do it for you with no questions asked and always with a smile.

What i loved most about the resort is that the owners are locals themselves. For nye the owner got the local children to perform Taveuni songs and dances for us which was fantastic.

When me and my fiance went snorkeling the the guide who is also a worker at the resort was fantastic. He took us both him and showed us everything and even got our camera and started taking photos of all the fish which were beyond our reach. Btw i have snorkeled the great barrier reef in Queensland and Taveuni has 5x as much fish than there, again amazing.

There is a band that plays music in the background during every night and one night us and 2 other couples sat down with them and were drinking kava all night. Something which you will not get at a massive resort.

If you are going to Fiji there is no better place to stay than here. Taveuni is such a beautiful island with plenty to do (must do the Lavena waterfall AMAZING). The island is still not well known which makes it a great place to witness what Fijian life is all about also.

Room Tip: All rooms are far apart from each other which is good. Its just up to you if you want a ocean view room or garden
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank costaki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews