We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Ngaire, Cookie, Jim and Minnie and everyone else”
Review of Aroha Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aroha Taveuni
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Like everyone else we had a great time. Just a shame that Dennis was not there. I hope you're fully recovered now. Everything was perfect with Ngaire and co. there when needed. Accomodation was superb and the shower was something amazing - where else can you get that view!!!
Must not forget Cookie's food. Sublime. You have to eat in at least once or regret it for the rest of your life.
If going to Fiji just book here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There all superb. Just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Much like the other 76 positive reviews - I could not find a fault with this independent bastion of great accommodation, stunning views, excellent food - (Bless you Cookie), insightful guides and well managed by Ngaire and Dennis.
Go book now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spend there 14 days in june and it was hard to leave. The bungalows are convinient and clean. You have a kitchen with fridge for your daily needs. The rooms are situated in a nice garden. The beach is in front of the terrace, just some steps away. Dennis and Ngaire made us feel at home since the arrival. Don' t miss the food of Cookie, we still remember it. If you want to do any trips, you only have to ask and it will be arranged. Thanks to the Kiwis and the Aroha-team for this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thorsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband, our adult son and myself spend 4 wonderful days at Aroha and in the company of Ngaire & Dennis. They are exemplary hosts. We inadvertently tested them, due to our inability to make a choice on a boating trip until the very last moment, and they accommodated us with our wishes and with much grace. For this we thank them most sincerely.
Right from the outset when I started my e-mail communications with Ngaire she was so very kind and helpful in all aspects.
Aroha itself is as pretty as a picture. Everything is spotless, cared for with much love and the staff are indeed fantastic as well. It was an absolute delight and joy to have dinner served to us on our verandah each night. So much more intimate and nicer than dining in a restaurant situation. This is a truly unique experience.
Our time was indeed very memorable: could not fault a thing. We commend Ngaire & Dennis for their excellent work and shall indeed return with our families.

Judith, Ken & Marty Pannan

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank judith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

With rainbows every other day and sunsets hung so low you felt you could be swept away across the horizon too, the garden island of Fiji, Taveuni, is beautiful. We found our stay at Aroha Taveuni, comfortable, truly relaxing and the perfect place to be to take in the serenity of the place. We made good friends with the locals and were able to take in the sights at our own pace which was refreshing and ensured a holiday that was expected and exceptional at the same time. Dennis and Ngaire have thought of everything in comfort to the last detail, such as, mosquito repellants for the night. The accommodation has everything from open showers to spacious bedrooms and a self contained kitchenette. Fresh fruits and cereal for breakfast every day. Rooms are made daily. Ample of linen and separate towels for the room, indoor pool and for the beach. There is laundrette free to use. to make our stay coin comfort and were the perfect hosts. Kuki can turn up some sumptuous dinners with Dennis and Ngaire the perfect hosts - meals are reasonably priced. Should one want to opt for cheaper meals than highly recommend Reena’s place some 800m away. One can let Reena know in the day what time and whatever you like to eat and the meal will ready and waiting. Their 4WD and James can be booked for all your trips – highly recommended. James is very safe driver and the perfect guide and knows the island inside out. Ask for Sepo and his 4 WD taxi to go to Des Voux Peak – a must do, the views are magnificent. Other touristy things that one must do is the Lavena coastal walk (must do the boat trip at least one way to the pool and then to the double water fall) , tavoro waterfalls, natural waterslide (you slide downstream on bare rocks – a thrilling experience), blow hole (have to time this trip perfectly). On Sunday morning can attend the Church service in the morning - one at 7 am is in English and the 9 am in Fijian. Our daughter completed the four day scuba diving open water course and went diving in the rainbow reef – Taveuni Dive are the ones to go with. Other things one can do, sun bathe, swim in virtually your own private pool, read a book, watch the skyline and simply relax. We spent the most relaxing 10 nights in Aroha Taveuni and were just beginning to get used to a life without internet (although there is free internet available in your room), mobile phones and television when sadly we had to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was our first time to Taveuni and we were glad to have booked Aroha for our stay. It was a short stay but we enjoyed the most of it.

The bures with fantastic ocean views amidst the garden are so great that we just wouldn't consider it as a B&B. Clean and cozy room with outdoor shower, little balcony to sit back and relax, a kitchenette which is just nice for simple cooking.

Great hospitality from the lovely owners, Dennis and Ngaire and their dedicated team. The "Fijian Night" was a memorable one. The "musicians" gathered around the big bowl of Kava, played guitars and sang. It was truly Fijian!! And the food was simply delicious.

As for the activities, all were well arranged. Our DSD with Tavueni Dive, the Lavena Coastal Walk, Tavoro waterfalls were all superb, we really had good time. And the massage was good too!

A walk to the neighboring was wonderful, locals always greeted Bula with a smile. It's also quite convenient to visit the small town, we took a taxi there and came back on a bus ride with the locals.

We will definitely be back for a longer stay. We love it there so much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Aroha in August 2011 and loved it so much we returned this year and plan on going back again in the near future. You can't beat Aroha for value for money; the bures are superb, ultra clean and very comfortable, amazing outdoor shower and all have beautiful ocean views. Meals prepared by Aroha's chef Cookie are a real treat, she is a fabulous cook and a absolute sweetheart. While we were there Dennis and Ngaire organised a 'Lovo night' which was a real highlight, the boys sing and play guitar, the food is great and of course you get to try kava.

The diving on the Rainbow Reef is incredible, we have dived in many destinations around the world and Taveuni is definately one of the best. Dennis and Ngaire will happily arrange dive trips through Taveuni Dive who are fantasic.

Aroha is in a great location, very close to a local village so you get to experience the 'real fiji', chat to the locals who are very friendly, if you get the chance go to the local church on Sunday morning and listen to them singing.

Thanks so much Dennis, Ngaire and all the staff at Aroha for making our return trip so wonderful, see you next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
23,837 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
3.2 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
81 reviews
23,837.2 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Taveuni Island
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23,837.4 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
108 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Remote Resort Fiji Islands
11.1 mi away
Paradise Taveuni
Paradise Taveuni
#1 of 11 in Taveuni Island
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroha Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Taveuni

Address: South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range: $145 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aroha Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is on Taveuni Island, our one and half acre beachfront property overlooks Somosomo Strait and is situated in the centre of Taveuni, very close to the Meridian Date Line, shops and markets, great dive sites (Rainbow Reef). We have a great restaurant on site. Tours, sightseeing, village cultural experience,diving, fishing, horse trekking are some of the attractions available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aroha Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing