We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit off the beaten track”
Review of Lavena Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavena Lodge
Tulum, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit off the beaten track”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a sparser place, but it is the only place in Lavena and the village runs it. You can get them to cook for you the first night, but they prefer people bring their own food for the rest of the time. The reason to stay there is its location right on the beach and the beautiful walk to the different waterfalls along the coast and in the rainforest. (It is a walk all ages can complete)

Room Tip: Room 4 has ocean view on two sides. It is a room with a double bed and a single bed, but if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful four nights here. This is a village run hostel, with shared cold water showers (though each room has its own sink) and a well equipped kitched for self catering. Electricity is sporadic, so food needs to be non-refrigerable. Alternatively meals are available for $10 each. The women in the village take turns being responsible for cooking for people staying in the lodge, and you get to eat exactly what they're cooking for their own families. The curries with two minute noodles are interesting, but the seafood was caught right there before our eyes and cooked to perfection. Activities include all the Bouma national park walks (Vidawa guided hike to the old village was best) and snorkelling and village tour up at Waitabu (a short bus trip away), as well as sea kyaking, boat trips, and fishing. Bring your own mask if you want to snorkel off the beach at Lavena.
We had incredible difficulty contacting the lodge. Their phones are not reliable, and no one has ever replied to the online messages I sent via the backpackers' site (I don't think anyone reads them). I'm very glad we took the risk and booked our transport to Lavena without being certain there would be a room waiting for us. As it turned out there was only one other person staying in the lodge, which can accommodate up to twelve, and we had a room with a double bed to ourselves with views of the beach north through one window and south through the other.
The setting is the most beautiful I've seen in Fiji, right on a white sand beach. The people of Lavena village are welcoming, helpful, and good fun - I had a spontaneous kava ceremony/ party organised for me when I let it be known it was my birthday. We even got to know the driver of the public bus, as we used it a few times. For all the difficulties with communication and transport I'm so glad to have stayed at Lavena Lodge. I will be certain to go back.

Room Tip: Room four has the view of the ocean on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is definitely not luxury, and is more like a backpacker budget place. However, I would recommend it if you really want to experience the genuine Fiji spirit, smack in the middle of the village.

The lodge provides very simple rooms with shared bathroom and kitchen facilities, and a common area where you can meet many of the local people from the village. The best thing about this place is the small area behind the lodge, where they have put benches and a table for a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean. Here you can really relax and enjoy the fresh sea breeze while watching boats and people pass by. Be prepared to have some intense interaction with the lovely local children here, as they are eager to get to know the tourists.

Meals are provided for by the village, and you have to order in advance. Big, and very good portions! They can also cater for vegetarians.

What I really like about this place is that it is run by the Lavena village, so all income goes directly to the community. So does the fees paid for the beautiful kayaking and coastal walks. The guides are very helpful (ask for Simone, who is an encyclopedia of knowledge) and well organized.

It is a good idea to bring along your own snacks, fruits, and alcohol if you want anything in addition to the village food, as the small village shop has a very limited selection.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 4, which is the only one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although getting to Lavena was not perfectly straightforward on public transport, it was well worth it (and if your bus only goes to Bouma, there are the Tavoro Waterfalls or the Rainforest walk that you can do while you wait for transport to Lavena).

The lodge is communal in a variety of senses. There are shared facilities, which means you are likely to mix with the other guests, and the money made by the lodge goes to Bouma park and the local community. The lodge is set right within the village and the local dogs and kids are always close by. The locals will even cook for any of your meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner - $10 a plate). All of this gave us a great feeling that the money was going to the local community (not straight out of the country).

The coastal walk is a must - absolutely beautiful.

We spent one afternoon playing with the local kids, with them showing us sea snakes climbing out of the sea onto the rocks and trying to cling onto a coconut tree when the tide came in.
We were even visited on the beach by a local pig - truly village life mixed with beautiful scenery.

This is definitely the place to go if you want to experience authentic Fijian life and place your money into local communities rather than corporate, foreign-owned resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in lavena 2 times in total for a week overall and found it absolutely amazing. The place is the ideal spot for relaxing and getting away from everything whilst your travelling. The beach is directly outside the door and you have the beach all to yourself. The lavena coastal walk starts here and it's free if you stay here. Altogether this place was worth a week and we would definable return if we were ever in Fiji.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeydadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincennes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We arrived there after a deceiving journey in Fiji. And this place gave us a great opinion about the fijians and their real authentic hospitality.
This lodge was built by the people of the village, they own it and take care of it. The money they earn goes to the village's school and is distributed on the people. This is great occasion to really meet them, eat with them and exchange. We spent a lot of time talking and describing each other's way of living.
We met some persons in Lavena, and we loved them.the place is very simple but clean and well taken care of. The villagers came oftenly to check on us and see if we need anything.
There is a nice table next to the beach where you can have lunch or dinner. Food is cooked in the village's houses, cheap and good quantity. you get to taste their real cooking, not like the restaurants. You feel safe, taken care of. You can ask them to go fishing on somebody's boat, they can arrange a lot of things for you. Just take your time to walk, swim, read, meet... They are very welcoming.
Do not hesitate to donate to the village and buy souvenirs. We will surely go back there if we go to Fiji again. This was one of our best souvenirs from our round the world trip.
Bahige and Melanie.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahige t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting Taveuni. We came over from Savusavu in Vanua Levu by purchasing the combination boat/ferry tickets at the Country Kitchen for $15 fjd. Not a bad trip if you are planning on a long day.
Then we stayed a night in Matei (Tovu-tovu -a good place) and took the bus to Lavena (in Bouma part) for $3 following morning. I can put up with a lot if the bathrooms are clean and the toilets work properly, which they were (these two bathrooms are located at the end of the hall and shared by any of the guest occupying the 4 rooms available).
The mosquitos were not bad, but the flies were terrible and swarmed when you tried to eat at the picnic table overlooking the ocean. The manager ( I assume), Latiana, very graciously fanned them away while 5 of us ate!
The generator is broken and I would not expect a quick repair, so be prepared for no electicity and therefore no refrigeration. They did provide candles and mossy coils though. The bedrooms were clean and you could see around the eges at the baseboards. I always look to see if these areas are cluttered because thats where the cockroaches travel.
It was a bit stifling in the bedroom because of the poor ventilation and absence of fans, but for the price and the service (Latiana is a jewel), my wife and I could not complain.
It is really neat that this lodge is located in and run by the village. They use the funds for the children's school and other projects. A great idea, I think. Oh, and the breakfast ($10 fjd) is abundant and delicious - fantastic pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogermaiviti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bibi's Hideaway
Bibi's Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Taveuni Island
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavena Lodge

Property: Lavena Lodge
Address: Lavena | Bouma National Park, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing