We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at Taveuni”
Review of Karin's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karin's Garden
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Karin's Garden and really enjoyed the location, the meals provided and the accommodations. When we arrived at the Matei airport, Peter was there to pick up bright and early. We arrived at Karin’s Garden, a few minutes down the road, and were walked through our place. It was a beautiful wooden building easily accommodating a family of 4-5. With two spacious bedrooms, each with their own bathroom and shower, and a central kitchen / dining area connecting the two. The windows were big letting in a bunch of light but with curtains to keep it out if you wanted to sleep in late. The kitchen was fully equipped with a refrigerator and stove, cooking supplies and dishware, so you could manage your own meals if you wanted.
We had a couple breakfasts and lunches out in the area in Matei, but had all our dinners prepared by Karin. My boyfriend and I were really impressed by the meals Karin prepared. Everything we had at every meal was really great. We live in the Los Angeles / Orange County areas of California and have ample opportunity to have great food at many famous and highly ranked restaurant, but we agreed that Karin’s meals were as good as anything we had in LA. The presentations were also exceptional.
Since Karin and Peter only have one set of guests at a time, they can provide a wonderfully personal and meaningful experience for their guests. When we weren’t exploring the island, and stayed relaxing at the location, we had some great talks with Karin and Peter as we enjoyed the view from the porch overlooking the ocean. We also got to take their dog Koda down the beach with us and play with him in the water. When we left, we were sad to go and hope we can keep in touch with the great couple.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent a week with Uwe and Karin and loved every minute of it. Our bure was well equipped spotlessly clean and comfortable. We soon eased into island mode with a walk in the morning followed by a swim on the beautiful private beach at the end of the property, then breakfast on the verandah. We witnessed the most spectacular sunsets from the deck over looking the sea..... a must for sunset drinks! The hosts were always available for information and advice. Diving and swimming are on site and the shops close by make Karins Garden the ideal location on the island. We can only recommend Karins Garden as a wonderful place to stay. We shall return!

Room Tip: Only 1 guest Bure available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilliancairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The house is perfect for a family of 5 and had everything we needed to relax, wash sleep and cook. Well placed for the private beach and great for snorkelling and then a sunset drink on the magnificient balcony overlooking the ocean.
Uwe and Karin live very close by and they were always on hand to answer questions, but never intrusive. Koda the dog was a great companion and often came snorkelling out to the reef with us !
No aircon but due to the shape of the house there is a good breeze at night and the house was never too hot. The house was cleaned on a regular basis during our 1 week stay and we also were able to wash our clothes in the outdoor washing mcahine.
Overall a memorable stay in Taveuni and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibbo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed a week with Peter and Karin as one leg of our round the world trip. Taveuni is beautiful and Karin's Garden is the perfect place to enjoy it.
We stayed in the only bungalow in their grounds; it was a good size, clean, well furnished and had everything that we needed. At the bottom of the garden is a good sized deck from which the ground falls away to the reef below. We spent most evenings there watching the sun set over the Somosomo strait between Taveuni and Vanu Levau, Fifi's second largest island. The 180 degree meridian runs up the strait and we joked about looking at "tomorrow" over the water.
Karin produces excellent dinners on request elegantly served by Peter. Both of them are very friendly and helpful and did much to help us get the most out of our stay.
We travelled by ship to Taveuni from Suva on the main island and went back in a small plane from Taveuni's tiny airport. We can throughly recommend Karin's - it has been one of the high points in our trip through Hong Kong, Adelaide, Auckland and now Rarotonga.

Peter & Carol Searle

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandCarolS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at Karin's Garden for 3 days end-April. Hosts are great and helpful. Since we had just a few days we needed a lot of help in arranging our diving and other activities and we never heard "No". Peter helped us a lot arranging dive shops, taxis, horseback riding. Hosts' dog is so funny, he accompanied us everywhere, so we really felt protected :)

The house is not a palace, but simple and nice. We felt like being at countryside, which is a great feeling. The only minus is that actually the hosts' house is located just in front, so don't expect full privacy. But the great plus is a small staircase that goes down directly to a small beach. It is steep 3 minutes walk down and you have a private sandy beach - a real luxury in Taveuni!

The location of the house is "almost beachfront", i.e. the property has access to the beach, but the house rented is at the upper side of the property, so don't expect seaview from your house - for that you need to walk one minute to the terrace, which will give you a terrific view on the Somosomo straight.

Hosts have served us meals when necessary and it was delicious, The only problem is that they could not get any fish or seafood - but we can understand that due to a bad season.

The only thing we lacked is a place to go in the evening. But the whole Taveuni is very quiet, so that is not a claim, just a fact.

Overall, it is a great getaway for the people who don't expect 5 star comfort, but would like to stay at a clean and nice house.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2chicosrusos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We were celebrating New Years Eve with our caring hosts Karin and Peter and other guests from Sweden. The view from the deck high above the Fijian waters is stunning. There was not much artificial firework but starting 2009 under the bright stars in the Southern Sky was one of the best things I ever experienced in all my travels throughout our wonderful world
Klaus Holfelder, Germany

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank KlausBadWimpfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

It is often very cumbersome to travel around in uneven numbers. Two is perfect, four is fine but three typically seems to be uncomfortable for someone. Not so at Karin's Garden. The lodge has two rooms, each with their own shower, and plenty of space to spread out in either the rooms, the kitchen or the front porch. While the lodge does not host a beachfront view, just a quick walk away and a gorgeous deck awaits you with stunning views of the water below. A short hike down the way and a beautiful, secluded pocket of white sandy beach awaits you. As a dog person, Koda, the resident greeter, guard, tour guide and grounds enthusiast is happy to trot along side you and carry around his coconut husk in anticipation of fun. A big bonus in my book but could potentially be discouraging if not an animal enthusiast.

A three dollar taxi ride from the airport, the location is very nice, quite (as Taveuni tends to be) and the hosts are most accommodating. Very helpful and excellent chefs, they are quick to offer their services if needed but are respectful of privacy and intruding upon their guests. Only recommendation I would give, ask for the meal prices before ordering if your budget is tight. Otherwise, the new little grocery shop (and I do mean little, offering basic goods such as bread, butter, jam and eggs) is right across the street and the kitchen is well stocked to cook for yourself. You even find some games lurking in the drawers too!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peridottears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Palms Resort
0.0 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 11 in Taveuni Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karin's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karin's Garden

Address: Coastal Road | Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karin's Garden is an oceanfront paradise nestled in the lush green Garden of Fiji, Taveuni. The spotless and cozy bungalow-style cottage is perfectly designed for a couple, family or four. There is a fully equipped kitchen and two bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom, one with a Queen-size bed and the other with two singles and a large veranda for enjoying outside living. In addition, both bedrooms features ceiling fans and all windows are fully screened. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing