We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aroha, the best place to stay on Taveuni”
Review of Aroha Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aroha Taveuni
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Aroha, the best place to stay on Taveuni”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

What a fantastic way to start our year travelling around the world!

Ngaire and Dennis have created a very special place at Aroha. We felt very welcome from the second that we were collected by Dennis at the airport to when he dropped us off at the jetty for our onward journey. Their attention to the tiniest detail was self evident with every aspect of the beautiful beachside bungalow that we stayed in for a week. Everything in the bungalow was spotlessly clean, and lovely fresh fruit, muesli and fresh ground coffee were supplied every day. The pizzas available at the golf club were superb, as was the food from the local eateries.

We stayed at various locations on 5 different islands during our time in Fiji; Aroha was not only the best quality accommodation, but also the best value for money, and the best hospitality from the proprietors. Thank you Ngaire & Dennis for giving us some great memories for the start to our year of travelling.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntandRuthyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
91
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Staying in Aroha Taveuni was a great experience, we loved everything from relaxing in our beachfront bure to watching the twinkling stars in the night sky. The accommodation is very comfortable and excellent value. Dennis and Ngaire are amazing hosts, making us feel welcome from day one. They even hosted a traditional Fijian dinner during our stay which was delicious! We would definitely recommend Aroha Taveuni to enjoy a truly relaxing holiday in Fiji.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoGirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Ngaire and Dennis Irwin are the warm, knowledgeable and extremely helpful hosts at the sparkling new Aroha Taveuni resort. Moreover, they are THE reason to will savor your stay at this wonderful reef front resort.
My husband and I stayed at their superb beachfront “Bure”, Fijian bungalow, facing the Somosomo Strait and world famous Rainbow reef. We thoroughly enjoyed five relaxing days celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at this site. We longed to stay many more days but alas have to return stateside!
Their personal attention to us, made us feel like we were visiting longstanding family. Ngaire picked us up from Matei, the airport, 25 minutes away from the Aroha Taveuni. On the way she introduced us to all the colorful and essential sights on the island (grocery stores, bank, churches, restaurants, bakeries). Once we had arrived at our bure, we were simply amazed! It was so new, so well designed and so beautifully and tastefully decorated. Ngaire’s hand made flower arrangement on a big seashell that was at the entrance to the Bure. The kitchenette was filled with all the kitchenware you could need to do a special, romantic meal. They left in it fruit, milk, cereal, coffee, tea, cookies, …….
The room is beautiful decorated as well, with local Fijian pieces of art. I particularly enjoyed the intimate outside showers; I took showers under the stars, under the rain, even under a rainbow.
I cannot leave this review without mentioning the “Lovo” they offered to us and our bure neighbors. For a very affordable price, on our last night in Taveuni they offered us this excellent Fijian meal called Lovo: fish, chicken, cassava, pumpkin, herbs, spices and coconut cream cooked in an earth oven on hot stones, covered with banana leaves, coconut leaves, an dalo leaves. What a feast! We were serenaded but a local Fijian guitar players and singers who tuned beautiful Fijian songs and some well-known songs in English.
Aroha is the name of this place and it means “love” in Maori New Zealander language, and this place made us fall in love once again and fall so much in love with Taveuni, Fiji. Thanks so much Dennis and Ngaire!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chany027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Beautiful views, everyone was very helpful and nice, would definitely stay there again and again. Cannot recommend highly enough. They even made us some dinner as we arrived on a Sunday and nothing was open.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heftzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The accommodation at Aroha Taveuni was what we would call in New Zealand a bach (batch). That is a self-contained house by the beach where you can cook, and have your own shower and toilet. This one is basically a larger ‘house’ split in two, so two smaller units are attached side by side. Privacy was not a major issue due to the way they had been built, but you are close to your neighbours and basically share a deck. The attention to detail is incredible and the rooms are so comfortable you won’t want to leave. The rooms offer excellent value for money.

There are two more units being built currently that may mean it will be a little busier in future and perhaps less private. But I wouldn’t be surprised if Ngaire and Dennis have a few design tricks to minimise the impact.

Aroha would suit travellers, that wanted their independence and the ability to keep costs down by cooking for themselves (Taveuni can be a little pricey). Its location means you will really need to hire a car as well which Ngaire can arrange. To be fair you would probably have to hire a car anyway. Bouma National Park is 1 and a half hour drive away if you plan to visit.

A few points of interest:
There is not great beach here. In fact there aren’t many on the island. But there is that lovely deck where you won’t get sand in your undies so look at it as a bonus.
The stunning pool is 50 metres away and in front of Ngaire’s house. It’s just there for a cooling dip. The swimming in the sea rarely looked inviting here.
There are local shops and restaurants that serve basic, but delicious food. Be warned food can be expensive if not bought from the market
I could only get wi-fi from the end of the deck. Amazing though, that you can get it at all (and for free)
They will arrange a lot of activities and don’t take commission from the locals.

We travelled a bit around Taveuni. But not as much as we wanted to. This was later in our 3 week Fiji trip and we had noticed a pattern emerging. That is many ‘things to do’ (from tourist literature/websites) were very difficult to arrange if not impossible (more so in the northern islands despite it being peak season). And in some cases after a battle to get someone to do something it was expensive/not that good/ridiculously time consuming/or a combination of these things. But we found surprises round every corner that made up for missing some things. A longer trip like our one is in Fiji is a trip for the soul more than a holiday.

Overall my feeling is Taveuni is for people diving Rainbow Reef, and adventurous people with lots of time to see Fiji. If you are here solely to dive I would stay at a dive resort such as Nakia Resort and Dive. If you want a base to explore widely stay at Aroha. I think it would have been a highlight to take a trip up Des Voux Peak or to one of the highland lakes. But I really don’t know how long you would need to ensure this would happen. I’m guessing a couple of weeks, to get the weather (it rains more in the garden isle from our experience) and timing right.


If you do come don't miss Korolevu Island, Audrey's Cakes and Coffees and the Lavena Coastal Walk. Ngaire also mentioned Vuna Reef is a must do for snorkeling fans, but sadly not until our the evening of our last night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penfold555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed with Dennis and Ngaire for three days and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The room was very nice and well set up. It is completely open to the ocean views and it has a lovely patio where you eat your continental breakfast. Dennis and Ngaire were excellent hosts and helped us see all the best places on Taveuni. My one suggestion would be that the bed needs a mosquito net. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Taveuni.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Spent ten glorious days with Dennis and Ny. As hosts they are second to none. Hopefully going back soon. Everything about their place was good. Location is perfect for exploring the island, the seafront position is marvelous. I suffer from back pain and find some hotel beds pretty uncomfortable but slept very well every night.

Would recommend Arohataveuni as an essential stay for anyones visit to Fiji.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandannie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
3.2 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
65 reviews
23837.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
23837.2 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
23838.4 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
#3 of 9 in Taveuni Island
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroha Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Taveuni

Property: Aroha Taveuni
Address: South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aroha Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is on Taveuni Island, our one and half acre beachfront property overlooks Somosomo Strait and is situated in the centre of Taveuni, very close to the Meridian Date Line, shops and markets, great dive sites (Rainbow Reef). We have a great restaurant on site. Tours, sightseeing, village cultural experience,diving, fishing, horse trekking are some of the attractions available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aroha Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing